We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Charming!”
Review of A Casa Naranja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Casa Naranja
Ranked #39 of 77 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This adorable little hostal is not at ALL what you would expect from outside appearances! The traditional family home turned quirky hostel is one of the most charming places I have ever had the pleasure to stay. The dueña is just as sweet as can be, and it is abundantly clear that she and her daughter put a ton of love into the place. I couldn't believe that we were right in the downtown area because once inside, the city just melts away. I would recommend this place to anyone! In fact, I'm going back again! This time with a friend so we can experience one of the very cool double rooms :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reganT2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Casa Naranja's fusion of minimalist design with the colonial feel of a hundred year old family residence. Located in the historic downtown, Casa Naranja is the perfect place for exploring Cuenca by foot. The inn owner is a real foodie and will give you a map of all the best restaurants in town. A simple but high quality breakfast comes included with fresh juice, bread and ground coffee. Also, when I wasn't feeling well, the staff brought chamomile tea to my room and offered to call a doctor for me. I felt at home and well cared for during my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katakrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at 6:00 am and were allowed to check in early with no additional charge. We were also allowed a late check out too. The location was great, right in the center of the city. The stay included breakfast with bread, eggs, juice, coffe and tea. Although it is in the center of the city, inside the hotel it is very quiet. The hotel is a very old house and has nice architecture. Compared to the prices of other hotels, it is a great price. There is even a large room with multiple beds for families, or groups who want to stay here. It felt like we were staying with family. We would recommend this hotel to families, or single people. It is very laid back and peaceful. The only thing I would change would be to have shampoo and soap for the showers. It is a bit cold inside the hotel, so bring a sweatshirt. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staying at Casa Naranja reminded us of our childhood memories going to our grandmothers' house. The house is very old but nicely renovated, however for this time of the year (end of July) it was a bit chilly at nights so make sure to pack warm sleepware and you'll have an amazing stay. The location is very central and there are many nice bakeries around here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_sarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although we made a reservation there was no one there when we arrived and no record of the reservation. There was a room and it was fine - average. It was difficult to find anyone to ask questions or to let them know what time we wanted breakfast etc. it is a family run place with 5 rooms. On the up side it is very centrally located and extremely quiet except for one morning when someone was thumping about upstairs. Hot water was pretty sketchy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingwithkids565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I stayed here along with my sister in law and her family. Initially, walking up to the front door from the busy streets left us feeling a little uneasy. All of that quickly went away as soon as we walked through the entrance where it opened up to a large spacious area. The location was great where all of the areas of interest is walking distance, from the central park to all the beautiful churches. Rooms were spacious, clean, and well maintained. This also applied to the common areas where we were provided a light breakfast in the mornings. Though this was our first time staying in a hostel, we were pleasantly surprised and would recommend the Casa Naranja to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay that is very reasonably priced in Cuenca. The best part of our experience (besides our two kids enjoying their stay) was the way we were treated like family by staff and most notably by the manager of the hotel. She ensured we were well taken care of, even taking the time to converse with a tour guide we hired to take us to the Inca ruins to make sure we were ok. It just added to an incredible experience that our family will never forget. A big thanks from our family to the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rommel760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is right in the midst of town but as quiet as if it were located far out of town. The rooms are clean and spacious and the mattresses and pillows are super comfy. It was definitely decently priced compared to other places online as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#46 of 62 in Cuenca
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tomebamba
Hotel Tomebamba
#54 of 62 in Cuenca
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa Naranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Naranja

Address: La mar 10 38 y Padre Aguirre, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Casa Naranja 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa naranja is a friendly, arty colonial house located in the heart of Cuenca and is 300m from the main plaza.We have private rooms surrounded by two attractive and quaint indoor patios surrounded by interior balconies in a quiet and beautiful two-storey house.The lodging features full kitchen facilities, very comfortable mattresses, hot water 24 hours a day, luggage safe and motorcycle and bicycle storage.Discounts are available for longer stays.Each room is individually designed and decorated, with appealing blends of traditional furnishing so that your stay will be very comfortable. We offer clean and tidy rooms when new guests arrive.For environmental reasons, we prefer not to change sheets and clean rooms on a daily basis. However, rooms can be cleaned and sheets changed on a daily basis should you wish for free upon request.Admission schedule is weekdays: 9:30 am to 8:30 pm. Please Specify arrival time to waiting for youWeekends and holidays please specify arrival time (between 6:00 am and 9:00 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your A Casa Naranja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing