We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a great location”
Review of A Casa Naranja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Casa Naranja
Ranked #37 of 69 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Macas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice hotel with a great location”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at 6:00 am and were allowed to check in early with no additional charge. We were also allowed a late check out too. The location was great, right in the center of the city. The stay included breakfast with bread, eggs, juice, coffe and tea. Although it is in the center of the city, inside the hotel it is very quiet. The hotel is a very old house and has nice architecture. Compared to the prices of other hotels, it is a great price. There is even a large room with multiple beds for families, or groups who want to stay here. It felt like we were staying with family. We would recommend this hotel to families, or single people. It is very laid back and peaceful. The only thing I would change would be to have shampoo and soap for the showers. It is a bit cold inside the hotel, so bring a sweatshirt. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
4
20
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staying at Casa Naranja reminded us of our childhood memories going to our grandmothers' house. The house is very old but nicely renovated, however for this time of the year (end of July) it was a bit chilly at nights so make sure to pack warm sleepware and you'll have an amazing stay. The location is very central and there are many nice bakeries around here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_sarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although we made a reservation there was no one there when we arrived and no record of the reservation. There was a room and it was fine - average. It was difficult to find anyone to ask questions or to let them know what time we wanted breakfast etc. it is a family run place with 5 rooms. On the up side it is very centrally located and extremely quiet except for one morning when someone was thumping about upstairs. Hot water was pretty sketchy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingwithkids565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family and I stayed here along with my sister in law and her family. Initially, walking up to the front door from the busy streets left us feeling a little uneasy. All of that quickly went away as soon as we walked through the entrance where it opened up to a large spacious area. The location was great where all of the areas of interest is walking distance, from the central park to all the beautiful churches. Rooms were spacious, clean, and well maintained. This also applied to the common areas where we were provided a light breakfast in the mornings. Though this was our first time staying in a hostel, we were pleasantly surprised and would recommend the Casa Naranja to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay that is very reasonably priced in Cuenca. The best part of our experience (besides our two kids enjoying their stay) was the way we were treated like family by staff and most notably by the manager of the hotel. She ensured we were well taken care of, even taking the time to converse with a tour guide we hired to take us to the Inca ruins to make sure we were ok. It just added to an incredible experience that our family will never forget. A big thanks from our family to the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rommel760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This place is right in the midst of town but as quiet as if it were located far out of town. The rooms are clean and spacious and the mattresses and pillows are super comfy. It was definitely decently priced compared to other places online as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I are staying at A Casa Naranja and are very happy here. It is one of the best places we have stayed in Ecuador. It is quite clean and the price is right compared to what else we found in Cuenca. One really nice aspect of Casa Naranja is it is very quiet. It is easy to sleep, the beds are comfortable, and the water is always hot. We really like the hotel overall. Great place for couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The orange facade of the Casa Naranja sits right at the inside edge of the narrow sidewalk with an imposing door to enter. Once inside the modern city faded away, as if we had stepped back in time and away from the street noise. The Casa was once a large mansion home and the Senora still lives here. The rooms surround two courtyards, two stories high. Our room, upstairs, overlooked the back courtyard. We had a comfy queen bed with plenty of thick covers (necessary for the chilly nights) and a large bathroom, but the room could use a few improvements like better lighting in the evenings. Large windows opened to the courtyard letting in plenty of daylight. A self-service buffet desayuno was ready when we woke A small guest kitchen with refrig enabled us to make additions. We met the Senora several times and she was a gracious hostess, concerned about our comfort. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.4 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#17 of 60 in Cuenca
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
696 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Cuencana
La Casa Cuencana
#11 of 69 in Cuenca
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa Naranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Naranja

Property: A Casa Naranja
Address: La mar 10 38 y Padre Aguirre, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Casa Naranja 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The casa naranja is a friendly, arty colonial house located in the heart of Cuenca and is 300m from the main plaza.We have private rooms surrounded by two attractive and quaint indoor patios surrounded by interior balconies in a quiet and beautiful two-storey house.The lodging features full kitchen facilities, very comfortable mattresses, hot water 24 hours a day, luggage safe and motorcycle and bicycle storage.Discounts are available for longer stays.Each room is individually designed and decorated, with appealing blends of traditional furnishing so that your stay will be very comfortable. We offer clean and tidy rooms when new guests arrive.For environmental reasons, we prefer not to change sheets and clean rooms on a daily basis. However, rooms can be cleaned and sheets changed on a daily basis should you wish for free upon request.Admission schedule is weekdays: 9:30 am to 8:30 pm. Please Specify arrival time to waiting for youWeekends and holidays please specify arrival time (between 6:00 am and 9:00 pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your A Casa Naranja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing