We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Casa del Barranco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Victoria(Cuenca)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milan(Cuenca)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
22
34
8
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
34
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivercoffee and juicehot waterlocation is greatold citybalconylobbycathedraldiscowifiecuador
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 74 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The guide book said it was average accommodations, but my son and I both found it charming and an excellent value. The two courtyards and outside balconies overlooking the river are great spots to relax and read or meet other guests. Clean, friendly, very secure and easy walking distance to many nice attractions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyC71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

As a solo female traveller, my main concern was safety. This hotel was in a great location and very secure. I felt personally safe and my belongings were also safe while I was out exploring. It is a family-run hotel, and although the mother and daughter could not speak English, the sons spoke English very well and were only a phone call away if they weren't on site. Everyone was very kind, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the street are noisy and you will hear the constant ringing of the doorbell as guests arrive back at the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Novascotian692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a great place stay. I took a tour group there in January and they loved the place. I just sent another tour group there 2 weeks ago. The place is great, the people are very nice, good breakfast overlooking the river and part of Cuenca. The place has rooms all over the place so you might request a different room on a floor you like. They have a computer you can use in the lobby. Location is great. You can book on line and Ruth answers you right away. The price of the room with breakfast is $31 for a double pretty good for a large beautiful city like Cuenca.

Room Tip: the upper levels are better and less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duepplestrasse5-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have been fortunate to have found great lodging in Ecuador which includes this very hostal literally a ´house on the cliff.' It offers a great view of Tomebamba River and its beautiful surrounding. The family run hostal is priced reasonably considering what it offers: 4 terraces of great view ; soothing sound of the river´s roar; clean rooms; and great staff!
What more could I ask for from this UNESCO Heritage Site of Cuenca?

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandersome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days with my husband in February 2012.

We had a back room on the second floor which had wonderful views of the river. I agree with the one review, ask for the 2cnd flr, floors are thin and if noise bothers you the top floor is quieter. This place is run owned by an Ecuadorian family, they were all super friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are a bit outdated but very clean, hotel is ideally located in the center of everything and it´s reasonably priced. Small breakfast included, if a roll, juice, tea or coffe is not enough they will cook you eggs for a a small fee. wifi & internet is free. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews