We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and service were both decent, not great”
Review of Raymipampa

Raymipampa
Ranked #35 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner with a friend as a recommendation from the hotel staff. I had the traditional Ecuadorian soup with avocado and cheese and that was very good. Then I had the mixed ceviche for main entree and that was ok. My friend had a different soup and chicken roll and thought those were ok as well. Appetizer bread was not very good. Waiter was polite but service a little slow. Cool decor. Overall a solid choice for something local, simple and affordable but nothing that will blow your mind

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank E9477EDamandac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Have eaten lunch here twice in the past two weeks. Arroz con pollo the first time and arroz con camarones the second. The portions were large enough for two meals so I ate half for lunch and the other half was the following night's dinner. Very reasonable prices also.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank dkavan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019 via mobile

Raymipampa is a local institution, located conveniently next to Cuenca’s cathedral and across from the main plaza, Parque Calderón.

In business since 1933, the ambiance is classic as are some of the clientele. All-in-all, it’s an enjoyable place to have a hearty bowl of “Locro” (cream of potato) soup and a filling main dish such as their beef in mushroom sauce.

This isn’t fusion food, but neither is it con-fusion. It’s solid, traditional Ecuadorean cuisine in a solid and traditional setting.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank NoRoadsLeadToRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019

We've been to Raymipampa several times over the years. Our first time was about 4 years ago and we loved it! We decided to return on this trip and were not as pleased with the food. I had the trucha and it was just ok. For the price, we expected better food. The service though is great. Everyone is always welcoming and it's very easy to find a seat. The location is also ideal if you want to explore the park and the cathedral afterwards.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

Busy modern fast food type restaurant, with quirky decor such as a Christmas tree and lampshdes made of cups and saucers. Food was good and portions a decent size. We had Cerviche with nice fried corn and Beef Lasagne both were good.

The staff were very busy but we didn't have to wait long for food. Seemed popular with family groups.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thecatsmum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymipampa also viewed

Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Raymipampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing