We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant plant in a courtyard setting.”
Review of Simon 7-84

Simon 7-84
Order Online
Ranked #67 of 724 Restaurants in Cuenca
Price range: $4 - $26
Description: Simón 7-84 te ofrece comida continental, platos a la carta, snacks, café ilimitado, postres, comida vegetariana, servicio de bar, en un excelente ambiente lleno de naturaleza, con el mejor servicio de la ciudad.
Restaurant details
Description: Simón 7-84 te ofrece comida continental, platos a la carta, snacks, café ilimitado, postres, comida vegetariana, servicio de bar, en un excelente ambiente lleno de naturaleza, con el mejor servicio de la ciudad.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

I ordered the specialty of the house which was ribs. They were different than those served in the US. They were okay but they cut ribs across the bone making them difficult to eat. The mustard sweet and sour sauce was good. Many expats sitting around. Seems to be an established hangout.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DPM-WPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 112 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2019

Had an early dinner here. It's on a lovely street in downtown Cuenca, and the restaurant is big by Cuenca standards. They have a variety of dishes, including hamburgers and French fries, steak sandwiches, vegetarian sandwiches with eggplant and sundried tomatoes, barbequed ribs, and Cuenca chicken stew. The food is reasonable, if you're from the US or Canada.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heidi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

I really enjoyed the potato soup and the veggie sandwich. Delicious! Good service and convenient seat for watching football. The location is just off the main square in the old town. Prices not unreasonable.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019

Great location, nice venue, luv the hat purse stands they bring to your table! Food has gone down hill since 2018.
We have been twice now, and not sure we'll go a third time.
First time my hamburger was terrible. It had been pre-cooked and only reheated slightly upon serving. Their burgers used to be a highlight. Side salad was good. Bit too much dressing for me, but I forgot to ask for dressing on the side. Second time I had the chicken mushroom crepe - was a favorite dish of mine - not so much any more. Sauce was okay, chicken not great - in texture nor quantity.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019 via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for a late night dinner. Entrance into a large inner patio with balcony. We had canelazo to start which is a typical hot alcoholic cider. The onion soup was one of the best I ever had. Lomito saltado was very good. Cheese empanadas was different and tasty.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TanyaR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon 7-84 also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Simon 7-84? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing