We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Beautiful old Colonial mansion.”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #2 of 70 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Worth
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow! Beautiful old Colonial mansion.”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We stayed a couple of nights at Casa Ordonez and it was fabulous! The hotel is converted from an old colonial mansion that has been in the same family since 1904. The family still runs it and takes great pride in the place. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast more than ample. The kitchen still has a clay brick oven and indoor water well (although not used now.) Alberto speaks great English and has a friend from Chicago who has a Taxi that can take you into the countryside for tours of surrounding villages. Beautiful place right in the middle of Cuenca. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlinPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
227
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

From the moment we arrived, (getting out of the taxi on the street) we were greeted by the staff and made to feel right at home. This is a family run hostal/hotel in a beautifully restored home that has been in the family for 3 generations, and from what I saw in the the 6 nights we stayed, they treat everyone like family.

The breakfasts are delicious and the cheery staff are always willing to get you anything you want. They organized outings and suggested several good restaurants.

We will stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We had the most fantastic stay here. Alberto welcomed us with a quick tour around this stunning colonial style hotel. It has been in Alberto´s family for years and they have lovingly restored it to a beautiful condition. The rooms are warm and beautifully decorated. Much of the furniture is antique. They provide a free breakfast in the morning too. On our last day we had to leave very early and they even got the staff in early so that we could have our breakfast before we left even though it was out of hours. They were extremely helpful and welcoming through our entire stay. I fully recommend this wonderful place, it felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiscuitQueenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I am a seasoned traveler who until now, has never felt compelled to write about an experience.

We stayed only three nights, but we were treated like long time friends. The staff provided all of the little things that make traveling easier. For example, we had fresh bottled water every day. They had maps of the city and national park for us and were eager to help us plan our day. From helping us navigate the public bus system, to recommending great off the beaten path restaurants, to arranging reasonably priced same day laundry service, they helped us maximize our time enjoying in Cuenca and minimize our time struggling with logistics.

Most importantly, they are honest. I accidentally left my watch in with my laundry. When I realized my mistake, I was already in Quito, en route to another city. The owner not only tracked down my watch, he sent it to my hotel in Quito, where it awaited my return.

I could echo the other reviews and talk about the cleanliness, the charm, the great location and the yummy breakfasts. But to find a place that is so honest and so helpful is rare. It's a true gem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShenandoahHIker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Casa Ordoñez was as good as it was described on Tripadvisor. We stayed for four nights and enjoyed it very much. The owners made everything to make us feel at home. The room we had was very nice. Every day we received two bottles of complimentary water, something you usually only get on your first day in other places. We got asked every day whether we needed anything. The breakfast was tasty with a different fruit and a different juice every day. It was very quiet and we slept very well despite being in the middle of Cuenca. All rooms have windows into the interior of the building so you do not hear the noise from the street. True hospitality not just promised on a website but actually lived!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We enjoyed Cuenca immensely and what made it so enjoyable was the care we received at the Casa Ordonez. Nothing was too much trouble, information was readily available and given, English spoken and there were opportunities to mix with other guests and exchange experiences. The casa itself is a gem and the decor of all the rooms was in keeping with the era and architecture. The casa was well positioned and excursions were easily arranged.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

lovely peaceful room. when the doors shut to the outside street you enter a peaceful, serene inn. staff was very friendly and strive to maintain good customer service. very good value for the price. good location. we were initially staying at mansion alcazar but they wanted us to jump through hoops to reserve a room requesting a myriad of private info beyond the basic credit card. casa ordonez offered an easy booking policy at a fraction of the price. so glad we chose casa ordonez.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtotravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
111 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Property: Casa Ordonez
Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing