We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved this little hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #1 of 64 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“We loved this little hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this little hotel in January 2014. We had a room called Julia, which was located on the street side of the hotel. There are double windows, so it was very quiet. The room was complete luxury for us, we stayed here after 4 nights on a very uncomfortable bed in Montanita. The mattress was so comfortable, in fact it's nicer than the one we have at home. The room was very clean, the lady who serves breakfast and keeps the rooms tidy, does an amazing job. The showers have great water pressure and although the hot water take time to get going, it's great and steady after about 2 minutes.
The really great aspect of this hotel is the staff. They are cheerful, helpful and provide exceptional service. The owner's niece was visiting from Miami when we were staying, and she and the other staff gave us great advice on Cuenca restaurants and activities. The niece gave me the history of the hotel, it's been owned by the family for about 100 years and was made into a hotel in the 90's. The common areas are really comfortable and esthetically beautiful, it's easy to feel at home when having breakfast in the atrium.
Breakfast was the best we had during our 3 weeks in Ecuador, fresh fruit, yoghurt, eggs, juice, croissants and coffee. The only thing that was not great was the coffee, but that's not unusual for Ecuador, lots of Nescafe. We usually grabbed a coffee when we were out walking, we found a few places that had great Loja coffee for under $1 a cup.
We found lots of great little restaurants in the area, nothing is very far in Cuenca, El Bogavante, Cesares and Tiestos were favourites. I highly recommend this hotel, it's exceptional value.

Room Tip: If you're a very light sleeper you may wish to ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathermg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
217
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Cuenca is the gem of Ecuador and Casa Ordonez is a wonderful centrally located accommodation from which to explore the city.

It was a pleasure to be a guest of the hotel for five amazing days and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay under the personal guidance of Alberto and his amazing staff (most of whom were fluent in English). We were provided with 1st class accommodations and treated to a wonderful breakfast each day.

Alberto and his staff recommended several local restaurants and attractions that proved to be perfect and also organized a day trip to Ingapirca under the guidance of Efrain Arevalo of mio tours whose knowledge of English, Inca history and Ecuador was excellent.

The Casa Ordonez earned a 5 star rating during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clayton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Everyone is very open and warm. My wife and loved the way we were treated and also noticed the way others were treated as if we were all extended family home for a Holiday this was by far the best place we have stayed in years. Alberto, family and staff keep up the good work you deserve every accolade that you receive.

To Alberto my Navy brother may you always have "Fair Winds and Follwong Seas" at what ever your future brings you and your familys way.

Jason and Lee from the US

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed with Alberto and the rest of the friendly family for 10 days -- arrived for 7 and extended our stay to take in the special holiday weekend. We loved everything about the Casa -- its atmosphere, its comfort, the lovely sitting area on the second floor, and most importantly the wonderful hosts, Alberta, the Senora, and Ines, as well as Edwin, his mum and Rene, each of whom were so kind and helpful. Alberto gave us wonderful advice, arranged tours, made plane reservations and on and on. We also enjoyed the other guests and especially Alberto's special happy hour in honour of the holiday.

You must reserve as they prefer not to take walk ins, but despite being Trip Advisor's #1 (which discouraged me to begin with) they do not like to be full and rarely are. Just email and make a reservation at the most comfortable hotel possible.

My only suggestion? Alberto could you please put a large mirror in our room, Eugenia? (The rooms all have names!) Otherwise all perfect.

Room Tip: Some are bigger than others, but all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Alberto, the owner, and his staff are just incredible. They gave us the warmest, most welcoming, and most memorable honeymoon experience possible. There were just a few other guests throughout our eight days there, all of whom were very friendly and helpful with tips and ideas of things to do and see. We were there over the Independence Day holiday in November, which was very fun, as well. Alberto threw us happy hours, suggested and arranged activities (the tourist bus, which I normally hate, but which was the perfect way to start off our time in Cuenca, as well as a wonderful guided hike through Cajas National Park), they accepted us happily when we arrived very early in the morning, the breakfasts were super fresh and delicious (and they varied them a couple of times for special occasions). We were concerned about the 11:00 curfew, but it actually was never an issue because the town shuts down well before then for the most part and the one day we thought we might stay out and party for the holiday, they arranged for us to have a cell phone to call when we got in and the live-in attendant would let us in; but we ended up getting in early that night, as well. With all of the walking and exploring we did (about ten miles per day), even us twenty-somethings were exhausted and ready for sleep by 10pm most nights. Overall, it was a completely wonderful experience and I would absolutely stay again if I am fortunate enough to return to Cuenca.

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique and charming in different ways, but somewhat small (to be expected in an ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had the suite which was quiet , wonderful and clean in an old Spanish colonial style building.The Ordenez family members Alberto, Innes ,Mother and the staff treated us like you were part of the extended family. They were very attentive to your needs and comfort .The location was great walking distance to the Centro and good restaurants.Alberto arranged our excursion to the mountains with very knowlegible tourist guides.
Last but not least ,we forgot our battery charger for our note pad in our room . They promptly contacted us by email and made all the arrangement to send the charger by special delivery for pick up at our other destination. They send the package to us with no charge to us. That is service!! .Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Fran and Sulaiman,Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Casa Ordonez. As mentioned in the other reviews, it was a delightful quiet sanctuary in the center of Cuenca which was an ideal base for exploring the city. The staff were all excellent, wifi was fast, bed was comfortable, and it was quiet.
My wife ate a salad in a cafe and grew ill. As she started to get better she said what she really wanted was chicken soup. I went out to try to find take-out chicken soup but couldn't. When I returned to Casa Ordonez Alberto's mother asked how my wife was doing, and offered to make Chicken Soup! Unbelievable! After that soup she immediately got better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Property: Casa Ordonez
Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing