We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #2 of 74 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are on the first floor and are delightfully decorated with antiques. The home has been in the current owner's family for more than 100 years. Staff are more than friendly, they provided us a packed breakfast as we were heading out horse riding before breakfast hours and sent a staff member to wait on the street for our transport so we could sit inside drinking tea and coffee.

We stayed here as one of the reviews said guests were encouraged to be quiet when walking along the mezzanine floor that the rooms surround. Indeed, it was so quiet we were able to have a much needed afternoon nap. We even considered delaying our ongoing travel to stay more nights.

Rooms were amply sized, clean and comfortably furnished, ours had two wonderfully comfortable arm chairs. There were no external windows, only two stained glass windows which opened into the walk way between rooms. This wasn't at all a problem for us, really rather quaint and as the building has been around for sometime, it's traditional architecture.

Everything was in walking distance. Only a few blocks from the main square and other wonderful Cenca finds. definitely stay here.

Excellent value and a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeeJay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Casa Ordonez
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 379 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

5 star service, cleanliness and beautiful place to stay...the Owner Alberto has such attention to detail and is the host with the most! He treats each of his guests with such warm caring attention. He helped everyone with ideas and places to go - even made our next stop plans for us. The beautiful 100 year old home is complete with great beds, delicious breakfast and up to date plumbing. (not always available) His staff are very friendly, and can't seem to do enough for you. Would HIGHLY recommend Casa Ordonez.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor as my husband has trouble with steps, but every room we saw was great...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Casa Ordonez (especially the room called Julia) was amazing. The service is of an extremely high standard and everyone was very nice and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, with a thick blanket and everything is clean.

Room Tip: Room Julia is beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lieneke86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Due to horrible situation we were in at our previous place of stay, Alberto was able to offer us a excellent room to complete our stay. He has been gem to our vacation and has treated us like royals. I highly recommend to make this your home while staying in Cuenca. All of his staff and family are angels!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thank you for the great experience, I will recommend Casa Ordonez to all my friends.
The owner and staff were very friendly, makes you feel like family.
Very nice location, very safe.
<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived in Cuenca with a 4 night reservation at Casa Ordonez and a plan to rent an apartment after that. Our stay at Casa Ordonez was great and Alberto gave us a lead on an apartment that met our needs perfectly. We will stay at this hotel whenever we visit Cuenca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I really have nothing to add to the many, many wonderful things that have been said about the Casa Ordonez. Just stay here. Don't even bother looking at other places.

It's hard to imagine a more welcoming place. Every tip Alberto gave us was spot-on. He even sent a bottle of wine to a restaurant to help us celebrate our daughter's birthday. Way, way, WAY above and beyond the call, that was.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#13 of 60 in Cuenca
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $43 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing