We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great staff and service!”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #2 of 70 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great staff and service!”
Reviewed June 3, 2008

My mom, sister, and I decided to stay at Casa Ordonez after reading reviews at TripAdvisor and other sites. Since it's a new hotel, it's not yet in the guidebooks (though it certainly will be when new editions come out) which was a nice break from the beaten path.

I made a reservation through their website and my interaction was unbelieveably smooth. Maria Ines got back to me the very same day!

Our travel plans had changed and we arrived unannounced at Casa Ordonez at 8 a.m. (instead of late evening like we had planned). We were prepared to be told that our room was not yet ready. Instead, Maria Ines and her mother were there to greet us by name and assist us directly to our room so that we could relax after our travelling. We met Alberto later and my mom had a great time hearing his stories about his time living in the US!

The hotel is lovely, clean, and secure. The beds are comfortable and housekeeping is prompt and thorough. However, the highlight of the experience at Casa Ordonez was the staff. Run by the Ordonez family, guests are made to feel like they are personal guests of the family. For fans of Bed and Breakfasts, Casa Ordonez will be a perfect fit!

The service at Casa Ordonez is impeccable--they catered to our every need. Little touches like fresh flowers--in our room and throughout the restored, historic building--and bottles of water in our room each day made us feel like extremely valued guests. Breakfast was prompt and delicious each day and was ALWAYS served with a smile.

Casa Ordonez is a perfect place to stay in Cuenca!

  • Liked — High level of customer service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gringuita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
223
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Can't say enough about the management and staff at Casa Ordonez. Alberto, Maria, abuelita, and the rest, they really do take the time and care to ensure their guests feel at home. Alberto has an amazing family home that has been renovated into a warm and cozy B&B. Historic details abound and though the locks on the room doors can be tricky and frustrating due to their antiquity, they only add to the charm. Breakfast in the morning is typical to what you'd find in the rest of the country: eggs, bread, fruit, fresh squeezed juice and coffee. Rooms are simple and extremely clean with quality linens. Bathrooms are spotless and modern and in some rooms are a little tight but really how long do you need to spend in a bathroom anyway? Hot water never fails and water pressure is superb which in Ecuador is no easy feat. And the central location made for easy walks to all the local sites. Negatives: none that my wife and I could find in the three nights we stayed. Bounus: If you're catching a flight out of the city, Alberto takes you personally. Find me a big box chain hotel that'll do that. Whenever we are back in Cuenca, Casa Ordonez will be where we lay our heads.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jayruu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2008

My partner and I are from the United States but have moved to Ecuador for work. We have slept in some of the best and worst our fair country offers. We always like to try places out that have yet to make it into the guidebook or traveler reviews. We ran accross Casa Ordonez on a website, and said to ourselves "Let;s check it out", this was one of the best experiences we had at a hotel in Ecuador.
We arrived in Casa Ordonez for a long weekend, and we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful building we were welcomed into. The building has been completely refurshished and stands as a monument to Cuenca's colonial heritage,. I got lost a couple of times just staring at the shear grandeur and beauty of the structure.
Casa Ordonez provides a wonderful place for the quintessential Cuencan experience. The staff made us feel at home every step of the way. From picking us up at the airport, researching the local symphony's concert schedule, we never had to stress about anything.
For those of us who are not entirely multilingual, the owner and manager speaks fluent english, and can help people out with any information needed. The entire staff of the hotel is incredible and really add to the experience. The only add to the value of the beautiful location.
I cannot speak highly enough about the attention from the staff or the facilities. This is a great place to launch your exploration of Cuenca at a great value.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Jofemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We were supposed to go there for 2 nights and we finally stay 5 night because it was really good!
The location is very good, in the center.
The standing is very high for a good price.
Restaurant is good, with delicious natural juice!
People working there don't want anything but you plaisure! They want us to feel at home, and that's what we feel.
Everybody is very nice and very human! It's more than an hotel, it quite like if you gone to friend house! I had never seen that!
It's my favorite place in south america.
Enjoy!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Guiguilafrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2008

My husband and I spent three nights at the Casa Ordonez along with my elderly mother and had the most enjoyable time imaginable! We stumbled upon their website by chance and decided to give it a try since all the recommended lodgings in Lonely Planet were booked. What a delightful experience! The hostal is a 100 year old converted family home that opened it's doors to the public about one year ago. It is in the historic district and walking distance to restaurants and shopping. The entire hostal has been remodeled and restorerd to give it all the amenities of a first class hotel while retaining the charm and elegance of bygone days. The rooms were clean and ample all with modern, private baths. Attention was given to luxury details such as bottled water, large, white, fluffy towels, down pillows and comforters, and fine quality sheets. It has an area to gather with a large screen TV and hundreds of DVD's to choose from. The owners and staff were extremely kind and attentive. Truly a first class experience at moderate price. A "matrimonial" suite for $55 cash, included a delicious breakfast and taxes. We don't think anything else could have made our stay more memorable. The Casa Ordonez is a jewel waiting to be discovered.

  • Liked — cleanliness/ location
  • Disliked — same breakfast each day
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dlzdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Property: Casa Ordonez
Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing