We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel...but not what you think”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #1 of 79 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This elegant 100+ year old casona has a beautiful ambiance that is somewhat tarnished by the noisy hardwood floors, stairs and bed frames. You feel like with every step you're going to wake up the whole hotel. Additionally, your slightest move in bed during the night solicits a creak from the bed frame loud enough to wake you up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Tapatingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ok here you go. Unique B&B, beautiful, friendly, comfortable, quite, beyond expectation for the price. Great breakfasts, best location in old Cuenca. It is blocks from the main square, safe for evening walks. Mama Ordonez greeted us with hugs and left us with more hugs. Alberto the son and his staff were beyond helpful. We even had a great bottle of wine from his wine cabinet. Really not much more to say except if you don't stay here you are missing out. We had the Julia room and it was great. For what you pay go before they raise the prices. But even if they do it would still be worth it. Thank you for helping us fall in love with Cuenca. The family was so gracious.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JLMCELROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband & I recently stayed several nights at Casa Ordonez. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly, shown to our room (Letitia), and given a briefing of the ammenities. The room was comfortable with a connecting semi-private balcony (interior of the building). There was more than adequate closet space, as well as a couple of large drawers to store belongings. My only grievance was that there was no way to prop the bathroom door open - no window and no exhaust fan, so mirror fogged up very badly and made trying to get ready in the morning difficult.
Service at the Casa Ordonez is excellent, and then some - every attention to detail is taken care of. I had requested that they arrange an English speaking driver to take us to Sig Sig, Chordeleg, and Gualaceo - he was there at 9:00 a.m. sharp the morning after our arrival. If you need a fantastic English-speaking guide/driver while in Cuenca, call Angel Panchez @ 0985899643, or email him at anhelp_68@yahoo.com. There is a very good restaurant only a few blocks away at the El Dorado Hotel - read my review on Trip Advisor. Back to Casa Ordonez - they accommodated us the morning we were leaving, by serving us breakfast 1/2 hour early. They really go the extra mile to please. We honestly felt like part of the family while staying with them. They are in easy walking distance of many fine shops and "cental park" which is a lovely gathering place near the cathedrals. We would not hestitate to recommend Casa Ordonez - it is safe and very secure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelynx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our stay was for three nights and we were very pleased. The interior is charming with a lot of character. Fresh flowers are placed in the rooms. Everyone is friendly and can't do enough to help and answer questions. The location is great and close to many restaurants, shopping and the old town sights. The bathrooms are small but this categorized as a B&B not a hotel. The breakfast is delicious and includes, juice, eggs cooked to order, fruit, breads, coffee, & tea. We recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budnpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Casa Ordonez for a week last june. We truly enjoyed the beauty and colonial charm of this wonderful casa. It is a family run casa. Alberrto and his mother were so helpful with advice on what to see and do.
Breakfast is served every morning and is delicious. The staff Edwin and Alfa were also friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the Sr. suite on the first floor. The bed was comfortable and the room
is also decorated with colonial style furniture with fresh flowers. We would definitely stay here again. I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We loved Cuenca and walking the sweet historical streets. We were especially pleased when we walked through the front doors at the Casa into the naturally lit courtyard and realized how peaceful our surroundings were. Even our delightful hosts seamed to speak in a whisper. We stayed upstairs in "Leticia" and loved our own little indoor balcony where we could read and relax after a long day of walking and touring. Only 2 blocks from the town square, it was easy to come " home" between outings to rest or regroup. Breakfast was delicious and filling and our hosts had many suggestions for food and tours. We had our 10 year old son with us and he " didnt want to leave". When walking around....take advantage of the locally made bags of potato chips sold by vendors. Delicious!! (if you are lucky...you will happen upon the 1978 J.C. Penney catalogue in the upper indoor sitting area. Good for some laughs)

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We originally picked the Casa Ordonez in Cuenca Ecuador because they guaranteed hot water. Trust me; this is important to a traveler. Boy, did we ever make the right choice! Forget the hot water, which was plentiful and come back for the warm welcome. Alberto Ordonez has done a lovely job restoring his family home and turning it into a Bed and Breakfast (Hostal). But his major skill lies in treating his guests as guests instead of customers. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we entered his charming establishment. His handpicked staff: Alfa, Edwin, Jorge and Rene were there to help throughout our stay, from serving a delicious hot breakfast and letting us in and out to caring for our room each day. I need to mention that the towels are big and fluffy and changed out on a daily basis.

Alberto was a wealth of knowledge about the area and how to go about securing the myriad of items needed for a potential ex-pat. There may be larger and more luxurious hotels in Cuenca, but you will not find a better one for any price.

Room Tip: Ask for the Carmen, it is big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#20 of 62 in Cuenca
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#9 of 62 in Cuenca
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $49 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing