We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #2 of 75 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The moment my husband and I walked in we were welcomed by Alberto and his wonderful staff. Fresh roses in a very clean and comfortable room...wonderful breakfast of eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit and excellent croissants!

The minute you close the outside doors there is complete silence from any road noise...Alberto and his staff will call taxi's, arrange tours or just give great recommendations on nearby restaurants.

The service and accommodations are incredible in a city well worth visiting!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King suite on the ground floor...very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delraypossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I spent our first night in Cuenca at an other place, and we were not happy! We met a man by the name of Bruce who told us about the Casa Ordonez. What a great place! Alberto and his staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Alberto helped us find our first apartment, and helped get bus passes, and phone service. The rooms are beautiful, the beds are comfy and warm. But what really makes is so special is Alberto and his staff. Do yourself a favor and stay at this wonderful B&B

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is a real treasure!! The owner, Alberto was always very helpful, from calling for taxi's, making reservations at restaurants, to offering advice. The owner and the staff were always friendly and very accommodating with any needs we had. It was lovely to stay in a historic building with so much history, located within easy walking distance to the heart of El Centro, close to many restaurants, parks, and church's. We wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel was very clean, we were served a delicious breakfast every morning. Staying at Hotel Casa Ordonez was part of the reason we had such a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Sometimes brevity is the best review. The only thing I can say is that this place is the best! While the hotel is certainly nice, the owner, Alberto, and his staff are what makes Casa Ordonez outstanding. Alberto makes sure that your every need is addressed. One of our group got sick so Alberto called a pharmacy and they delivered antibiotics to the hotel in about five minutes. We needed reservations at the best restaurant in town and Alberto called them and got us in. We needed help with day tours and Alberto called and we got the best tour guide from Mio Tours to take us around. Breakfast service ends at 9:00 a.m. but we slept late after the previous day of hard traveling. Guess what? Alberto held the kitchen open for us and we were served a fantastic breakfast by his helpful and friendly staff. You will not find a more accommodating hotel anywhere in Ecuador. If you are looking to move to Cuenca, like so many tourists/retirees these days, Alberto has his finger on the pulse of the city. He willingly offers his knowledge and advice to those who ask. This is old world charm and style at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs on the second level. Ask for a room that does not face the atrium as you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoneStarTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Alberto and his staff are excellent. And this property is a Jim. If you want a great experience in Cuenca this is the place to stay. It is only two blocks to the main square and churches as well as the mercado. Very romantic too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sande49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Casa Ordonez is a beautifully restored colonial home in the heart of Cuenca and only a couple of short blocks from the main square. The building itself is gorgeous and the room I stayed in was a good size, with a queen bed, private bath, sitting area, and an antique vanity. A hearty breakfast is included with the price, with freshly made fruit juice, eggs, fruit and yogurt, bread and coffee or tea. You really dont need to eat lunch after! Everything was wonderful, and the staff was unbelieveably helpful. Just chatting with the person on the front desk, I learned of a day trip to Cajas (which he reserved for me) and a low-cost shuttle that goes from Cuenca to Loja (which saved me time on the journey). An attentive and helpful staff, a gorgeous colonial building, great breakfast, and excellent location makes Casa Ordonez a great option for a fabulous stay in Cuenca.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tasha182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here two weeks last August as we are considering retiring in Cuenca. Its an old restored mansion with decent rooms. But the service from Alberto, his family and staff make the stay remarkable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 62 in Cuenca
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 62 in Cuenca
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: $49 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing