We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Quiet Hotel Close to Amenities”
Review of Fuente de Piedra 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra 1
Ranked #108 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small, Quiet Hotel Close to Amenities”
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed at the Fuente de Piedra I hotel on our last night in Ecuador. The building itself is quite nice, and remarkably clean. We had room #7, which was on the small side, but had a large bathroom with a big shower and a glass vessel sink. Hot water in abundance. The rooms have a strongbox to lock away valuables. Our room faced in interior courtyard, so was very peaceful. There is free wi-fi in addition to a computer in the lobby.
The hotel itself is located a few blocks away from the restaurant and nightlife options of the Mariscal. The block it is on is more residential. There is 24 hour private security out front. The front desk staff spoke some English, and were more than helpful with suggestions of restaurants, and calling taxis. Would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grnwayrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    20
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Svizzera
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Hotel in small house in a nice and safe area. The room was clean but relatively small. Friendly staff at the moment of the booking and during our stay, we were able to get our room early in the morning (instead of the afternoon at usual check-in time). The hotel is 5 to 7 minutes walk to many restaurants and bar and a big supermarket. I would definetely choose it again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sympa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

A great hotel with clean immaculate rooms which are on the small side. Located near the old town with great security and wonderful people at the front desk. There is a restaurant which was only ever open for breakfast which they are helpful in arranging early breakfasts if leaving early. Do not reply on the wake up calls as out of the 2 requested, 1 did not arrive and the other was 15 minutes later than requested. Overall well worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanakagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a charming spotlessly clean hotel with comfortable beds, and within walking distance to many attractins in Old Town. I do recommend that you get a room away from the street. I stayed in Room 11 that was on the street and had to deal with barking dogs, car and street noise. I also stayed in room 7 and it was inside and much quieter. English is spoken and the hotel staff is very helpful and freindly. My room came with breakfast that was just great, and I also had dinner one night, and it too was just fine.
It is just 4 blocks from the Swisshotel and Raddison hotels, Close to the Indian Market and about 3/4 of a mile from the Hilton. The beds were comfortable, the rooms a good size, modern bathroom with plenty of hot water.

  • Liked — Very friendly staff and an excellent bargain priced hotel with a good location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

This is a great hotel - good value for money, clean and also looks newly renovated. The staff are most helpful. The one guy on duty at reception spoke perfect English and could not have been more helpful. If you are looking for a great deal this is the place. The location is also excellent - just a couple of minutes from the main square in the Mariscal district but being on a quieter street no problems with noise.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank HikerCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I stayed in several rooms of this hotel during the summer of 2007, and thought it is a quaint small hotel. Much better than the larger one in the Mariscal district. It is still walkable to the Mariscal. Even though there are not attractions and tourist things nearby, I would prefer this hotel over many others in the Mariscal.

  • Liked — Courtyard, quieter street a little away from Mariscal
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

This hotel is owned by the same people who own No. 2, though I like No. 1 better. The location is on a quiet street in the Mariscal or tourist area. Nice breakfast and a free welcome drink. Plenty of hot water and free internet. Very clean and nice English speaking staff. The location is great unless you want to be in Old Quito, which is a 10 minute cab ride.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank raftingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.5 mi away
Fuente de Piedra II
Fuente de Piedra II
#100 of 110 in Quito
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#56 of 110 in Quito
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 110 in Quito
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#34 of 110 in Quito
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra 1

Property: Fuente de Piedra 1
Address: Wilson E9-80 y Jose Luis Tamayo, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra I, built in 1996, is an enchanting and charming three stars colonial style hostel located in a quiet sector in Quito, near the neighbourhood of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic area of Quito. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra I features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation, service to gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fuente de Piedra 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra 1 Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing