We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for the price, good location”
Review of Fuente de Piedra 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra 1
Ranked #108 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable for the price, good location”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel was cozy and comfortable for the price we paid, but there were no elevators, so with the thinning air of The Andes, it was hard to go upstairs without losing my breath. The hotel is located near a turistic zone with lots of restaurants and bars, so we enjoyed that. We were in a group of fisteen people, so this budget hotel was perfect for us.

Room Tip: pick a lower floor, the hotel has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FANNYJACQUELINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    20
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotels is in a very good location, close to the entertainment district and Plaza Foch with all the great restaurants and bars. The hotel is very clean and beds were very comfortable. The rooms could be bigger but the bathroom was large and the shower was great. The decor is a bit creepy with lots of saint statues - our room actually had a few! You could also hear everything that was going on in the courtyard and every single move of our neighbors upstairs. The breakfast was ok, not a lot of options, just eggs, bread and fruit. But overall, a decent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a group so I am unsure of the rate paid. The hotel was very nice even though our room was a little cramped. I am surprised to read that the hotel was built in the late 90s as you could hear people walking above you and conversations throughout the building. The security was very good with guards walking around periodically. Breakfast was nice and better options than other hotels I stayed in on this trip. Walking distance to a main square with restaurant and bars. Pretty happy overall only complaint was noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was useful in making a number of transition stops in a tour through Ecuador. I stayed at the hotel four different nights during my two weeks in Ecuador and found it a good place to use. With a new airport it is now an hour plus drive from the hotel when there is traffic which is almost always,. it's in a nice residential area and there is parking for picking up and dropping off passengers.

Rooms range from cramped to adequately large, it is neatly kept and the staff is fairly attentive. Downsides are that on one occasion a student group kept my group up all night and little was done to keep the noise down. The restaurant is at best, average, and has a very limited menu so is best avoided. There are nearby options available. Overall, a decent stopover. tvawter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here on 3 occasions during may 2012 and found it to be a great little budget hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast in a nice courtyard.
The rooms we were allocated were a bit hit or miss. On the first visit we had a suite which was very large and more than adequate for our stay. On the second and third visits we had one very small cramped room and then a slightly larger room but still on the small side. It would be worthwhile asking for the larger rooms/suites when booking as we payed the same rate across all our 3 visits.
The hotel is centrally located close to a lively bar, restaurant area and we felt totally safe walking the streets at any time of day or night.
It is about a 45 minute walk to the old city region in Quito

Room Tip: See above re requesting the larger suites as we payed no more for these
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is one of those hidden places, located very close to the Mariscal and Plaza Foch, Wi Fi works very well and Internet speed is very good,
Staff was very friendly, breakfast was a lot better than I expected, with three different types of bread, fresh natural juice, home brewed coffee.
If you want a nice place to stay, with a very reasonable price, this is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaranjo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
between Netanya and Caesarea
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had a room not in the main building, but in the patio. There is a very dark and little double room and 2 very friendly large rooms with 2 single beds. I think this 2 rooms are the nicest! We got to a quite empty hotel without makeing a reservation and booked 2 rooms for 3 nights, each night for a couple costs 67$. We couldn't get a better discount then 10% off the price..... The staff was great!!!! Thanks again for your help! The first evening we staied at the hotel and eat at the connected restaurant.......don't eat there it's worse then terrible!! But the breakfasts were really o.k.

Room Tip: at the patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.5 mi away
Fuente de Piedra II
Fuente de Piedra II
#100 of 110 in Quito
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#56 of 110 in Quito
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 110 in Quito
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#34 of 110 in Quito
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra 1

Property: Fuente de Piedra 1
Address: Wilson E9-80 y Jose Luis Tamayo, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra I, built in 1996, is an enchanting and charming three stars colonial style hostel located in a quiet sector in Quito, near the neighbourhood of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic area of Quito. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra I features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation, service to gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fuente de Piedra 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra 1 Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing