We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Atmosphere and Food Presentation”

Carmine Gastronomia & Arte
Ranked #24 of 1,396 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: One of the most famous Italian restaurant in Quito Ristorante Carmine It was with good luck that when Chef Carmine returned to Ecuador he found an old friend who was leaving the country and who had began the construction of a new Italian food restaurant in Quito. We all know to listen to the wise ones and let Divine Providence do the work, so that is what he did. After a short while, Ristorante Carmine Quito opened its doors in a restored republican house which overlooks a small but ancient plaza with hundred year old trees and a beautiful garden in El Batán. From the outside of the house it looks like a little piece of Europe has been transported to Ecuador and from the inside you will feel like you are eating in an excellent restaurant in Italy.
Talladega, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere and Food Presentation”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate dinner here as part of our tour group. There were 8 at our table and everyone enjoyed their choices. Several friends ordered the portobella appetizer and said it was great. I had mushroom ravioli for my main course. Several people got a sea bass. The owner came around to see how things were going and my husband commented on the sea bass. They brought him out an additional serving! Lovely atmosphere in an old house- has outdoor dining with heat lamps too. When we were leaving that night, Carmine gave roses to several of the women.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    101
    43
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still the most amazing food experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every time is the same amazing experience... The owner himself comes to the table and gives the suggestions of the evening (ask for his beef-specialties, such as the Entrecote from Uruguay!) or simply asks what you are in the mood for. Then he describes his dishes like a poem and goes into the kitchen and supervises the appropriate preparation for special dishes such as the escargots or the Entrecote with black truffels, of course medium rare to perfection!

He also always checks on you and all other tables to make sure everything is perfect, himself!

Thank you again for a wonderful time @ Carmine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 6 Contributor
563 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Very beautiful place. Overtraditional food.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The place is really beautiful. The restaurant is in a a garden of a mainson.The reason for my 3 stars is that the restaurant lacks innovantion on its food. Ok, it was well prepared, but nothing new if you use to eat italian food.

I would go there again, and I can easily recommend this place, but considering the ambience and price, I was expecting something more contemporeneous..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcaetano70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rivals Carmine's of NY and Jupiter Fla.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful and interesting location with outstanding food and wine. The owner visited the table several times to check on us and he made sure we had a great experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler16Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking atmosphere, small town Italian charm”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

A local resident of Quito recommended Carmine's to us - and while we weren't certain we wanted Italian on our last night in Quito, we left truly satisfied by the food, the atmosphere and the charm of the owner. Menus are written on rolling chalkboards. The food was outstanding. We saved room for the delicious desserts. Choose a table outside under the lights or in the "green house" area out in front of the restaurant. Keep the name/address handy with you - our taxi drive had to stop to verify directions a couple of times as Carmine's is a bit hidden off the road, but certainly worth the search!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gndchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmine Gastronomia & Arte also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Carmine Gastronomia & Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing