We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy dining, cheerful environment at fair prices in Quito!”

Fruteria Monserrate
Ranked #970 of 1,431 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Healthy dining, cheerful environment at fair prices in Quito!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

If you are seeking a healthy meal at fair prices, this chain is
found in several Quito locations and guarantees quality meals
for vegetarians and others too! I had the delicious fruit salad con
crema...and juice. Lovely environment, clean, popular with locals.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank HolisticHealerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    46
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stolen Purse”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Went with about 10 friends. Sat towards the right of the room and had my expensive purse stolen through the metal slats. There were cameras, but they weren't working. Nothing could be done. No one did anything. I lost about $600 worth of items on my first day in Ecuador. I write this to advise that you be careful. I felt safe and simply shouldn't have.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Breakfasts”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

There are many branches of this restaurant in Quito. I like the one in Old Town best. Great food but so-so service. The fruit plate is amazing.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank travellover5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast and charming atmosphere”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Loved this place! We had spent a few days in Quito and this place hit the spot in every respect. It is easy to order even if you don't speak Spanish. The breakfast was very tasty (eggs, coffee, bread, fruit, fresh juice) and the atmosphere of the place is really chill. An easy place to unwind, read the newspaper and be anonymous while enjoying a good meal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reillylassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quick Meal, Food So-So”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This busy lunchtime stop is good for a quick bite, but the food we had was pretty ho hum. We had a large bowl of mixed, fresh fruit. It is, after all, a fruiteria. The fancy silver bowl was packed with fresh fruit, topped with whipped cream. The problem was the the fruit's ripeness was questionable. Some was ripe, some, not so much.

We did try or see other's plates of arroz con pollo, about the commonest food in lagoon America, and it was uninspired cafeteria, which is what the place is, fast food. Even the juice, jugo, seemed watered down.

It has a great location downtown and across the street from a popular park and it was doing a brisk business both times we were taken their for lunch. It is clean and well maintained.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mguelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fruteria Monserrate also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Fruteria Monserrate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing