We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place for breakfast...”
Review of Magic Bean

Magic Bean
Ranked #108 of 1,358 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Czestochowa, Poland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favorite place for breakfast...”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fresh juices, good food, perfect location and WiFi makes it a place I visit often during my many visits to Quito.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    139
    65
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For breakfast lovers!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I went there for breakfast and really enjoyed it. Fresh fruit juices are served in large glasses!! Great! Breakfast is very American style which I love. All kinds of egg styles, pancakes are delicious! Loved it. Have a nice terrace for outside seating. Informal, many tourists, nice place. Has wifi access.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
“Expensive”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is expensive and charges EVEN MORE if you sit in. The prices were jacked up when we got our bill. Rip off and not even that good. Would not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Huge, Tasty Portions, and Fresh Juices”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Magic Bean is a consistently tasty restaurant that is open everyday for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It became our savior on Christmas Eve and Christmas morning. What was most memorable for me was the cozy atmosphere, and the wonderful variety of fresh juices and smoothies and lots of breakfast options. It is touristy, yes, but there are some traditional Ecuadorian options on the menu and everything we ate was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsirwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
447 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Magic Bean could be transplanted anywhere in the USA and no one would notice a difference. However, it was this very reason that dissuaded us from eating here at first.We had initially only stopped here for an espresso. However, when you are newly diabetic and trying to stay on the program, it is difficult to find places in Quito that can work with you. Two nights later we decided to return after finding that many of the other options offered either an abundance of fried foods or starches.

I was thrilled to see Pepper Poppers on the menu. Red peppers which were stuffed with lentils, quinoa, broccoli, tomato, and then covered with cheese before being broiled, fit the bill perfectly. My partner had a burger with wonderful looking potatoes he described as perfect. Servings are abundant.

When we arrived at 6pm, the place was basically empty, but soon thereafter, it filled quite full. There was only one waiter on duty, but this did not cause any interruption in service. He was so skilled, each time I wanted to add to our order, I would say "When you have time..." Moments later, my request was filled. Watching his efficiency in covering the room could be a training ground for hospitality staff. He was never without a smile either.

Sports fans will enjoy the two large screen televisions, but neither had sound on to disrupt diners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BudaBaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Bean also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Magic Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing