We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it just for dessert”
Review of Theatrum

Theatrum
Ranked #67 of 1,349 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Ecuadorean, International, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant is located in Quito's Historical Center on the second floor of Sucre National Theater, Cultural Patrimony from the XIX century, an expression of renaissance classicism. In the entire second floor it is located the most important restaurant in Quito, THEATRUM Restaurant & Wine Bar that offers an extraordinary menu of the vanguard Mediterranean cuisine. One of our emblematic dishes is the Grilled tender octopus with mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, garlic tossed in pesto vinaigrette. Our classic Ecuadorian prawns on the grill with avocado mousse and tomato fondue.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth it just for dessert”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Recommended by our driver, we asked our hotel to book this for us. The restaurant sent a taxi for us and we were met by the Maitre d' scurrying across the square to greet us. The menu was excellent and the wine was expensive as we expected. The desserts were a triumph, a rose petal foam and a mango sorbet just delicious and beautifully presented. And then another (free) taxi back to the hotel. My only tiny complaint is that it was a bit cold inside - the place had few clients probably due to the fact it was a Monday and the prices above average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetandpearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    107
    36
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

After a concert in the "teatro sucre" we went upstairs to have a dinner. The first choice before dinner, we got a dry martini in the bar, which is part of the same area, but aside. Naturally you felt being in the 1800 century because you are in the meddle of history for the whole antique down town. After couple of drinks, we went to the table and they have us one of the greatest food in Quito, beside the romantic atmosphere for the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Contepilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Food good but overpriced due to location”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The food was very good and the service excellent (in fact a bit over fussy). The décor for my tastes was a little old fashioned and almost like a room that has just been "separated" by curtains which is not the case.

The food was good and the wines they offered were predictably for Ecuador expensive and plenty of well heeled locals were using the place.

We were given a free taxi to and from our hotel which was nice, not needed, but made it easier to get to and form the old town.

Compared to other places in Quito, it was a good standard, comparing with other world locations, it disappointed on the ambiance / décor in comparison to the price

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CliveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Better than average but didn't delight”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

A Monday evening and our last night of a three week holiday which included 7 nights on the Cormorant in the Galapagos where we were spoilt by the exceptionally high standard of the meals. There were only two other couples in the Theatrum so the restaurant lacked atmosphere and buzz. But at least they were open! Absolutely nothing wrong with either the service or the food. Good international menu. Well delivered but nothing to blow the taste buds away. However we were looking for a genuine local experience for our last night with live music and the restaurant didn't deliver this. Good service with regards to hotel pick up and return and friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
602 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had a buffet lunch here. The food was excellent. The soups and deserts were the best I had in Quito. The room was large and sunny. The service was great. I would eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatrum also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Theatrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing