We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Theatrum

Theatrum
Ranked #74 of 1,431 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Ecuadorean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is located in Quito's Historical Center on the second floor of Sucre National Theater, Cultural Patrimony from the XIX century, an expression of renaissance classicism. In the entire second floor it is located the most important restaurant in Quito, THEATRUM Restaurant & Wine Bar that offers an extraordinary menu of the vanguard Mediterranean cuisine. One of our emblematic dishes is the Grilled tender octopus with mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, garlic tossed in pesto vinaigrette. Our classic Ecuadorian prawns on the grill with avocado mousse and tomato fondue.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went with a student group for our finale dinner on the last night. It's SO fancy! Balck, red and white. All the staff wear full tuxedoes. Some highly unique food combinations: a strawberry sherbet "pop" served in celery juice as a palette cleanser! Goat cheese salad was delicious. I don't recommend the pasta. Kids loved the chicken in blueberies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IamFIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    107
    38
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful local food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great ambiance! Eat inside or outside on the porch. The food here was a first class buffet with opera singer provided. He was also excellent. I can't imagine how difficult it must be to provide food for almost 95 people who arrive at one time but, this restaurant did a great job of it. Plenty of great food. It was hard to stop going back again.

Must try!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whosails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had sea bass and loved it......... there was an opera singer there and he was amazing. Our group was almost 100 folks and they looked after us as if we only had 6 or 8......

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeanandbillgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service if not full, great (theater) atmosphere.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We were surprised by the interior by far the best we saw in Quito. The food is very good. The only thing that could be better was the service, we ordered wine and had to wait a long time for our glasses to be filled. There was a 25 person party next to us and draged the entire attention of the waiters. Not a big deal but after all you expect a bit more for the money you pay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanDonev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“formal service above the theatre”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

great for people watching as the theatre kicks out, with nice food. its a bit on the stuffy side, but in a nice old fashioned sort of way

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank a_broadabroadVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatrum also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Theatrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing