We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We hired a private guide....definitely worth it.”

Quito Historical Old Town Tour
Ranked #15 of 117 Tours in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First, we’ll go to the "Inti-Nan" In-Situ Museum (at about 2400 meters above sea level, about 7800 feet), where you can see replicas of the Ecuadorian Highlands and Amazon and, of course, to learn about the Quitu-Cara culture, their comprehension, long before the Geodesic Mission, on the stars, and, therefore, the empowerment of the term "Center of the World"; this visit takes about 45 minutes (entrance not included).
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“We hired a private guide....definitely worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked through our travel company for the Galapagos. It was around $100/per person and included several hours of walking through old town Quito with our guide who told us the history of the city, took us to some neat little shops, drove us to the equator, and then lunch at a local restaurant. Well worth it for the knowledge of the guide, safety, etc.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MindyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    99
    16
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
339 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“great colonial buildings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Easy to navigate area, fairly compact. Interesting architecture and buildings. Divert a few streets away for some local flavor. Street vendors were not bothersome and security personnel were scattered thru out the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AzRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Quito's Historical Old Town with a Spanish touch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Walking around the Old town of Quito was an experience that needed a lot of skill. With the street going up and down the mountain slopes, you really have to decide where to start your walk and where to end. We decided to start at the 'Basílica del Voto Nacional' and walk down toward the Main Square that houses the 'Carondelet Palace, official residence and principal workplace of the President of Ecuador' and 'Church of the Society of Jesus (La Iglesia de la Compañía de Jesús)'.

Another area to discover is the 'La Mariscal' area. Here you will find trendy Malls like 'Mall El Jardin' and the Quicentro Shopping Mall.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank denisf255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I guess if you are nervous to take public transporation, this might be a good option for you. However, public transportation is very cheap and easy to figure out--even if you don't speak Spanish. People are so friendly and helpful. The tour buses are $12 and they drop you off in a location for 1 hour. They SAY they'll be back at one hour on the dot, but they are never on time. We saw the first site, came back to the stop early and waited a very long time only to find out that the bus had come back early so we'd have to wait another hour to get another bus. 2 hours at a cathedral is a bit much. So we ended up walking to the next site (wasn't that far and was a beautiful walk through Old Town). We saw a couple of things and then waited again for almost an hour for the bus to show up. When it did, it was going the wrong way and said it'd be back to get us in an hour. Ha! We caught a cab home for $2. Waste of time and money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very worthwile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Try to grab the bus just off the Grand plaza and the three hour tour will take you through Old Town and up to the Panecillo--a very worthwhile use of your time in Quito.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quito Historical Old Town Tour also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Quito Historical Old Town Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing