We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp room”
Review of Jhomana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jhomana Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kildare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Damp room”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first stop on a three week holiday in ecuador and galapagos. Unfortunately I couldnt recommend it. Our room was downstairs to the front of the building and was so damp and musty, it was terrible. It was difficult to tell if it was clean as it so musty and damp.

Location was not bad and breakfast was very basic - toast, yogurt and cheese/jam, tea or coffee, but did the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerJhomana, Owner at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
When you have something to complain on, you should do it while you are experiencing it and not do it after words, because then we cant help you. I am very sorry for your experience. Jhomana has 18 rooms, 12 upstairs and 6 downstairs. After rainy season that ends in May, we sometimes need to renovate rooms, it depends on how much rain we have got. 2012 was very rainy and we had to fix several rooms on the first floor, on the second floor we never have any problems. However, the humidity is now taken care of. We always listen to our guests so please talk to us on site. Owners are always availeble office hours and on the phone, rest of the time.

Again, sorry for your experience, I only whish that you had comunicated your issue with us so that we could had solved it. Patrick Brodin Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
23
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Natalia and Patrick couldn't be nicer or more helpful. I arrived from US with a bad back I hurt in the Houston airport. They led me to a greatl physical therapist and within a week I was able to get around. They and their place are fabulous. I was there for a month and enjoyed everyday thanks to their knowledge of the city and their helping attitude.
Doug Busse
San Diego Ca.

Room Tip: Choose one opposite side from police parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfbusse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Firstly, excellent free wifi and computer for guest use. Breakfast consists of toast and coffee which does the job. No one spoke even basic English so bear that in mind. Close to some shops so good location in that respect. Was quiet after 9pm so that was good. Plug sockets were hanging off in room, beds were very far from being orthapedic! Did have a basic lock no dead bolt, but front door onto street is very secure locked all times. Room has a safe too. Not the best for your money I'm sure but ok for one night. Was cool and had hot water too.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hostel has focused on all of our 5 basic key criteria: i) it's in a good location (300m from plaza foch, close enough to walk in 5 min and far enough so it's quiet) ii) fantastic hot showers iii) good mattress iv) decent breakfast with options to upgrade and v) it is quiet at night.

The owner of this hostel has definitely listened to previous "constructive" reviews and fixed any issues. We would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neutron2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

There are some good things about this place - good size rooms, good location for restaurants etc in new town, good security,wifi in the room.
However, on the two nights we stayed there a huge group of loud, obnoxious and completely oblivious American tourists (late teens/early twenties) were staying there and kept the whole hostel awake with their yelling, shouting, rushing up and down corridors and banging doors. On the second night, at 11:30pm, before our 05:30 alarm call the next morning, my husband went out and politely asked them to keep the noise down. That lasted for about 30 minutes only. On both nights the hostel staff did nothing to stop this noise so other paying guests could sleep.
Also, very disappointingly, we were told the room would cost us $38 dollars, when we had checked on the website before booking and seen that the price for a one bed room was $27. Apparently what they meant by this was a room for one person, or a single bed, but this is not what it says. We only needed one bed so thought that was the price. We had to discuss/argue this point with more than one employee, and were eventually grudgingly told we could only pay $32 - they refused to take full responsibility for their confusing and badly-worded website. They have still not changed this ambiguous and unhelpful wording on their website.
I'd suggest instead staying at Hotel Huasi Continental - right in the middle of the beautiful old town and only $20. We stayed there for our first visit to Quito and wished we'd gone back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helliebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I booked a room for a single with bath based on the reviews here. I was supposed to be met by a driver at the airport but that was messed up. Staff were great, but the room was not. The bed was comfortable in room 206 but after that it was all downhill. Every time I managed to doze off another car alarm would wake me. The shower in the microscopic bathroom had hot water but the pressure varied, causing quick reactions as it changed from hot to cool and back again, and the drain was slow so I ended up in a pool of water around my feet. The sink is loose on the wall. The carpets badly need a clean.

To be fair, maybe it was just that room but I can't recommend Jhomana based on my experience..

I booked in for two nights but checked out after one.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

If you plan on staying here in the dorm, be prepared for a little bit of street noise and a lot of light pollution in the room. The individual rooms looked very nice, but I did not stay in one. The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. You are located very close to Gringolandia, which is both good and bad, depending on what experience you want to have.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#25 of 112 in Quito
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#35 of 112 in Quito
545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.1 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jhomana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jhomana Guesthouse

Property: Jhomana Guesthouse
Address: G Ramirez Davalos E4-42 | corner Ave Amazonas, Quito 111111, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jhomana Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jhomana Guesthouse, Quito Ecuador is situated in the middle of the world. The capital is Quito. In the middle of the part of Quito called Mariscal just 100 meters from Avenida Amazonas you find Jhomana, close to all banks, bus terminals, discothèques, bars, restaurants, shopping malls etc, but jet far away from all the noise. Your Peaceful Home in the Middle of Everything Our guests that are coming back to us often say "It feels so good to be back home again!" We consider that very flattering, since our main goal is to make our guests feel like they are at home, enjoying their stay with us. At Jhomana among many other services you have free access to our guest computer with Internet connection. The whole hostel with surroundings and outside areas are also WI-FI connected. sta fireplace At Jhomana we help you to plan your vacations in Ecuador. We have a lot of knowledge and experience about tourism in Ecuador. We believe that our guest shall not run around and look for, book, pay tours. Our guests should enjoy Quito's beauty and touristic sites, while the staff at Jhomana search, book and pay your tours. We get better prices than you, we know where to look and that not to book. For your convenient, all day tours start from Jhomana, so instead of waiting for others to arrive to the pickup point, you enjoy your breakfast in our cozy restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Jhomana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing