We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Ecuador!”
Review of Hotel Plaza Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Grande
Ranked #26 of 111 Hotels in Quito
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Ecuador!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! We used this hotel as our base in Quito throughout our travels in Ecuador and were pleasantly surprised with every stay. We were greeted with Champagne and a cold towel on every arrival, the rooms were spacious and always impeccable. We often left our spare bag in the hotel between visits and it was always ready waiting in our room at our next check in. The staff were very helpful with every request and the wifi worked perfectly (unlike in most other hotels with wifi in Ecuador!). As we are vegetarian, the kitchen staff prepared special dishes for our meals at the hotel without any hesitation. The bathroom was covered in rose petals every time we arrived and my personal favourite was the underfloor heating in the bathroom!! The location is absolutely excellent as well to explore the historical centre of Quito by foot. All in all, a great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoytravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina S, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our country. Our staff felt more than pleased to have you as a guest. We hope to see you again soon to offer you a new unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,

Hotel Plaza Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    32
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
132
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

What a fantastic trip. One of our best ever.
My husband and I had carved three weeks out of our busy schedules to travel to South America.
Our primary goal was to spend a week floating around the beauty of the Galapagos, and one week hiking the dreamyness of Machu Picchu. He'd been there before so he'd suggested we spend the "in between" bits hanging around in Cusco, Peru and Quito, Ecuador.
The Plaza Grande, in Quito, was impeccable. Sort of like the place you'd expect the family from Downton Abbey to have stayed, if they'd had the chance.
Architecturally speaking, it was classic up scale, with fine gilt and wrought ironwork trimmings. Rare & luxurious hand carved wood framing. Delectiblly subtle colored stone surfaces. Heavy sensuous velvets and silk upholstery. Heaven!
The kind of polite, warm, efficient, smart, enthusiastic, proactive "Service" with a capital "S" that is becoming more rare as the days go by.
A full on two room suite, with regal art deco furniture, french windows and a view of the city that rivaled a Parisian dream.
Roses and rose petals on the Frete' sheets and robes. Intricate flower arrangements in the living room and roomy double bathroom. A basket of wine and fruit that lasted days!. An elegantly detailed carved fine wood headboard, divine king bed, I'm starting to salivate...you get the picture.
Wow.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want. Reach for the starts. You will get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina S, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for your review. Hotel Plaza Grande is the site of more than five centuries of history and we’re happy to hear that you stroll back in time to a Quito of yesteryear. We hope to see you again in your next visit to Quito to offer you a new unforgettable experience.

Cordially,

Hotel Plaza Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

From the arrival to this magnificent jewel of a boutique hotel, you get treated like royalty. You're greeted with a cocktail and incredible service during check-in. The staff was extremely friendly and go above the call of duty to make sure you're completely satisfied. Our suite overlooking the main plaza of Quito was stunning. The decor is plush without overwhelming the senses. The main restaurant - the Belle Epoque - was a wonderful experience (book a table near a balcony window.) The concierge was amazing in getting us reservations for tour trips, cabs and for other restaurants in town. My only minor reservation was the lack of a proper gym (they have a small room with a tread-mill.) But the hotel's the best in Quito. Highly recommended. On our way back from the Galapagos we stayed at the JW Marriott - and there's no comparison. Hotel Plaza Grande's worth the price.

Room Tip: Book a balcony suite overlooking the Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rogerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment. We are delighted to hear that you had an outstanding experience at the Hotel Plaza Grande and La Belle Epoque. One of our main concerns is to treat each guest as they deserve and our staff is happy to do so.
We hope that you will visit us again soon,

Kindly

Hotel Plaza Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay. The hotel reminded us of the classic grand boutique hotels of Europe. The room service menu is outstanding, and the rooms themselves were plush (and should have been, given the price). If you're in Quito and in the mood to splurge, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina S, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Our suites have been designed and decorated to provide an unforgettabe stay and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed them. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Cordially,

Hotel Plaza Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I travel often and the Palaza Grande Hotel is one of my favorite hotels where I have stayed. Coming into Quito, our flight was greatly delayed and when we arrived at the Plaza Grande at 1:30 AM, we were thrilled to be greeted at the door with a cool towel, a glass of wine and help with our bags. The hotel only has 15 rooms and you feel as though you are their only guest.

If you get a chance, eat at their restaurant. The food was fabulous! Dino, a waiter at the restaurant was so helpful and made me a custom breakfast each morning. He went above and beyond to provide us excellent service and answer all of our questions regarding Quito.

We visited the bar area at the Plaza Grande on our first night in Quito, and we were surprised to find out that they were having two opera singers perform. It was very enjoyable! Our waiter, Wilmer, made sure we had the perfect table to enjoy the performance, and even brought us a complimentary appetizer. Wilmer went out of his way to make our evening perfect.

Overall, our experience at the Plaza Grande was excellent and their staff truly is first-rate. We also stayed at the JW Marriott while in the Quito, and although it is a beautiful hotel, I would recommend the Plaza Grande for it's charm and service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelleySwircek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina S, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Shelley,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Plaza Grande as the place to stay during your recent trip to Quito. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services, specially the food, the personalized service offered by our waiters and the Opera performance.
Thanks for taking the tame to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Quito.

Kindly

Hotel Plaza Grande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel has a fabulous location right next to the Presidential Palace on the Plaza Grande. It is an older style hotel in a beitiful building from the outside, but a bit dark and sometimes cramped inside. The rooms are quite large and the plaza view rooms, of which therebare not many, have great views. However, the public area is very small, the food is just OK and the internet was quite unreliable. I found that the mattress was far too soft and really bad news for my back.

Overall an OK hotel in a great location but terribly expensive for what it is. At the luxury end of the market, we far preferred Casa Gangotena.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a plaza view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel. Excellent service. Perfect location in heart of colonial Quito. So easy to walk the city from this location.
Watched the changing of the guard at Presidential Palace from our balcony. Clean and large room, a great bed.
A nice bathroom and good shower, satellite television and free internet.
Very good food. The staff was kind and bi-lingual. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: #31 and #22
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 111 in Quito
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3.3 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 111 in Quito
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Grande

Property: Hotel Plaza Grande
Address: Garcia Moreno N5-16 y Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Family Hotel in Quito
#8 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Plaza Grande rises above Quito's central square, known as the Plaza de la Independencia. It was one of the first hotels ever constructed in the capital, and has been extensively renovated and remodeled to become the finest boutique hotel in the city. It is the ideal place from which to explore the wonders of this timeless city. Quito was declared a UNESCO "World Heritage Site" in 1978, thanks to its historic center, which is the largest and best preserved in Latin America. The colonial center of the Franciscan city of Quito is a treasure trove of baroque art and architecture, including buildings, churches, monasteries and narrow streets that reflect Ecuador's unique blend of indigenous and Spanish cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing