We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Refinement”
Review of Hotel Plaza Grande

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Grande
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Quito
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Elegance and Refinement”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This hotel is reminiscent of the golden days of travel. It is located on the main square of Quito close to the cathedral, Presidential Palace etc. Despite this it is very quiet. The room is large with a distinction between the sleeping and seating areas. The welcome was more than friendly as we were greeted with many nibbles and delights such as macaroons and octopus! Rose petals were in the bathroom and a single rose was laid on the pillow.

The decor is subdued 19th century with large sofas and armchairs with footstools. The bathroom contained a whirlpool bath and the shower guards were unlike anything I have seen. Finally a bidet. Again underfloor heating was a feature of the bathroom.

Breakfast is a treat with more than it is possible to eat. Unusual fruit juices are accompanied by vats of coffee. There is a large fruit plate with yoghurt. Then comes a plate of cheeses and a basket of fresh breads and pastries. Eggs are separate but huge. Don´t forget the jams. Dinner in the cafe was again too much to finish.

Service is exceptional with everyone falling over themselves to help. I could not fault this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    32
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
132
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

There are apparently only 12 suites at this hotel, so book early. We had a look at 3 different rooms (because of trips out and back), and all of them were comfortable, of good sizes, and well-maintained. I'd describe the feel as old world charm.

The thing that was truly remarkable for me was the service. Front desk, room service and concierge were all excellent. Everyone was incredibly sensitised to guests' needs and genuinely wanted us to have a good stay, and they went out of their way to make things happen. Most 5-star hotels worldwide are desperately lacking when it comes to service, but the experience here was of a genuine and warm hospitality.

(Example 1: We had a few very early excursions, and ordered breakfast for 6am or earlier on those days. We didn't know this at the time, but the kitchen was not actually open that early, and hot food was normally not available at this time. However, they gave us no indication of this problem, and the kitchen staff who were on duty somehow made the hot breakfasts happen for us at the times we'd requested. I can safely say that this would not have happened in Europe. I don't want to get the hotel in trouble by encouraging readers to expect this to happen all the time, but for me it was a sign that they do go out of their way to make people comfortable where it's possible.)

(Example 2: The concierge we'd been in touch with before our arrival - for our various excursion bookings - wasn't on duty the day we arrived at the hotel. But after we'd checked in, he rang us from his home(!) to check that everything was in order and if we were happy with the arrangements. Again, no chance that anyone would care this much in Europe.)

We ordered room service for dinner on a few occasions, both from the hotel's French restaurant and their Ecuadorian cafe. All meals were very good and portions were generous. The fruit in Ecuador is outstanding.

Housekeeping always did a super, thorough, and thoughtful job. They spotted I had a cold (from all the tissues in the bin) and left me extra boxes by the bed.

And of course you can't beat the Colonial Old Town location. We drove past some of the high-end hotels located in the new town. They're nowhere near the same...

Room Tip: Ask for a south-east-facing room. If your room faces the other way (overlooking Calle Garcia Moreno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveling_Lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I love this classic hotel with standards and service beyond your expectations. The location is simply perfect on Independence square. This is an all suite hotel and every room is gorgeous with service to match. I loved staying on the Plaza view side where you can people watch from your room , right next door to the Presidential Palace and enjoy spectacular views in the evening.

There restaurants are wonderful. I loved the cafe on the first floor which is very traditional but with a very fun and creative side. I loved the food, service and the views. And for dinner you can either have room service, dinner in the cafe or enjoy a beautiful french dinner with opera.

I have stayed in may five star properties and this is my favorite in Old Quito.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the plaza view side unless there is something happening that goes late into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magictravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, wonderful rooms, elegant dinning in any of the 4 restaurants. Really good Ecuadorian cuisine. Totally recommended to any travellers that like quality. Hey if Jimmy Carter and Prince Charles went there, it says it all. Had a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mm244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This will be a very memorable Christmas Eve spent in Quito, a wonderful hotel - friendly, helpful staff and most comfortable accommodations, I even slept well on a rollaway. Love all the wood decor and the large bathroom with rose petals everywhere. And to be awakened by the sound of church bells on Christmas morning is very special. No traffic noise, fast free wi-fi and a great location.

Room Tip: We are on the side street and barely see the square but it's ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BAB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This is what all hotels should be like: warm welcome, helpful service, a magnificent view, free WiFi, luxurious bathroom, and right in the historic centre of a fascinating city. Our room had the same view of the main square that the President of Ecuador has from his palace next door! The square is closed to traffic on Sundays and at festivals, so you can enjoy watching the people of Quito promenading, buying their kids balloons, having their shoes polished, meeting friends, heading for the Cathedral or one of the many churches nearby. Breakfast in the cafe looking out on the square is excellent, and we ate twice in the excellent Belle Epoque restaurant on the first floor - the food was very good, and they even have a couple of opera singers Wed - Sat nights to sing some of the familiar hits (Brindisi from Traviata, Habanera from Carmen, the odd folk song). We were using Quito as a hub during our time in mainland Ecuador, and the staff were very helpful about storing bags while we went off for a few nights, and even hung our rainjackets up ready in the wardrobe of our room ready for our return! Our only quibble was the cost of the laundry we had done - but it was turned round in about five hours, so the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Wonderful hotel. Great location. Marvellous staff. Since the recently refurbished hotel has quite a small number of rooms, the service is terrific. One of the doormen even took me to a bucket shop currency exchange place round the corned so I could change travellers cheques and waited to ensure the folks at the currency place dealt with me properly.
Did not eat in the hotel (except breakfast) so cannot comment on the restaurant.
But if you stay there and the weather is not too cold, have drinks and supper on the roof at the Vista Hermosa, just round the block, which has brilliant views over Quito.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SBSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 110 in Quito
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#13 of 110 in Quito
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3.3 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 110 in Quito
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Grande

Property: Hotel Plaza Grande
Address: Garcia Moreno N5-16 y Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Family Hotel in Quito
#8 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Plaza Grande rises above Quito's central square, known as the Plaza de la Independencia. It was one of the first hotels ever constructed in the capital, and has been extensively renovated and remodeled to become the finest boutique hotel in the city. It is the ideal place from which to explore the wonders of this timeless city. Quito was declared a UNESCO "World Heritage Site" in 1978, thanks to its historic center, which is the largest and best preserved in Latin America. The colonial center of the Franciscan city of Quito is a treasure trove of baroque art and architecture, including buildings, churches, monasteries and narrow streets that reflect Ecuador's unique blend of indigenous and Spanish cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing