We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Mariscal”
Review of Casa Kanela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Kanela
Ranked #41 of 253 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in May as the starting off point of our one month trip. Arriving at this little place in the afternoon, we were met by Amadeus who ushered us in and got us settled. He was very detailed about entering our valuables onto a list before taking them to the safe. We booked a triple room and it was large enough for us all to spread out in. Bathroom was a little small but there was plenty of hot water. The street was so peaceful and quiet but if you walk only 5 minutes down the street you are in the middle of Plaza Foch and the major nightlife of Quito. Wifi worked really well and breakfast was really nice - great strong coffee, juice, fresh fruits, bread and jam and eggs cooked to order. Amadeus even gave our daughter a rose on her birthday. They were really helpful getting us a taxi to the bus station to Otavalo and when we came back to stay one night before our flight to Lima early, early in the morning, the lady working at the desk was helpful in ordering a taxi for 3:00 a.m. and letting us out of the hotel so early. I felt safe and secure at all times here and recommend to anybody wanting closeness to the action with the ability to sleep at night in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

On a nice peaceful road close to the action, this place is stylish and comfortable. The rooms up the top are a little cramped but those in the older part have high ceilings and nice wood floors. The showers are tiny. Overall great value with a simple breakfast included.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank presidentgallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here before heading to The Galapagos Islands.
We booked a private room for $38.00 per night- The room had a really comfy bed, good bathroom with a hot shower and above all it was really clean which was all we really needed.
Breakfast was good. WIFI worked well.
The owners speak good english, and all the staff are so friendly and helpful, giving us directions, information, organising transfers etc.
The hostel is in La Mariscal, so it's close to heaps of restaurants, bars, shops.
Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I spent 7 nights at Casa Kanela while being base camped in Quito for my acclimatization hikes for Cotopaxi. I was looking for a quiet place so that I could sleep nice n tight after my hikes. Juan Rodriguez is probably one of the quietest streets in La Mariscal making it a perfect choice. The showers worked great, the WiFi used to stop working at times but a quick reset of the router generally fixed the problem. The staff was very helpful in giving me directions whenever needed. They also kept my large backpack for 4 nights free of cost.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sujay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

A nice hostel offering good value for money. Located just few blocks from the centre of la Mariscal, the location is good. Owners are friendly and speak good English. We had a private room with bathroom up in the eaves which was clean and the bed comfortable. The biggest problem was that the bed is right up by a window with no curtains/blinds so I found it impossible to sleep once the sun was up. And the window didn't open which was a shame because being in the eaves the room could get very hot. Excellent shower with hot water (although the shower curtain was more like netting so the bathroom floor hot drenched every time we used it!). Breakfast was adequate. Limited free use of Internet on a computer in reception is included which was very useful, and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed here for one night, as a single woman, about a month ago. The service was very accomodating and the breakfast was excellent. A computer and Wi-Fi were available. The room was clean, hot water was marginal, the decor was basic. Security in the building is excellent, but be careful walking in this area after dark. I personally witnessed (looking out window of Achiote restaurant, a block away) a young woman robbed by two men.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pleasantnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I travelled with my wife and my two kids to Ecuador and based on worth of mouth and internet search we found Casa Kanela. We were very happy with our decision. The place is very cosy and well decorated, we had access to free internet and had cab transport at the door any time we needed it. The staff speaks English and keep the place very neat and tidy all the time.

The rooms were great, clean, tidy and with enough room for the kids and us to feel comfortable. It is located very close to the bus stop that can take you to the Old town in twenty minutes for 25 cents US per person! We advise you to take it during off peak hours.

We did not have any problems and recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
192 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
#97 of 113 in Quito
42 reviews
14.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#93 of 113 in Quito
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chicago Hostal
Chicago Hostal
#51 of 289 in Quito
78 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#118 of 253 in Quito
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kanela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kanela

Address: Juan Rodriguez E 8-46, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $12 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Kanela 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historical house recently restored, in the heart of La Mariscal district. Nine comfortable rooms in the most beautiful and peaceful street of modern Quito. Breackfast with real ecuadorina coffee, WiFi, bus station at the corner. Friendly multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Kanela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing