We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!”
Review of Villa Colonna B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Colonna B&B
Ranked #55 of 237 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I will begin this review by saying how much I HATE B&B's!! There is something about being in someone's home that makes me feel uncomfortable & unable to relax. This is NOT the case with Villa Colonna!! What an amazing place to stay!!

My husband & I stayed here for a total of 2 nights, in between our various trips in Ecuador. From the moment we arrived (several hours before check in) Rudy & Rigo treated us with such kindness & care. We were given a tour of the home, including the outdoor terrace! Amazing doesn't even describe it!! And when we got to our suite....absolutely beautiful!! The rooms are so comfortable, so well decorated, so luxurious, I didn't want to leave the room to see Quito!

And then there is the breakfast. The food was so delicious, and almost too much!! We only got to experience one meal, because on our second stay we had an early flight to catch. We still received a stock pile of goodies for our morning trip. The amount of care and pride the owners put into the stay really cannot be beat!

I highly recommend Villa Colonna!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NYCDoc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Villa Colonna B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 33 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have stayed in many upmarket B&B's throughout North & South America as well as Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. Villa Colonna tops them all.

The room was lovely and very relaxing and unusually for a hotel in Quito had a window onto the outside of the building. Other windows faced onto the interior courtyard which is the common local style. There was a lovely patio on the roof for views over the Old Town.

We cannot praise Rudy & Rigo too highly for their kindness, helpfulness and attention to detail. The day we arrived they had just installed the most amazing Christmas decorations we have ever seen!

Not only was the breakfast delicious but the presentation of the food and table would compare favourable with any Michelin 3* restaurant.

The best place to stay in Quito without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We had a great stay at Villa Colonna....The beauty and high-end elegance of a five star hotel, but the small size, personal attention of a B&B.

Rigo and Rudy were great hosts and were so proud of their property and city and incredibly helpful with planning outings, dinners, etc. Ans they cook up a delicious (and huge!) breakfast.

A wonderful stay in the historic district of Quito....You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillyBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We've stayed fot several nights at the colonna and it was worth every penny. In all our travels we've never had the pleasure of such a personal and efficient service. Rudy and Rigo provide in everything. A lovely breakfast (altough not good for the figure), they are touroperators and provide you with an excellent choice in restaurants, souvenir shops and things to do) After a stay in a basic amazonelodge this little palace feels like HEAVEN.
Linda and Danny from Holland

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I stayed at Villa Colonna for 4 nights prior to a Galapagos trip. It is the perfect place from which to see Quito and area. The B&B is an elegant and comfortable home near the Old Town. Innkeepers Rigo and Rudy are warm and charming hosts, and made me feel instantly at home. While it was tempting to spend the day lounging in the elegant rooms, they also helped arrange private tours of the Old Town and countryside around Quito, (I spent a day at each of the rainforest area Mindo and climbing the volcano Cotopaxi), recommended restaurants, and arranged for taxis. They were more than just innkeepers; they made my stay in Quito a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cd324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Villa Colonna in the Old Town area of Quito, Ecuador after
spending a week on a boat in the Galapagos. At first we were disappointed that we were not staying at the Hilton with our fellow cruise mates --until we stepped inside Paradise! We were warmly welcomed by Rudy, the owner, who proudly showed us to our suite which were very spacious. He gave us a tour of the premises and each room is decorated uniquely and tastefully. The hotel is lush with antiques and art, fine china and crystal, truly a feast for the eyes. Then he took us up another flight of stairs to the rooftop deck where we met his partner, Rigoberto, who was tending to the patio garden. He, too, made us feel very welcome and comfortable. From this rooftop oasis there is a 360 degree panoramic view of the city which is even more spectacular at night! They prepared a magnificent and sumptuous breakfast both mornings of our stay using the fine china, linens, crystal and silverware. They were more than willing to accommodate my lactose intolerance and made recommendations and reservations for our dinners in the evenings and made the transportation arrangements as well. The B & B is in walking distance of the Old Town activities (during the day--at night we took the taxi). This place would receive a 5 star rating in the States, for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEK315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We spent two lovely nights in this exceptional B&B. The decor and spacious atrium are wonderful and the view of Quito from the terrace is spectacular. The hosts are gracious and friendly and worked out an itinerary of sites for us. The sumptuous breakfast was all we needed until dinner. This B&B was a highlight of our trip to Ecuador ! We would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Rigo and Rudy!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tlcUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 112 in Quito
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.0 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.0 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 237 in Quito
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Colonna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Colonna B&B

Address: Sebastian de Benalcazar N9-28 | Between Oriente & Esmeraldas, Quito 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $363 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique blend of originality, charm and international quality and walking distance to all major attractions in the historic center of Quito. Our breakfast is a fresh array of international flavors and those of tropical Ecuador. A calm and magical oasis from which you can enjoy 360 degrees of delightful and splendid panoramic views. We'll be waiting for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Colonna Hotel Quito
Villa Colonna Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing