We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Feels like coming home”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed in this hotel 3 times during my trip to Ecuador with two friends and my mother. The facility is unique, charming and intimate in scale. Each time we came, the staff greeted us warmly, were consistently attentive, and helped us arrange taxis and confirm plans.

The true colors of the place came through when we returned there from the Amazon. My mother who is 91 had developed a bad rash and was feeling very tired. The hotel manager jumped right on the problem, arranging for a dermatologist to come to us in the hotel that same day. The staff brought Mom homemade soup in bed and made the rounds to two nearby pharmacies to find her the creams she needed.

When we arrived the second time, my friend captured the feeling best, "Being here feels like coming home."

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharoninDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
59
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I stayed two nights, in the middle of 1 month work in Ecuador.
After staying in hotels that were noisy, it was a great relief to find this very quiet and peaceful hotel. The whole place is really beautiful (ancient home, wood everywhere), extremely clean, and very well located (2 min walking from the central Quito historic plaza de la independencia). Showers are really hot, which is something you appreciate and something difficult to find in Ecuador. Matress was perfect.
Staff is really professional, breakfast is very good. Well, the only lacking point is maybe a patio, but you can go out and find many patios and peaceful courtyards in convents or houses to visit in the Historic center.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaiaquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Driver had hard time finding hotel, hidden behind door on steep Quito street., very small sign above. Once inside, ooh la la, lovely antiquities, charming tiny lobby, cozy restaurant area. Doorman very friendly, front desk clerk polite. Had recently renovated room on second floor, stunning!! Bathroom needed a step up to get into, but was up to date, very modern in contrast to the old carvings and anitquities in the upstairs parlor right outside our heavily wooden carved door- just charming, the feel of the old mansion, but the comfort of the new. Had window to the street, which doorman made sure we knew how to open - old window, lots of latches - but great view down into the street. Were there just one night, enjoyed the beauty. Memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goinggoinggone010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We chose this hotel over the Swissotel that was part of our Galapagos package because we wanted to be in the Old Town (Centro Historico) rather than out in the fringes. Relicario is very well located on Calle Venezuela which is very busy during the day but quiet and well lit at night. The hotel is only a few hundred metres from the cathedral square and even less distance from many restaurants. We never felt nervous about going out at night.

The building is very historic, being the house in which the first president of Ecuador married a daughter of the then owner. The layout is traditional with rooms around a central, glassed-over courtyard. The rooms are not large but are adequate. We had rooms at the back (11 &41) which were very quiet. Room 41 had a view out over the rooftops and is recommended for those who don't mind climbing a few flights of stairs. All parts of the hotel are beautifully furnished and appointed.

The breakfasts were more than adequate with fresh juices from exotic fruits, fruit, yogurt, bread and pastries and eggs cooked as requested.

All the staff and the owner were very welcoming, friendly and helpful despite a limited amount of English and our poor Spanish. When we returned to the hotel after 3 nights in Otavalo we felt like we were returning home.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed here on three different occasions for one night each as we travelled around Ecuador. On the positive side, we would agree that the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and that the breakfasts are delicious. The decor is great and the location is fantastic, steps away from the main square and in walking distance of several good restaurants. Our problem was with the room - we were on the first floor and found the room just too small and extremely stuffy - despite being exhausted after a long journey (extended by volcanic dust) we slept very little on our first night. On return, we asked whether we could change rooms to one with more air, and the staff responded brilliantly - it just so happened that a larger room with an outside window was available - but they are in very short supply and it that had not been the case, we would have seriously considered moving somewhere else. I am surprised noone has commented on arrival - given the business of the road outside, you have to move fast, with luggage, to avoid jamming up most of Quito - but the friendly staff are always on hand to help!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc crossen
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2010

hello friends of Ecuador, the truth thay i am happy to visit this country. In may i will not forget it. I spent very to taste in a Hotel boutique of the capital. In an agreeable environment, and of many friendship. Clear the Hotel placed in plenary session i centre of Quito and one his personnel that offered all his help. Always one exists but. And i am directed the kitchen personnel, they do not usa the clothes adapted for his service, the lady on having died in his moments demonstrated his evil character and especially neglected in this health. It did not stop coughing in the whole breakfast, you can imagine it, a case for the oblivion.
Good regards to all and up to near.
Sherry Mc c.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry54-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We arrived at Hotel El Relicario pretty late at night after a long day of traveling. The front desk staff didn't speak any English and our weary brains couldn't conjure much Spanish, but they were really nice and made it work.

Our room was cozy and felt very safe. It was really hot with very little ventilation and we could have used a fan or two, but that was a mere blip in the experience.

We both slept great and woke up to a spectacular breakfast in the dining room. The food just kept coming! Eggs, tomatoes, sausage, yogurt, pastries, croissants, fruit...all topped off with fresh-made coffee and tea and fresh juice.

The hotel is just a few blocks from the old section of Quito -- it was a quick walk to Basilica del Voto, Plaza San Francisco, and all of the churches and plazas we wanted to see. We never once needed a cab nor did we ever feel unsafe. When leaving one night for dinner, the doorman even reminded us to put away our cameras so we wouldn't get robbed.

The decor in the hotel is fabulous -- beautiful paintings everywhere, a telescope aimed at the Basilica on the third floor, a salon filled with gorgeous relics, and the lobby with art both old and new.

I want to improve my Spanish and return so I can learn all about the hotel's history! I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Quito's old town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#15 of 111 in Quito
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 111 in Quito
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Relicario del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Relicario del Carmen

Property: Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Address: Venezuela 1041 y Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#16 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Relicario del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly historic house, dating back to 1705 has just opened it??s door as a hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. It is beautifully renovated with great emphasis on the original details and has all the comfort expected today, including a central air conditioning system. All the furniture is handmade by recognized Ecuadorian artisans and many original paintings decorate public and private areas. You will live in a real historic surrounding. The hotel is definitely declared non-smoking. It is located a block away from the main square "Plaza de la Independencia", the Government Palace and very close to many historic monuments of Quito. We also have an exclusive dining room and coffee-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Relicario del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Relicario Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing