We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Relicario del Carmen for 3 nights this month and loved it. It's an incredibly quiet and safe hotel in the middle of Quito's old town, and just a 5 minute walk from the basilica at the top of Calle Venezuela.

The rooms are small but comfortable. The bathrooms are very small! The hotel is the former home of one of Ecuadors presidents and it's beautifully decorated and has tons of character. The staff are lovely and were very willing to provide information about Quito and some of its artists - (thank you Eduardo!). We paid a little more to stay here than we have during the rest of our trip, but it was well worth it. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    40
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
59
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Machipongo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is our third stay here as we venture out to different parts of Ecuador. It has been a perfect little oasis for us. The attention to detail and the fastidious cleanliness are all done imperceptibly. Tis hotel is a perfect base to explore Old Town Quito and makes a phenomenally quiet escape when the day is done. The staff here is lovely. they have met our every need and we have challenged them with a few. If you appreciate a smaller inn with attention to detail this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesapeakeAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! They paid attention to every detail. It was lovely, and a great place to rest. They provided a library with wi-fi and several books about the area. Attentive service, they cooked us breakfast every morning and, as is common in Ecuador, fresh juice from local fruits.

This was an excellent location, just two blocks from Plaza Grande. Easy walking distance from everything we wanted to see. Could have walked to the Basilica, but took a taxi since it was uphill all the way and we had a 16 hour day and a red-eye flight home to look forward to!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmhmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

First stayed here in May 2008 and again April 2013. Wow, same fantastic ambience, comfort, quality and luxury, even the same wonderful doorman, Alfonso. The hotel´s owners have spared NO expense whatsoever in making this boutique hotel one of the most delightful and safest places to stay in the old town of Quito. This is a tightly run business, everything works and looks fantastic and you might imagine you have wandered into a different century where travelling was an artform - crisp thick heavy cotton linen, fine quality towels, real haven in a city with a lot of tired, faceless and tasteless accommodation. Artists, adventurers, historians, decorators, travellers, you will love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights for a work trip, and the hotel was a delight. Not your typical business hotel (ie no business centre or gym) but felt much more traditional, and was fantastic being in the heart of the old town, so we could walk around in the evenings and get a feel for the city.
The staff were friendly (spoke some English, but not great), the breakfast great (fresh fruit, eggs, pastries), had free wifi. It actually felt more like a B&B rather than a hotel, with a homely feel.
The rooms are not all the same - we had rooms 23 and 47, which I think were the biggest rooms in the hotel - bathrooms are all small. But it is all super clean, and nicely done, and the staff would bend over backwards to help us if they could.
Only negative point - there is a church on the other side of the road which rings its bells every morning at 6.45 till 7am, so if you are a light sleeper like me, it will likely drive you mad (or put earplugs in), or if you are a better sleeper, you will likely not notice them (my colleague wasn't woken up by them).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family stayed at El Relicario del Carmen in March 2013. It is located close to the historic center of Quito. Great location to walk to historic sites. The hotel was charming, service was outstanding, and the rooms were clean. We ate in the restaurant one of the evenings - delicious dinner with fresh ingredients. We were so pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules201260859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had room 27 and had the marvelous experience of following the Good Friday Procession from our balcony, really great, streets were so crowded that it would have been impossible to take the great pictures I took.

Lovely rooms, nice decor , bathroom somewhat small. Good breakfast and extremely convenient location in the middle of old town, yet very quiet , little traffic.

Staff is superb, friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel..

Room Tip: Number 27 is right next to a lovely parlour we mostly had to ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuki-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#15 of 111 in Quito
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 111 in Quito
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Relicario del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Relicario del Carmen

Property: Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Address: Venezuela 1041 y Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#16 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Relicario del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly historic house, dating back to 1705 has just opened it??s door as a hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. It is beautifully renovated with great emphasis on the original details and has all the comfort expected today, including a central air conditioning system. All the furniture is handmade by recognized Ecuadorian artisans and many original paintings decorate public and private areas. You will live in a real historic surrounding. The hotel is definitely declared non-smoking. It is located a block away from the main square "Plaza de la Independencia", the Government Palace and very close to many historic monuments of Quito. We also have an exclusive dining room and coffee-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Relicario del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Relicario Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing