We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Chicago Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chicago Hostal
Ranked #58 of 263 Specialty Lodging in Quito
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stay: 12/2008

Located close to the Centro Historico. Room: clean and we had hot water but towards the end of the shower it got cold. One thing that I found very inconvenient is that back then (not sure if this still applies) they only took cash -- $20 bills or smaller. We almost lost our plane because we only had $100 bills and they flat out refused to take them, making us go to the bank to change it (which took longer than the 10 min they said it would).

Although initially they were very accommodating, as we did arrive in the middle of the night, I think this is something you should ask and take into consideration if you do stay to avoid having the same issue we had.

I feel this is a nice little place though and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yadyrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comment and recommendation.
Just to make clear: We take hundred bills or fifty if you will pay a bill of 50 usd or more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
36
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very friendly staff clean rooms. There is a nice roof top terrace, which is great for socializing with other travelers. They sell beer for a reasonable price at the reception desk. There is also a refrigerator and kitchen on the roof. We stayed in a double with one twin and one full bed, and a private bathroom with hot water. The view from our room (Room 4) was amazing, as is the view from the terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street may be a bit noisier, but the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you guys for your comment, we really appreciate what you think about our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I agree on most positive comments, but like to hint on some other things..
Consider not going to this hostel if:
- you plan to leave your Bags there for a Night or more - they will charge you for this. Free Storage only goes till 2 p.m. on your checkout-day
- if you checked out and want to use the kitchen...you have to pay.

We never experienced this rip-off tendencies in any hostel in peru, bolivia, chile or ecuador - be it a cheap one or expensive.

If you stay here and dont agree on this hostel-philosophy, let them know!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansTofuWurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Manager at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your comment, this let us improve our services.
I want to clarify some points:
I am sorry what I am going to say: We charge USD 3 after 2pm because there are several people who take advantage of our free facilities until 10 pm without buy anything in our bar or without leave a tip. Every hostel on the world has check-in time and check-out time and if you want an extended use of facilities, you must pay for that. We do not only charge for leave your bags, we do charge for all the facilities used after check-out including the luggage storage service.
If you never experienced these policies in other countries or city maybe it is because that business are not managed for their owners or they do not realize how much money they lose if some guests use their facilities after the check-out time or maybe it is because that other places have bars or restaurants where you must spend your money buying drinks, food, etc. or maybe it is because in the room rates are included this. So it is not so free how you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double room for four nights in May 2013.

Pros:

- Great breakfast - although it is not included, it is very good value at just $2 for a cheese toastie, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit and tea or coffee.

- Clean rooms and comfortable bed

- Really lovely, knowledgeable staff

- Decent location near the old town and metro bus stops

- Decent guest kitchen which stays open until late.

- Cool roof terrace with good views, also the venue for breakfast

Cons:

- Wifi was a bit sketchy and we could hardly ever get signal in our bedroom, even though we were told we would be able to when we checked in. However signal was strong in the lobby and on the roof terrace

- Really thin walls - unfortunately the person in the room next to us had a habit of hawking up disgusting amounts of phlegm first thing in the morning and before he went to bed - not what you want waking you up!

- Many of the rooms don't have external windows (although they are very clear about this when checking in)


Overall, I would recommend this hostel, we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you guys for your opinion and I just want to clarify a few points:
Regarding the WIFI signal, our hostel has 3 wifi routers and 1 wifi repeater just to cover the whole main building and every of these devices are located in different points of our hostel trying to cover every area of our main building.
We just have 3 rooms in the main building without external window. Two of these have window to the corridor. The rest of my rooms have external windows.
Thank you so much for your recommendation and we really appreciate that you stayed happy in our place. We try to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a hostel located on Los Rios near Calle Caldas. This is a very small hostel with 9 rooms which are over three floors. There isn't an elevator so keep that in mind. The room I had was a single with exactly that a single that had a shared bathroom next door to my room. The rooms are no-frills yet forward, clean with a small dresser & mirror, a bedside table & light. There isn't any A/C or Heater as this is Quito. It covered what I needed at quite a reasonable price. The breakfast is offered at $2.00 USD. The rooftop has great views of the city especially the lights of the rolling hills at night. The hostel sits on a top street in the neighborhood so by foot a little uphill walking will be necessary. Old town is 1Km away so within walking distance. One might consider a cab at night in this neighborhood It's a family run hostel that has a pool table in the lobby, television with cold drinks for sale. The staff was quite friendly the Manager 'Xavier' was happy to assist me in confirming my booking of my flight to Colombia over the phone. They can assist in booking tours as well. I was sent to this hostel after the booking I made at the Colonial House which could take me just 5 nights during the week I was in Quito. Keep in mind that the lobby does close at 10PM (22:00hr) which means so does the rooftop terrace in which you're free to store any perishables in the refrigerator or cook a meal on the terrace.

Room Tip: Just remember there isn't an elevator so you may have to walk up three flights of stairs to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for your comment and I just want to clarify some points:
Our address is Los Rios N11-142 and Briceño and our hostel has two different buildings with more than 9 rooms. We are located in the Old Town, into a traditional neighborhood called San Blas, maybe 1 km is the distance between my hostel and the Tourist area.
Thanks again for your words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Our room was big and comfortable with a nice ensuite. We loved the rooftop terrace with views of Quito. The only downside was the noise on our second night from other guests, not something the hostel can really help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaGou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you guys for your words, we really appreciate your opinion. We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for over a week, after we fled from The Secret Garden around the corner.
The rooms are spacious and clean. You can use the kitchen on the roof terrace that looks out over the city. Staff is nice, they helped us out a lot when we were moving on.

- yesmads.com

Room Tip: When you get a room on the first floor, Internet will work in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesmads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear, Thanks for your rating and your kind words. We hope see you soon around here. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#104 of 111 in Quito
9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#38 of 232 in Quito
87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Discovery Quito Hostel
Discovery Quito Hostel
#43 of 263 in Quito
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Agua Canela
Casa Agua Canela
#27 of 263 in Quito
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#2 of 263 in Quito
248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Del Maple
Posada Del Maple
#31 of 232 in Quito
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Hostal

Property: Chicago Hostal
Address: Calle Los Rios N11-142 y Calle Briceno | Sector San Blas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 263 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Hostel was founded in 2003 in a modern building with modern structures and strong bases. These facilities were created to be a hosting business from the beginning. The rooms and bathrooms were not improvised so that they have adequate ventilation, adequate natural light and the system pressure and water temperature was set to supply a large number of people. Chicago Hostel is a family business with friendly and helpful staff, we are located in the heart of the city, inside a traditional neighborhood Quiteño considered part of the Old Town. It also has a good level of security and there is a police station two blocks away from our hostel. Privileged location, very close to the beating heart of Quito within walking distance to the main tourist attractions. We are located one block away from a main avenue where there is a lot of public transportation which could drive you to the rest of the city as La Mitad del Mundo, Teleférico, Airport, Interprovinciales bus stations, local bus stations, etc. We work hard to provide you a spectacular stay, help you with directions, information about transportation, safety tips and several recommendations that travelers need to have a nice and quiet visit to our city. We offer a place where you can rest and recharge your energy for a new day. We offer you a lot of tourist information, besides we can help you with tours inside and outside the city, we offer you a top terrace which has a wonderful view of the city, its surroundings and the idyllic Pichincha mountain. Hostal Chicago is home for tourists from around the world. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere. Our facilities include spacious and comfortable rooms, full private bathrooms, showers with hot water 24/7, daily housekeeping service, free WIFI, general security lockers, covered and decorated top terrace, free use of kitchen, a Coffee-Bar with a wide range of drinks accompanied by cable TV , good music, WiFi signal and a pool table. Do not expect a five star service, expect a service where our staff strives to help you to get your way and get there safely. This is a spectacular place to relax and unwind in a great environment where prevails cleaning , companionship , friendship and respect among everyone. Do not hesitate ! Looking forward to your pleasant visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chicago Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing