We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Chicago Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chicago Hostal
Ranked #54 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The only reason this was not excellent was because of the noise from the road during the night, due to the window not being sealed correctly.
Otherwise a fabulous place to stay. There was hot water, wifi and the owner is extremely friendly.
The breakfast was only $2 and included a bowl of fruit (variety of types), a ecuadorian cheese pastry and tea.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_killara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your words and thanks for highlighting your issue as well, we are really sorry about the street noise but this pollution is out of our hands
Thanks for recommending our hostel, this helps us a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    34
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
36
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights after arriving in Quito from London, UK. We let them know we were arriving late and they opened up reception again to check us in.
The staff spoke good English and were courteous at all times.

The breakfast was only $2 dollars and was filling with fresh fruit, toasty, eggs and tea or coffee.

Our room was large with a private bathroom. This was cleaned daily and the water was always hot. It was a bit noisy outside - but we were jetlagged falling asleep at 7pm! Once the traffic died down after 9pm it was quiet.

Good WiFi in the reception area... Didn't make use of the kitchen on the roof terrace but at a quick glance it looked fine.

We will be back in Quito later this month and will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynbraffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your amazing words. This kind of comments help us to improve our services and keep open our place to give our best to our guests. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived at Quito airport at night, more than an hour later than expected. The shuttle service, arranged by Chicago hostel, was luckely still waiting for us. The hostel owner stayed up to book us in and show us arround. He even walked with us to the beautiful rooftop terrace and explained all about the surroundings. The private room we stayed in was big, clean and had a bathroom. A fantastic breakfast was included (fresh fruit salade, croissant, scrambled eggs and coffee or thee) and served at the rooftop terrace by utterly friendly staff. You could cook in the guestkitchen (also on the terrace) wifi available in the small commun area downstairs. Laundry service. Located very close to the historic old town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobke_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavi75, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting our hostel. We really appreciate your kindly words. We hope to see you again around here. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a total of 5 nights here and we were happy with this place. The room we got was quite big, very clean (cleaned every day) with a private bathroom which looked very good. The staff was also quite helpful. The only downside was that there was no wifi in the room and the reception closed at 10pm (so couldn't use wifi after that hour). They have some rooms with wifi but they are more expensive. Also it's better to book online to get a cheaper rate.
The location is not very central but it's within walking distance to the old town. If you need to get to the new town there are the metropolitan buses/trolley, or a taxi should be around 2-3$.
The neighbourhood seemed safe enough as we walked back from the bus (a few blocks) at night and it was fine,

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavi75, Owner at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for taking a time to write a comment of our hostel. We are happy that you felt comfortable in our place. We will improve the WIFI service ASAP. We hope to see you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for one night. We were greeted by a very nice gentleman who stayed up until we arrived (after 1am!) to check us in. The area is very safe and they are very diligent about locking the doors to the buildings. When I made this reservation online, hostelbookers said that breakfast was included, however, when we arrived we were told it would cost $2 per person because their policy had recently changed. The breakfast was well-worth $2, it included coffee/tea, juice, a bowl of fruit, a toasted cheese croissant, and an egg. The breakfast balcony was very nice. Our room was basic but clean, we had a "matrimonial bed" and a private bathroom, water pressure was good, and the water temperature was mostly stable. It was very noisy in the morning but we came prepared with earplugs. Internet was available in the lobby only. I think we paid about $15 per person per night.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldCitizen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your kindly words!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a hostel not 5* hotel. Staff is all familyRoseanna&Javier speak eng. parents dont but all very helpful. Rms clean but small with clean updated bathrms. Need bigger/thicker towels. Price is excellant and includes breakfast. Stayed 1st 2 nights in Ec arriving@ midnight had res. Let me check in, even got me a bottle of water($1) Rm by street noisy w/earplugs but had window. Returned to leave EC(res for a back quieter rm) stayed 3 nites. They arranged for taxis and daytrip to Otavalo They had charges for some things that seemed a bit picky. They did let me break a rule and wash a shirt. Free wifi, and 1 computer for internet use. The hostel was split on 2 sides. Owners had a well behaved dog that roamed and saw another one on the other side. Single was $12.50 & incl. breakfast of eggs, roll, juice and coffee/tea. Walls in the place were thin & you could hear most everything but earplugs did work. I got what I paid for-a place to sleep. I've paided more for primitive camping spots in the U.S. This place had hot showers & the place was secure. The area didn't have any restaurants very close. Most things were a min. of 3-4 blks away except for a couple of convenience type shops very near. I was satisfied with my stay, accommodations, breakfast, and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry-Oklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier T, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comment and thanks for highlighting your issue as well, we will improve our services.
You mentioned the correct point, we are not a 5 star hotel we are a hostel where with the money that the guests pay, we can keep this place open giving our best job. Saludos!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed in a double room with bathroom for $24. The room was okay although bed not that comfortable. There were a number of draconian rules that were a bit mean spirited e.g. no drinks bought outside the hostel were allowed to be consumed in the communual area and no use of services such as wi-fi after check-out even if you're waiting around for transport connections. Staff were so-so; one quite rude, and one friendly in an fake way.

Wi-fi available only on the roof terrace which was not so great, especially if it was raining and there people already in the covered area. Breakfast was extra and was fine. Laundry $1.50 per kilo. Lockers were available but cost $1 per day and you have to use your own padlock.

Location good, walking distance to both old and new towns.

It was okay but I wouldn't stay here again as we found somewhere much better when we returned to Quito.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavi75, Propietario at Chicago Hostal, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
I have seen your comment and I don´t know how you can make a good comment if you stayed in our hostel in January of 2011 and you just made this comment in November 2011. I cannot believe how good your memory is.

Anyway, I am going to explain my opinion for show some respect to the coming guests.

You stayed in a really big double room with a big private bathroom (hot water 24 hours, high pressure, toilet, shower, sink, towels, body soap and toilet paper), with TV, really good ventilation, window to the street and great natural light and the best all of these is that you only paid USD 12 per person.

About the "rules", this is only information to explain how the hostel works. The one page with information contain the check-in time, check-out time, WiFi code and password, opening hours of the reception, cancellations, security lockers, breakfast, guest kitchen, Common area, Internet and WIFI service, luggage storage and the most important information about the Check-Out.

Of course it is not allowed to drink beverage (bought outside) in the lobby bar because we sell beverage as well. I want to remember you that this is a business, anyway you have the rest of the hostel to do this like our Covered top terrace where you have tables, chairs, full guest kitchen, stereo for your use and besides you can drink it in your bedroom without any problem.

Regarding the use of free services after check out. Chicago Hostel doesn´t provide extended use of facilities. Other places offer this because they don´t have FREE services as we have or because these places have a restaurant or bar where you going to spend your money. We don´t have any restaurant or big bar where you must spend your money with us until your next transport connection.

About the staff, the only two person who were in the front desk in January were Tatiana (mornings) and Rosanna (afternoons) and they are really nice ladies and for this reason I am really proud of them and of the rest of my staff.

At January, the WiFi worked in the whole building number 1 including the room that you stayed(top terrace, lobby bar, rooms, halls), and not just in the top terrace how you said.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
1.4 mi away
Casa Agua Canela
Casa Agua Canela
#28 of 255 in Quito
40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#43 of 226 in Quito
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chez Elena Guesthouse
Chez Elena Guesthouse
#48 of 226 in Quito
19 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hostal Isla Isabela
Hostal Isla Isabela
#96 of 226 in Quito
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 255 in Quito
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Hostal

Property: Chicago Hostal
Address: Calle Los Rios N11-142 y Calle Briceno | Sector San Blas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago Hostel was founded in 2003 in a modern building with modern structures and strong bases. These facilities were created to be a hosting business from the beginning. The rooms and bathrooms were not improvised so that they have adequate ventilation, adequate natural light and the system pressure and water temperature was set to supply a large number of people. Chicago Hostel is a family business with friendly and helpful staff, we are located in the heart of the city, inside a traditional neighborhood Quiteño considered part of the Old Town. It also has a good level of security and there is a police station two blocks away from our hostel. Privileged location, very close to the beating heart of Quito within walking distance to the main tourist attractions. We are located one block away from a main avenue where there is a lot of public transportation which could drive you to the rest of the city as La Mitad del Mundo, Teleférico, Airport, Interprovinciales bus stations, local bus stations, etc. We work hard to provide you a spectacular stay, help you with directions, information about transportation, safety tips and several recommendations that travelers need to have a nice and quiet visit to our city. We offer a place where you can rest and recharge your energy for a new day. We offer you a lot of tourist information, besides we can help you with tours inside and outside the city, we offer you a top terrace which has a wonderful view of the city, its surroundings and the idyllic Pichincha mountain. Hostal Chicago is home for tourists from around the world. Enjoy a friendly, fun and intimate atmosphere. Our facilities include spacious and comfortable rooms, full private bathrooms, showers with hot water 24/7, daily housekeeping service, free WIFI, general security lockers, covered and decorated top terrace, free use of kitchen, a Coffee-Bar with a wide range of drinks accompanied by cable TV , good music, WiFi signal and a pool table. Do not expect a five star service, expect a service where our staff strives to help you to get your way and get there safely. This is a spectacular place to relax and unwind in a great environment where prevails cleaning , companionship , friendship and respect among everyone. Do not hesitate ! Looking forward to your pleasant visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Chicago Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing