We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Alcala
Nearby Hotels
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
$71
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
$124
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$450
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$615
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
30
33
14
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
33
14
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstotally recommend this placeplaza fochtvinternetecuadordesk
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 90 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I stayed 4 nights at Alcala. I got a room for $18, which ended up being $20.16 with tax. For that price I got a comfortable queen size been in a sizeable room, with lots of light on the second floor, birds chirping, foliage, pretty quiet (as quiet as one could hope for being only 2 blocks from the pounding music of La Mariscal). My room was cleaned daily. I had cable TV, and an ensuite bathroom. Free breakfast was available, though I didnt get a chance to take advantage. Good security at Alcala, locked doors, which is critical, as La Mariscal is NOT safe at night, despite what you might read in the guidebooks. They have one free computer terminal available, and free wireless, which actually reached a signal up into my room, which was fantastic. This is not a party hostal, in fact it's dead quiet most of the day, and was pretty empty.

On a side note, Quito is NOT a safe city. I was mugged in La Mariscal just one block off one of the main busy streets. First mugging ever after travelling to 55 countries. Also had an attempted pickpocketing. Avoid going out alone at night, and avoid any street not packed with businesses and lights and other people. Take taxis over any sizable distance, they are mostly honest, and very cheap, nearly any ride is $2 or less.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UsaPassportStamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

stayed here twice. rooms were clean and comfortable enough, nothing fancy. nice full breakfast. internet available. good location, walking distance to shopping, dining, museums, etc. a bit noisy at night, the sounds of the city. good no frills lodging.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

I have stayed in Alcala twice, once for a week in January 2008 and stayed again for three weeks in Jan/Feb 2009. The staff are friendly and always smile and say hi. The breakfast is good coffee, fresh juice, toast and eggs. The have a lovely relaxing patio enjoyed my coffee there in the mornings. The rooms are clean with cable TV and WiFi. Also a computer just off the dining area for internet access. The location is great so close to everything in the Marscial. I really enjoyed my stay there, I am retiring next year and will be back.. :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

The hotel is locate in the La Mariscal district which is like Miami’s South Beach minus the affluent gays and keeping the gangs, bumper to bumper traffic, graffiti, discarded booze bottles and urine smell. There is a disco behind the hotel that starts blasting music at 6pm and doesn’t shut down until 3am – 6 days a week. On the front street urban yuts spend all night signaling each other with shrill whistles and shouts. Ear plugs and Ambien couldn’t even help. The hostess/manager, Tonya, does not speak a word of English and apparently very little Spanish, as she could never understand a word we said in either language - and they weren’t complicated conversations. It was an obvious inconvenience for her to leave her soap operas for any request – even when we wanted to pay our bill. You will not feel welcome here either in the neighborhood or in the hotel. We stayed in Old Town, the historic district, when we returned from the Galapagos Islands and the atmosphere was much cleaner, quieter and safer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sv_makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2007

This hostel was good for the price. It was in close vicinity to some nice restaurants, internet cafes, and small shops in the Marsical district. Staff were friendly and helped us with our luggage; they did not know English but we could communicate with them with pretty minimal Spanish so it wasn't really a problem. The hostel also had a 'no visitor rule' for safety purposes, which made us feel at ease.
The room was quite small as is standard in hostels, but it was nice and quiet and overlooked a pretty garden. The dining room was warm and welcoming, the breakfast was lovely, and they even made eggs catered to your liking. I would recommend this hostel for people on a
budget looking for accommodation in Quito.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank lstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews