We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel in the Mariscal”
Review of Hostal Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Alcala
Ranked #29 of 252 Quito B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2007

My Wife and I stayed at the Alcala for 4 Nights during New Years '07. The hostal is clean and the staff is friendly. The staff speaks very limited english but are very willing to help you in anyway possible. The breakfast is relatively good and it is a great time to meet fellow travelers to exchange ideas and experiences. The location is good, lots of restaurants, travel agents and bars/clubs nearby. The free internet in the common area is cool but was slow and rarely operating properly.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JaSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2006

My adult daughter and I stayed here twice and then I returned for one more night in Feb 2006. Our first time, we had rm 4, two twin beds, TV, crappy shower. The second time, we had rm 11, bigger room off of an upstairs patio and there's only one other room opening onto the patio. We had a single and a double bed, good shower. Both these rooms were $28 (rate inc. taxes/breakfast of eggs or pancakes, lg fresh juice, toast, jams, coffee, tea, hot choc).

When I returned, I was alone and had rm 3, 2 twin beds, HUGE bathroom, really good shower, $18.50.

The best room appeared to be rm 8 (also $28), it was a large room, mini refrigerator, big TV, recliner, opened onto the other side of the upstairs patio (was the only room there).

The personnel don't speak Spanish but it does not appear to be a problem. The place was clean and in an excellent location . . . I would stay there again. Oh, they have free internet, too.

Hope this helps,
Sandy (in Denton)

16  Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gláucia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amira_izurieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank Kar LM K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrés G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Alcala, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Foch
Hotel Casa Foch
#33 of 252 in Quito
87 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Huasi Continental
Hotel Huasi Continental
#28 of 252 in Quito
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travellers Inn
Travellers Inn
#16 of 297 in Quito
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hosteria Airport Garden
Hosteria Airport Garden
#3 of 14 in Tababela
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Del Maple
Posada Del Maple
#31 of 252 in Quito
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aleida's Hostal
Aleida's Hostal
#11 of 297 in Quito
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcala

Address: Luis Cordero E5-48 (1187) y Reina Victoria | La Mariscal, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 252 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $22 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Alcala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Alcala is serving tourists in the world since 1998. Located in the famous La Mariscal 300 meters from the Plaza Foch, tourist heart of Quito, due to its high concentration of restaurants, cafes, bars, operators tourism, nightclubs and souvenir shops and only minutes from downtown and other attractions, in addition to all major transportation lines. We have communal spaces, patios, terraces and TV room with fireplace and free WIFI. Equipped kitchen and free use self-service coffee and tea for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcala Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing