We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel in good location”
Review of Hostal Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Alcala
Ranked #32 of 229 Quito B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel in good location”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night at hostal alcala. We were in room 12 which is on the upper floor and is nice - has a patio area in front of it, and the room gets good natural light (I hate staying in dark rooms).

The room is basic but has everything you need including wifi and TV. The breakfast was fine - fruit and eggs, better than some places we have stayed.

There is a wonderful Italian restaurant called Cosa Nostra, really cosy ambience and great food. So so much nicer than the touristy places around foche plaza. Turn right out of the hotel and walk 5 mins, it feels like you are walking in wrong direction, the hotel owner recommended it.

The rooms on upper floor are much better than lower floor which I think will be quite dark.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
23
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
World citizen
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had a nice stay and they were very accommodating. Jorge was great but does not understand English and therefore I could not make another reservation the second time I wanted to stay. The owner Monic was there in the morning. As mentioned in another review, she is a very warm person, informative and most helpful. Make sure to speak her if you make a reservation. I will stay again on my next stay in Quito!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My stay during the 2nd week of November was about a week. Although Jorge the Manager did not speak English I understood whatever he spoke. He was very helpful. I met Monic the owner during the latter part of my stay. She is a very warm person, very informative and helpful. Monic lives in a unit on the upper floor.
There were many families during my stay. One can cook in the large kitchen which has all the amenities. European breakfast is included in the rent which is plenty.
Recreation areas are large and dedicated to each activity. Ex: TV room has a large screen and many seats. Computer room is for free internet use and reading room.
The decor is very ethnic and natural.
The single room is small but very clean. The bathroom was bright and clean.
A large mirror on the wall would be a great advantage.
Every room opens out to a little patio or garden area. There is plenty of privacy. Also a very secure place.
The location is very central to many places of tourist interests, shopping, parks, and public transportation. Plaza Foch, the party area is just around the block. The tourist information too is 3 minutes away. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby.
I am a frequent visitor to Ecuador. Al Cala is my favourite place in Quito.
It was like a second home for me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main floor are good if you have big luggage. The rooms on the upper floor have sit out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassadaga, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Please read the other review too. I want the Maple and they turn me to their other hostel.

when i got there the room was only for two days instead of the four day they confirmed.

if you book this hostel you better have another back up hostel.

Then they laughed about it. Very rude people.

lucky I was able to find another hostel. Do not count on them.

Room Tip: finds another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridaphil32744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a reservation at the Posada del Maple, but they sent us to this hostel.

A few thoughts:
Near the restaurants/bars, but I wouldn't have felt safe there if I were a woman traveling alone.
Good hot water and pressure, but the bathroom was smelly.
I was happy they had eggs at breakfast with the toast, juice, and coffee.
Wifi worked well enough for us.
The same staff member was there the whole time we were there 2 nights/3 days and she tried to be very helpful, but didn't seem to know much about how to answer our questions...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The rooms are modern, clean, mine was bright. Breakfast is included, Wi-Fi is available, and the place is convenient to the trendy Mariscal area. Service was sullen or non-existent. But most of all, you can hear the nearby club as if you were there. I had an early flight the next day, I didn't manage to sleep a minute--with earplugs! So if you're into sleeping at night, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: There may be a sound-proof padded room in the basement I'm not aware of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We made a reservation and got it confirmed even twice-the second time the day of arrival. But when we showed up they pretendet not to know anything about it. No excuses no nothing. Very rude! So if you want to be sure to get a room, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank taunusdrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andino
Hotel Andino
#26 of 229 in Quito
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingdom Kichwa
Kingdom Kichwa
#25 of 229 in Quito
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Del Maple
Posada Del Maple
#30 of 229 in Quito
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Auberge INN
L'Auberge INN
#23 of 229 in Quito
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Arupo
Hostal El Arupo
#39 of 256 in Quito
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#38 of 229 in Quito
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcala

Property: Hostal Alcala
Address: Luis Cordero E5-48 (1187) y Reina Victoria | La Mariscal, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Alcala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Alcala is serving tourists in the world since 1998. Located in the famous La Mariscal 300 meters from the Plaza Foch, tourist heart of Quito, due to its high concentration of restaurants, cafes, bars, operators tourism, nightclubs and souvenir shops and only minutes from downtown and other attractions, in addition to all major transportation lines. We have communal spaces, patios, terraces and TV room with fireplace and free WIFI. Equipped kitchen and free use self-service coffee and tea for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcala Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing