We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but no one answered the door!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #98 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, but no one answered the door!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We booked a room at Villa Nancy for 2 separate stays during our week in Ecuador. The first day we got there in the afternoon (and had told them we'd be arriving then). The hotel is on a busy street and is a bit hard to find, but for the Swiss flag. We rang the bell, but no one came. The very nice neighbors also offered to help, calling the desk as well as the owner, but to no avail. The rain set in, and we ended up waiting in a shop down the street for 2 hours before anyone showed up!

The room was nice, historic, and the amenities were fine. The owner profusely apologized for not being there and assured me that it would certainly not happen again when we arrived. We confirmed our next estimated arrival time at least twice.

We planned to stay 2 more nights, but when we arrived again several days later, once more there was no one there! Rather than waste another 2 hours that could be well spent seeing the city, we set off down the street and found another room within 15 minutes. There are dozens of hostels and similar places within just a few blocks.

So, a nice place, but make sure you know that someone will be there!!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenivit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
23
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here for two nights before joining a tour to the Galapagos Islands and found it to be a very pleasnat place to stay. The owners (and their dog) are very welcoming and the location is great, within walking distance of the restaurants/bars of the Mariscal area. Our room was smallish but the bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were fairly basic - cereal and bread with bananas but fine. Great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MbaleSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

we spent 5 nights during various stages of our ecuador trip at villa nancy and it was like coming home each time. the owners are great young folks and the old house is located on a main street (easy for taxi's) but walkable distance to even old town. the showers seem to have a mind of their own when it comes to hot water, and the noise level depends on the people who are staying there, but i would stay there again in a heartbeat! this isnt a 5 star hotel, but as i said, the propritors make up for what the place lacks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We spent our first and last night in Ecuador in Villa Nancy. And what a good choice that was! Great location, nice rooms, good terrace, good price but most of all: the couple that runs the place is so friendly. Makes you feel you're somehow home, far away from home. They will answer all your questions and will help you with whatever you need.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelmavdBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

You won't see a sign for Villa Nancy - there's nothing out front to indicate it's there. You simply have the address and ring the bell, after which smiling hosts Joffrey & Berenice, along with a big friendly pooch, greet you at the gate and lead you up to a cozy little guesthouse with great views of the city and mountains beyond (from the 2nd floor balcony). We stayed at Villa Nancy off and on over the course of about two weeks while we did a language course in Quito, and then again after returning from the Amazon. They stored our bags for free while we were in the Amazon, received mail for us while we were away (dealing with credit card fraud issues) and even had it all waiting in our room for us when we returned. It has a homey feel, with access to the kitchen anytime, and wonderful hosts who never hesitated to go out of their way to help with anything from catching a cab, to a dinner suggestion. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earthtoes7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a good time. The trilingual couple was very nice, understanding (we woke them up at 3 am because our flight was delayed) and helpful! Guests are also welcome to help themselves to some coffee, tea and water in the kitchen, very good with the chilly evenings in Quito.
Would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenadietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

At first it might seem so inconspicous but inside the owners have done an excellent job of private accomodation and B&B. The owners are couples that also live there with dog. Joffrey is very helpful and friendly and went out of his way to help me catch my bus to Lago Agrio. All speak good english and spanish. very clean. no hassles. only simple breakfast provided. great value for money. dont go with expectation of a 5-star resort but its not too backpaper oriented either. during my stay there were several couples.

Room Tip: they have 8 suites with private bath. ask for those in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#34 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal El Arupo
Hostal El Arupo
#29 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
9.4 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast

Property: Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast
Address: Avenida 6 de Diciembre N24-398 | entre Baquerizo Moreno y Cordero, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostal is centrally located in a colonial house within 2 walking minutes from the tourist center Mariscal Sucre in Quito. We have eight spacious rooms, of which six contain a private bathroom and two a shared bathroom. VILLA NANCY is a clean, safe place where you can feel at home. We have a big terrace with a nice view of the still active volcano Pichincha. We have a social room with a TV, board games and an open kitchen, where you can prepare your own food. We also offer WIFI internet, free coffee and tea, also we have a safe to keep your valuables while you explore the town and its surroundings, as well as a left luggage locker. We have everything a traveler will ask to be comfortable when away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing