We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly safe place in the city”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #83 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“friendly safe place in the city”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

we spent 5 nights during various stages of our ecuador trip at villa nancy and it was like coming home each time. the owners are great young folks and the old house is located on a main street (easy for taxi's) but walkable distance to even old town. the showers seem to have a mind of their own when it comes to hot water, and the noise level depends on the people who are staying there, but i would stay there again in a heartbeat! this isnt a 5 star hotel, but as i said, the propritors make up for what the place lacks!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-eb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    19
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
23
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We spent our first and last night in Ecuador in Villa Nancy. And what a good choice that was! Great location, nice rooms, good terrace, good price but most of all: the couple that runs the place is so friendly. Makes you feel you're somehow home, far away from home. They will answer all your questions and will help you with whatever you need.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelmavdBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2012

You won't see a sign for Villa Nancy - there's nothing out front to indicate it's there. You simply have the address and ring the bell, after which smiling hosts Joffrey & Berenice, along with a big friendly pooch, greet you at the gate and lead you up to a cozy little guesthouse with great views of the city and mountains beyond (from the 2nd floor balcony). We stayed at Villa Nancy off and on over the course of about two weeks while we did a language course in Quito, and then again after returning from the Amazon. They stored our bags for free while we were in the Amazon, received mail for us while we were away (dealing with credit card fraud issues) and even had it all waiting in our room for us when we returned. It has a homey feel, with access to the kitchen anytime, and wonderful hosts who never hesitated to go out of their way to help with anything from catching a cab, to a dinner suggestion. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthtoes7382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a good time. The trilingual couple was very nice, understanding (we woke them up at 3 am because our flight was delayed) and helpful! Guests are also welcome to help themselves to some coffee, tea and water in the kitchen, very good with the chilly evenings in Quito.
Would definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenadietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

At first it might seem so inconspicous but inside the owners have done an excellent job of private accomodation and B&B. The owners are couples that also live there with dog. Joffrey is very helpful and friendly and went out of his way to help me catch my bus to Lago Agrio. All speak good english and spanish. very clean. no hassles. only simple breakfast provided. great value for money. dont go with expectation of a 5-star resort but its not too backpaper oriented either. during my stay there were several couples.

Room Tip: they have 8 suites with private bath. ask for those in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Woodmere, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We just stayed in this hotel and were very happy with our choice. Convenient location, warm family atmosphere, the couple who owns the place is very helpful and makes you feel very welcome. Add to all of it a low price and you couldn't find better. You can get a ride from the airport as well. I will recommend this place to everyone who values the warmth and easiness of atmosphere over unnecessary fanciness of standard chain hotels. Loved it!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with our own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irynagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
294 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I stayed at Villa Nancy several times while spending 5 weeks in Ecuador, when I was traveling in and out of Quito. I can mostly repeat what other recent reviewers have noted.

Berenice and Joffre are extremely friendly and helpful, and that is possibly the biggest positive of the place. They always made me feel very welcome, and more like a friend than just a random guest. The rooms are clean and quite large. It's a pretty quiet location, considering it's location. As others have noted, it's enough away from the Mariscal party zone to not be a disturbance, but close enough to let you feel social. They are happy to let you store luggage with no fee.


A few negatives: Room #2 smells like gasoline (other rooms are fine though). Water pressure is low and temperature is erratic, making a good shower a difficult proposition. Breakfast is a little weak, but OK for the price. You have to ring a bell to be let in - great for security but it gets annoying as sometimes it takes several minutes for them to open the gate. I would have preferred for guests to be given a key to the outside gate. Guest computer monitor desperately needs replaced (it's generally a sickly green).

Note - if you don't like big dogs, you may not like their dog Calpa (sp?). She's sweet, friendly, and harmless though.

I also spent a night at another place in Quito (Posada del Maple), and ultimately I preferred Villa Nancy. Breakfast was better at del Maple, and it's a little nicer overall, but Berenice & Joffre are why I would choose to return to Villa Nancy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
9.4 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Hotel Miguel Angel
Hotel Miguel Angel
#103 of 226 in Quito
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast

Property: Villa Nancy Bed & Breakfast
Address: Avenida 6 de Diciembre N24-398 | entre Baquerizo Moreno y Cordero, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostal is centrally located in a colonial house within 2 walking minutes from the tourist center Mariscal Sucre in Quito. We have eight spacious rooms, of which six contain a private bathroom and two a shared bathroom. VILLA NANCY is a clean, safe place where you can feel at home. We have a big terrace with a nice view of the still active volcano Pichincha. We have a social room with a TV, board games and an open kitchen, where you can prepare your own food. We also offer WIFI internet, free coffee and tea, also we have a safe to keep your valuables while you explore the town and its surroundings, as well as a left luggage locker. We have everything a traveler will ask to be comfortable when away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing