We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Colonial Center Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Quito
skpke
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Colonial Center Hotel”
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Hotel San Francisco de Quito. Great location in the heart of colonial Quito, 2 blocks from Plaza Grande and Plaza San Francisco. $38-42 per night. Best room is near the observation deck, about $52 a night. Worth it but you have to climb several sets of stairs. Do ask for room on the upper patio floors, away from the desk. Helpful staff, stored belongings during our comings and goings to the Galapagos and Amazonia, no charge. Very clean, beds very comfortable, very safe, some street noise, bring ear plugs. Spanish language only on the TV, no CNN. Restaurant on premises not so good but lots of options in the area. Or take a $2-3 cab ride to Mariscal section for more choices. We enjoyed Fruiterria Monserrat for fresh fruit and cream, and the pizza place next door to it, both about a 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. Also El Maple in the Mariscal for vegetarian food. Hotel San Francisco de Quito is a more typical Ecuadoran establishment. If you'd like a US style hotel, try the Radisson, for $58 a night, clean, comfortable, CNN, generic.

  • Disliked — Location in historic district
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skpke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    177
    87
    29
    9
See reviews for
53
160
52
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2007

we stayed in this hotel twice. The first time we had a large room in the upper patios: very nice and comfortable. But when we came back a few days later, despite a long due reservation, we had been changed for a smallish "double" room , nb 4 or 5, behind the entrance desk. We could'nt sleep the whole night, and they refused to change room for the following nights. We had to change hotel, fairly upset and disapointed.

  • Liked — surroundings and location
  • Disliked — very noisy rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jean_miParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed in the highest suite, so I can not comment on the regular rooms. The hotel has a lovely courtyard, and free internet access (only 1 computer, so frequently occupied). I found that this hotel was the best priced in the Old Town. Many Old Town Hotels seem to be dingy or very expensive. This one was quite clean. The highest suite was around $60, I believe, and the views of the city were amazing. The room had a kitchen, very tasteful decorations, and lots of windows.

On the down side:
-The breakfast was not great at all. Included eggs, but they were greasy. The restaurant that serves them doesn't give much service.
-The bathroom was very small.
-Some of the windows were only covered with a sheer layer of curtain, and people could see through at night. It was a little difficult to feel some privacy for that.
-The bathroom mirror was hung so low, that it made it difficult to turn on the water for the sink. Just bad forethough.

  • Liked — Location in Old Town
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LYFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2007

Overall, this is a pleasant hotel which is deceptively large, spreading over a number of floors and stages. We were there for two days before we learned there was a turkish bath and sauna.

Two nights in the room with windows overlooking the reception desk had us recalling the advice of other travelers on this site in relation to many hotels: Don´t accept a room close to the lobby! The noise of constant phone calls, late and early guests and the buzzer from the front door were too much. We changed rooms to something smaller but considerably quieter (with the promise that the adjacent turkish bath machine would be turned off at 9 pm).

The rooms are clean and the water hot. The staff are pleasant and helpful. As to the facilities in general, guests have access to a safety deposit box and there is one PC for internet access. The TV in the room is barely operational but a large screen TV with cable is available in the guest lounge. The staff contend cable will be installed throughout the hotel by July 2007. Breakfast can be taken in the lovely courtyard but is a bit basic. However, the hotel is well located in the historic centre of town and is therefore a short walk to better options.

Strangely, our first room had two half sized pillows that would hardly qualify as a head support even when folded over. A request for additional pillows was met with a very bulky chunky pair that barely fitted into their covers. The next room had perfectly acceptable pillows that might appear in any hotel - hard to understand...

Great location - close to sights, transport and good cafes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaTravelcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port townsend
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

This was a very convenient and pleasant Hotel with free Internet in the lobby and lots of information available about the area. The staff is very helpful and friendly and the price was great. I would stay here again. We particularly liked the rooms with the lofts/spiral staircases. Be sure and go to upper balcony for the view.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank waterspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 111 in Quito
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Catedral Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francisco de Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francisco de Quito

Property: Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Address: Sucre 217 y Guayaquil | Historical Old Town, Quito EC170130, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francisco de Quito 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quito's Colonial downtown area is the largest and best preserved architectural space in all the Americas and was designated by UNESCO as a World Cultural Heritage Site. Surrounded by this wealth of culture, history and tradition is the Hotel San Francisco de Quito, located in a XVII century colonial house, which was restored carefully, keeping all its original details. Our recently renovated rooms are completed equipped with private bathroom, television with cable TV, telephone and permanent hot water. Our spacious common room offers free Internet and WiFi. "Camino Real" Restaurant. Laundry service. Safety boxes. Luggage storage service. It also counts with an inspiring viewpoint "Balcón Quiteño" up to 25 meters high where you can appreciate the beauty of the old and charming city, taking you into a journey through colonial century. We offer single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, also suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Francisco de Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing