We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
154
44
9
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
44
9
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mitad del mundo perched high potato soup every morning shrimp ceviche downtown quito king bed galapagos islands pululahua clouds ecuador airport mindo driver equator andes
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 220 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

Stay away guys.
Let me give you 7 reasons why you should never choose this place
1. El Crater has ZERO security and located in mountains. They have as little staff during nights as 2 people located in a building with a restaurant. In a building we staying right now there is no security at all. Very little light outside and ALWAYS heavy fog in evening and night. Eventhough thats already a perfect place for any crime they don't even bother to install a lock on a main door to the building so it's always open. "Gate" at the entrance has an easy access to any person. You want to feel unsafe in Ecuador? That's probably the best place
2. Rooms not maintained. Seriously. We have two rooms 412 and 413. Both have old and broken furniture. Our coach has a huge hole and in the second room cabinet fell down on my kids.
3. Awful breakfast. Your breakfast will have a glass of orange juice (not fresh), coffee, bread (just bread not any pastry), plate of fruits and little tasteless omelet/scrambled eggs. No beacon, sausages, veggies, cheese, cereals, granola, yogurt and etc. therefore if you like variety that's not a place for you
4. There is no sound and light isolation in that hotel. At all. It means that at 6 am your room will be full of daylight because they have no blackouts to let you rest. You will hear in your room everything going on at your neighbors room. You will hear them walking, dropping things on floor, talking etc. If you are a person who has issues with sleep prepare to stay restless because it's very hard to sleep when you hear all possible sounds from neighbors and outside
5. Don't expect any sort of help if you got sick. My husband had a medical certificate and bunch of medicine from a local doctor. He got sick in Galápagos and we ask for a very little thing to check out us earlier for 1 night with an advance notice. They rejected. No comments on that.
6. El Crater is AWAY from everything. No food, bars, stores nearby. The one and only option for you is a restaurant located at hotel. That's it
7. There is absolutely nothing to do. You can see mountains only a few hours a day. Usually in mornings. After 2 pm there is a lot of fog and no view at all

My advice to you is stay away. The best option is just to come here for 1-2 hours lunch when you visit Minto del Mundo and go back to Quito. I really love JW Marriott in Quito where we stayed for 1 night which has everything you need during your visit for the same price including nice breakfast, perfect location and comfortable room

Adios!

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
3  Thank YuliaK867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

This hotel perched on the rim of a volcanic crater is a beautiful, but somewhat eerie place. The reason for the eeriness is the wind that whips up around the rim of the crater -- great for reading horror stories. The restaurant is fancy, but the service is friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016

This place was great! My wife and I stayed here for the first three nights of our trip to Ecuador. It is a small, quiet property with a beautiful view of the volcano crater (which you could see out the window facing north on one side of the room) On the balcony facing the other direction (south) you can see the equator monument. Property also has a car that will drive you "into town" for $3. "Continental breakfast" is a fruit plate followed by made to order eggs, bacon, etc. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner all three nights as it was so tasty. For the geopolitical nerds like me, it was fascinating that the restaurant had hosted Hugo Chavez, Michelle Batschalet, and Latin leaders. The president of Ecuador hosted a dinner there. It was hard to believe all this given that the property is so small and quiet. As for the rooms, the layout was excellent. We had a sofa and chair in a living room area that was separated by a half wall from the bedroom area. As for the staff, extremely friendly and accommodating. If you looking for a party location, this is not for you. if you are a couple or a family wanting to be close to the equator attractions and have a serene time this is your place. We loved it!

Room Tip: Pay the few dollars extra for the deluxe room. The balcony gives you amazing views
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016

El Crater is an understated, tasteful hotel--it has everything you need, and the architecture, with its traditional Incan influences, blends beautifully with the landscape. The landscape! The crater is incredible, of course, but the evening mist is too.

The best thing about El Crater, though, was the staff. Roberto endured my rudimentary Spanish even over the phone to make our booking, and everyone was very patient with our language skills the whole time. They went out of their way to be accommodating, even arranging us massages in our room at 8pm (the only time we were available) and reminding us about breakfast. Christian and Roberto really are excellent hosts.

Be sure to drink as much fresh-squeezed orange juice as possible, too!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We stayed one night at the El Crater Hotel, at the conclusion of a 7-day Galapagos tour. Prior to that tour, we stayed in another hotel in Quito’s historic district. We must admit that the enjoyment of our stay was somewhat limited by a bit of altitude sickness after returning from a week a sea level. We should have starting taking our altitude sickness medication again before heading back to Quito.

El Crater is a unique property, built like a castle perched at the edge of a volcano. The views are incredible and unique. We would have liked to have spent more time exploring the immediate area, but the altitude was really taking its toll on us.

Beyond the incredible location, there are some limitations and drawbacks to the property. First of all, there are no employees who are fluent in the English language, making the hotel an awkward choice for guests who are not fluent in Spanish. This was made clear when our waiter took our dinner order, but then brought us out a single entree. The restaurant service was highly inattentive, perhaps because the waiter felt uncomfortable with the language barrier. Our room reservation was supposed to include a breakfast buffet, but the breakfast was not a buffet.

Our room, though spacious and offering a commanding view, had its limitations. It was cold, although we were brought additional blankets and another space heater. There were burned out light bulbs, but the response was a shrug of the shoulders. The door lock and key arrangement is VERY awkward. Perhaps most importantly, the acoustics in the hotel are terrible. If a television is on in any other room, if a conversation is taking place in any other room, or if a guest is using the bathroom in any other room, you will hear the noise.

On the grounds, in our room, and in common areas there are many examples of a lack of maintenance. Little things that are broken and waiting for repair. When we arrived at the hotel (in the dark and fog), our driver had a difficult time finding where to check in. Not only is there no conventional hotel lobby (only an office at the bar in the adjacent restaurant), but he was told that the sign had been taken down earlier that day (for repair or repainting) and had not beer replaced. Not a particularly smart decision.

Having stayed in two hotels over the course of two visits to Quito, El Crater – despite its unique characteristics – was our second choice. I really wanted to love this hotel, but I feel that it is not quite up to international standards.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_01039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews