We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, charming, beautiful, spacious, attentive, clean, in an architectural delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Crater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Crater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Funk
Level Contributor
145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Quiet, charming, beautiful, spacious, attentive, clean, in an architectural delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I would have given this place higher ratings but Trip advisor only goes to 5! This hotel is located a half hour North of Quito on the rim of a volcano. If it is good enough for the Presidents of Ecuador,, Chile, and Columbia, Gloria Estefan, and Miss Universe it is good enough for us. None of Quito's noise and smog and a breathtaking view of the lights of the city and the crater on opposite sides of your room. None of the pictures posted do justice to this property. Llamas graze on the ground. Stay here and ask for a room on the top level.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Continent8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    41
    5
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
110
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The first night I stayed at El Crater, I thought to myself, "you should do a TripAdvisor review recommending this hotel for anyone who visits Ecuador." The second time I stayed there, I corrected myself: this hotel should be recommended for anyone who visits *South America*. It's that incredible. I arrived at night the first time, so I didn't have any idea of the surroundings. Imagine then waking up at dawn with that spectacular view out over the Pululahua volcano crater. My second stay was even more stunning -- it was a full moon, and at night the crater was filled with mist which glowed under the moonlight. It was surreally beautiful. The hotel rooms are very large with huge picture windows in both directions. Every room has the same amazing view. The attached restaurant (apparently a favorite of the Ecuadorean president!) served great food, with an emphasis on Ecuadorean specialties. From what I understand they are currently working on a spa attached to the hotel -- that will definitely be an added bonus. And this was fun: owner of the hotel has 3 pet llamas which were wandering about the property. (No, I didn't see them spit at anyone.) The hotel is also just a mile or two away from the Equator monument which is pretty cool too. So my bottom line advice is: make the trip here, you will not regret it!! Not to be missed!

Room Tip: You can't really go wrong, but maybe the view is slightly better on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterjnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A sophisticated and peaceful set of apartments boasting remarkable views. After a week in the enchanting Galapagos we didnt want to end the holiday in polluted and hectic Quioto and didnt want to travel too far from the airport. This hilltop discovery is the solution.

With dramatic views at the foot of the bed, lamas grazing on the lawn and adequate tucker in the restaurant i advise you to take a punt. Who cares if the tv doesnt work !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieboyprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were two couples from Sweden and the US coming to Quito for the first time. Coming up to El Crater in the afternoon and up to our "suites" on the second floor with sweeping views of the valleys on both sides of the room and an incredible sunset is something we'll never forget. We were immediately set up with warm empenadas and wine in our room and then the owner greeted us in the restaurant and later served a great meal, one of the better ones we'd had since coming to Ecuador! The rooms are great, with floor to ceiling picture windows, nice bathrooms, the style is casual elegance. Looking out over the Andes and seing llamas grazing below is an incredibly uplifting experience, add to that the solitude and quiet up there and you know you're among the lucky ones. The location is very close to Mietad del mundo, the equator monument, a taxi is about $5 each way. We booked a tour with Tierra del Fuego to take us down to Old Quito for a half day of sightseing with an english speaking guide, well worth the money as well. I would feel very fortunate to get to come back to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys beautiful views, clean air, good food and comfortable surroundings, while eschewing night clubs, throngs of people, traffic jams and shopping for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suites, they're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I spent two nights at the hotel. This hotel is situated on top of a crater rim overlooking the large valley below. The surrounding area is beautiful and the view from the room is spectacular.
While the location is quite nice, I found the attention from the management quite lacking. I expected the manager of this smaller type businesses to be more engaging. it was not the case. All of the employees tried to be helpful and provide the best service possible. However, it was apparent that the leadership of the management was lacking. Dinner/lunch service was slow and disorganized. The quality of food seemed to be below par. Other than the view, I would not consider returning to this location again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent my first two nights in Ecuador at El Crater and loved it. The hotel is sited beautifully with large windows overlooking the crater from the bedroom side and views of Quito from the other side of the room. This was a perfect place to relax and get used to the altitude once I arrived. They had a special rate through tripadvisor when I booked that included breakfast. Breakfast was very good and in a room with even more spectacular views. The hotel is not near the historic district or other places to see in Quito so the location is not ideal for exploring Quito. However, the location is amazing and well worth a visit. I hiked into the crater, which was a unique experience. The owners were very helpful in figuring out logistics related to the rest of my trip, which I greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

After arriving 3 hours late at 2am, driving in the dark and finally arriving at El Crater, I was met with a kind smile and shown to my lovely room which was very unique and extremely comfortable. I slept like a baby then awoke to the MOST Spectacular views! It's breathtaking! If you fly into Quito, this is the place to stay on your first night. You won't be dissatisfied. The breakfast was very delicious as well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
16.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
14.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#36 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
17.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
14.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Crater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Crater Hotel

Property: El Crater Hotel
Address: Mirador de Pichincha, Quito EC170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Crater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Crater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing