We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, English-speaking hospitality and knowledgeable horesemen with fabulous views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda La Alegria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda La Alegria
Ranked #3 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, English-speaking hospitality and knowledgeable horesemen with fabulous views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

The service was impeccable, friendly, and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were clean, comfortable, large, with beautiful views. The location is convenient to Quito with an isolated, natural, and wonderful views of the valley. Horseback riding experience was engaging, picturesque, and informative for us as novice riders.
The best thing about the Hacienda was the experience of going on an adventure with horses, seeing the views of the countryside with comfortable and luxurious accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missywip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
55
68
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We had ridden only for a few days before we went to La Alegria but within an hour of arriving we were riding out in the interesting surrounding countryside. The next day we rode up The Black Widow mountain above the clouds and by day three gabriel had us cantering. On day four we rode out on a superb, varied trail to another hacienda in the Cloud Forest. The accommodation was beautiful - the view from our room was stunning and we loved the wood burner at night. The horses were excellent - well suited to us. Gabrioel and Paty were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoviceLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsesofcourse
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Our 9 day horse back expedition with Gabriel and stay at La Alegria was absoluetely magical. The hospitality we were greeted with by Gabriel and is wife was amazing. The room was cozy, warm and comfortable. The meals were delicious, fresh and a wonderful represention of the local cuisine. The horses and tack couldn't have been better - sound, well schooled and amazing athletes. Gabriel took great care to match horse to rider and make sure we were all comfortable in the tack. Gabriel is an amazing ambassador for Ecuador and knows so much about the history of the area and the local wildlife. The perfect tour guide! I can only hope that we will have another opportunity some day to visit Gabriel and La Alegria.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsesofcourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

I was lucky enough to stay at the Hacienda La Alegria as part of a press trip around Ecuador. After a 20-hour journey from London on a very shaky 1970s plane, myself and the other journalists were pretty frazzled. But on arriving at the Hacienda, we immediately perked up. The place is beautiful - a stunning, though homely, building jam-packed with character, including roaring fires and eclectic antique furniture. The owners, Gabriel and his wife Paty, couldn’t have welcomed us more warmly, with much-needed local wine and PLENTY of tasty home-cooked organic food. The next morning, we headed out on a horse-trek, and this was one of the best equestrian experiences I’ve ever had. Gabriel, his staff and even the horses themselves are so calm and patient, that even the most novice of us felt safe as we set off through the mountains and forests of Ecuador. And after our day of playing cowboys, we returned to the Hacienda to be met by another table full of irresistible, healthy food. Perfect!
Gabriel and Paty’s Hacienda is luxurious yet relaxed, cosy yet grand, and if you ever get the chance to stay there, and experience the couple’s warmth for yourself, you’ll be thankful you did!

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ZiggySka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

Wake up to breathtaking views of the avenue of the volcanoes from every room.

Personalized equestrian tours ranging from picnics to multiple day excursions (the real "City Slickers" experience

Delightful andean flavors along with international cuisine

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioGaleotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights after a loud experience in Banos and as soon as we turned into the eucalyptus-lined cobblestone drive leading up to the stunning Hacienda la Alegria, we wished we had booked our entire 10-day stay at the Hacienda. We loved it so much, we decided to skip Quito and spend our last two nights at La Alegria for another horseback ride into the gorgeous, lush mountains on Gabriel's beautiful, gentle horses.

We have not been to other Haciendas in Ecuador, but I can't imagine a better experience anywhere in the country. The rooms are top-notch--private, impeccably clean, and luxurious--with views of a volcano, grazing horses and cattle, and the intense green of the Andes. There are flowers everywhere, charming walks around the grounds, and two friendly german shepherds curled at the door of the main house each night.

Gabriel and Paty are wonderful hosts who uphold the tradition of the Hacienda and conscious living and being in the world that are commendable, but never ostentatious or done in any way that feels disingenuous. They are so down to earth that we felt like we were dining with our own family. We miss the quinoa soups and all the hearty, fresh food we were served at each meal.

Our only regret was that we did not have more time to do a ride to Cotopaxi. We had no experience on horses, but with Gabriel's patient instruction and his well-trained horses, we were trotting and cantering in not time at all.

We could have spent weeks there...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyNewYork_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

I went to La Alegria not because I was looking for a hotel close to Quito but because it is the base for beautiful trail rides on good horses around Cotopaxi and the volcano avenue. When I arrived at the end of December 2009, I was surprised to discover that I was the only guest for a 12 day trail adventure. Far from being annoyed by being obliged to organize quite a lot of things for just a single customer, my hosts Paty and Gabriel, did anything they could to make me feel like a highly valued family member. Gabriel acted as my personal and untiring guide during the whole stay. On the other hand, I never felt 'over-serviced' as in some other lodge-type places that I have visited. All helping hands were kind, obliging yet unobtrusive. The accommodation on the hacienda in a comfortable, spacious room proved infinitely much better than in most hotels I know and even included a personal fire place where a fire was lit each evening to fight the evening cold of the Ecuadorian highland. The meals were similarly impeccable. When I finally left to reach an early plane at Quito Airport, my depart was smoothly organized a 4 am in the morning.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank hartman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
21.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
19.3 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#38 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 10 in Machachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Ana
Hacienda Santa Ana
#2 of 24 in Cotopaxi Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Alegria

Property: Hacienda La Alegria
Address: Barrio Rumipamba Aloag | Provincia Pichincha, Quito 171110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda La Alegria 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda La Alegria is a family horse hacienda in the heart of Ecuador's "Avenue of the Volcanoes". We are situated one hour south of the historic colonial city of Quito, the capital of Ecuador. One hour to Cotopaxi National park. One hour to Saquisili Market. Two hours to Quilotoa crater lake. Pasochoa Volcano, Corazon, Viudita and Illinizas volcanoes on the area. One hour to Quito Airport. Explore the dairy operation, milking cows, feeding calves, petting our 4 border collies, Aging cheese cave, 24llamas alpacas and vicuna, rabbits, guinea pig, rose garden, hacienda garden with orchids and old trees, hot tub, two fire place living rooms, wall climbing, fishing trout, making bread, pizza or BBQ at the wood oven, the 9 volcanoes at the valley, enjoy the Cotopaxi with his vapor fumes in the back of Ruminahui Volcano in front of the hacienda. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with a picture perfect view of the country side. Now also available a suite. The food, wine, the beer and cheese are delicious and plentiful. We plan to produce our own cheese with the 1500 liters of milk per day, from our 240 cattle. Learn to Ride, groom, pet, feed, shoe, educate and enjoy our 67 horses. We breed horses and for next year we plan to have 20 new foals. Enjoy the voulting experience, 3 different arenas to start riding or learn, try the wood polo horse, the chagra demonstration, riding games as the Sortijas or Cintas. Choose the multi day rides from one day to 12 day ride at the Andes. All of this makes Hacienda La Alegria a family destiny and a life time experience. The mission of Hacienda la Alegria is to provide high quality horseback riding and eco-tourism adventure along the highest trails of the Volcano avenue at the Ecuadorian Andes, assuring personalized attention and hospitality " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda La Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Alegria Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing