We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable, yet noisy”
Review of Vieja Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vieja Cuba
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A pleasant hotel with nice rooms, which are however a bit small. The staff is very friendly and ready to help. It is located in a quiet and convenient area near Mariscal and close to several coffee-shops and restaurants, as well as to a well provisioned supermarket (Supermaxi). The only inconvenience is that it seems to be popular with schools, and in fact for 3 of the 4 nights that I spent there it lodged school kids who were very noisy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgneseMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 458 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rooms can be variable, some are small, with early morning departures it can be noisy. Wonderfully helpful staff though, and decent breakfasts. We enjoyed our stay (6 nights in total), and the surrounding area has decent restaurants (we walked to and from them in the evening without trouble, some of the security issues in Quito seem overhyped).

Room Tip: Avoid number 7. Rooms 11 and 12 good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbleblowernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location was great (gullivers travels and ecuador freedom bike within walking distance as well as a bunch of great places to eat). Staff let me drop off my bags early in the day and also allowed me to park my rented motorcycle at the last minute. I thought the breakfasts were great and my room (3) was perfect for me.

The main issue I had was with outside noise. I threw some ear plugs in and made it through the nights. The price seemed a little high as well but overall I was happy with this last minute booking.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in early August in room 12. Twin beds (no doubles available), the room was very quaint, wooden furniture but the bathroom was just too small for me. Enough room to stand up and turn between the toilet, sink and shower.

Then we had another night a few days later in room 8. More spacious with a double bed and bunk beds and a slightly bigger bathroom.

I found the linen a bit worn and not overly clean and the towels old and thin.

The breakfasts were pretty ok - juice, fruit, scrambled egg and toast. Or cheese, ham etc.

We stayed as part of an organised group so had no choice of where we stayed - overall, ok for a few nights in transit but wouldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSquaredEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A lovely quaint family run hotel with really friendly staff. It's in a good location, well within walking distance of the main shopping area and the huge covered market. Rooms are a little small but perfectly adequate although it can be a little noisy sometimes during the night. Breakfast was great. As they were fully booked for dinner the 2 nights we stayed there, they were happy to recommend good local alternatives. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a blind on the door all of which have partial frosted glass with lights goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DympnaBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff particularly the waitress at breakfast. The guava marmalade is excellent.
Nothing was too much trouble even when we had to be up at 5am for an early flight and they arranged a good breakfast.
The rooms are very pleasant and clean.
There are plenty of places to eat within easy reach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandali_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had one night here before returning home; I wish we could have stayed longer! Located outside of the busier areas but easy enough to get to, the hotel provides an excellent place to stay. The building is homely and almost rustic but finished very well. The reception staff were incredibly helpful, even ironing my shirt instead bof lending me the iron and board! The room was terrific, although a creaky floorboard and a leaky toilet weren't ideal. However, plenty of storage space and a comfortable bed. We left too early for the proper breakfast but the stuff laid out was spot on, and some of the best coffee we'd had in a hotel. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrIMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 113 in Quito
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.4 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieja Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieja Cuba

Address: Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#11 Family Hotel in Quito
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $56 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieja Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable Vieja Cuba ideally located in Quito in the La Mariscal district, the elegant Hotel Vieja Cuba is a lovely 3-star hotel in the heart of Quito's tourist area, bustling with lively cafes and restaurants, only 6 km/3.72 miles from Mariscal Sucre International Airport. A majestic carefully renovated colonial house, the Hotel Vieja Cuba features 26 rooms with all the services that modern life requires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vieja Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieja Cuba Hotel Quito
Vieja Cuba Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing