We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable & Charming”
Review of Vieja Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vieja Cuba
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable & Charming”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The inn is charming, comfortable, and quirky since it's a retrofitted older building. There is an on-site resto, a lovely little garden for sitting. The staff is always smiling and willing to help, though you will find varying degrees of spoken English. There are sitting areas on every level, wifi, and a guest courtesy computer on level 2.

The breakfast (included with my room) was in a charming cantina that was a little dim but full of ambiance. Breakfast was simple, fresh and tasty - juice, coffee, muslix, yogurt, bread, cheese & ham, eggs, fruit.

I have stayed in rooms 10, 8 & 23. Ten is in the main building and fits 4 persons (2 singles and a bunk) with little room for your luggage but mountain view from the bathroom. Eight is a double bed with a view of the front street, smallish, but comfortable in the main building. Twenty-three is in the other building and was a two-floor room with a bath and single bed on the mail level and a double upstairs. This was my fave room. Note - all rooms were on the upper floors at my request to avoid noise - staircases are narrow but they will help you if you need it. Single glass windows let in cold and noise from the street - take earplugs if this will bother you. Blankets are warm on the beds. There are working safes in each room.

The inn is located in the touristy Mariscal neighbourhood. It is easy and safe walking anywhere in the Mariscal in daylight - 15-20min to the botanic gardens or the craft markets. There is a bell at the locked gate for safety. I stayed here as the launching point for my group-trip in Ecuador and found it to be a perfect starting point. I got the best reservation deal online though booking.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    189
    54
    8
    3
See reviews for
80
147
68
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I brought a group of students to this hotel. It meets my CCS standard of travel with students: Clean, comfortable and safe.
The staff are very friendly, common areas are large enough for a group to meet, and there is a secure gate at the entry way.
Some of the rooms were a little tight, but we hardly spent time in them anyway. The neighborhood was good to walk in, plenty of shops, restaurants and an ATM close by.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are a bit larger, but there is some hallway noise. Rooms off the garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meyers0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, we found the location OK and took several day time walks into the surrounding areas. On a couple of occasions we walked back from the Grand Plaza area, which took about 80 minutes but was quite safe. However, at night times always take a taxi, and be vigilant with personal safety at all times.
Hotel staff were very friendly and really willing to asist regarding directions, taxi bookings, luggage and general issues.
The only negative is that at times we found that we were disturbed by noise from other guests, particularly as the hotel seems to accommodates teenage groups.
Overall we would recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for higher in the building in order to avoid noisy corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here going and returning from the Galapagos. Nice hotel, staff at the front desk very helpful especially since my Spanish language skills are not adequate. Breakfast pretty good and the price for a nights stay (with breakfast included) was very reasonable. As others have said the rooms are a little unique but what the heck, so. am I. The room safes need some attention but staff was helpful when I asked for help. Need a taxi-no problem, they get one right away. Saw a review that said an airport taxi was $8 but that is no where near accurate. $25-$30 is the price range for the new airport but that isn't the hotels problem. Did I feel safe in the neighborhood, yep. But probably would not walk the streets back from a restaurant late at night. But taxis are everywhere and very reasonable (should be with gas at about $1.41/gallon). Would I go back, yes.

A hint for those with only a rudimentary working skill of a foreign language. Before you leave home, print out the hotel name and address to take with you and show the taxi driver. Then agree to a price before you get in the cab. Works really well!!!

Room Tip: Ask for #23. It had a single on the main and a full in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelor2141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights. The hotel is located in a quiet corner and the nightlife of Foch/Reina square is within walking distance. The hotel is small and the rooms are good and clean. During our stay a couple of high school teenagers stayed as well turning the hotel into a noisy schoolplace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Vieja Cuba for two nights before travelling to the Galapagos. The rooms were cute and had a very "homey" feel. Our three children shared a room with four single beds so everyone had their own space. Our biggest problem was the location and the safety. A hotel employee felt he had to accompany us to the coffee shop 1.5 blocks from the hotel. Our tour guide also discouraged us from walking to dinner if we were going to far - even though we were walking to the JW Marriott that was three blocks from the hotel. We walked anyway on a busy street and felt fine. The hotel is situated near the bar scene and thus it was very noisy for most of the night...cars honking, music playing, and lots of city noise. There wasn't much insulation from the noise of the streets. The breakfast was adequate and the decor is very authentic. I probably wouldn't stay here again and would choose a hotel near the Old Town instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We chose this B&B strictly on previous Trip Advisor reviews. They have never steered us wrong!! Thanks reviewers! :)) We went to submit papers for our permanent retirement visa. Turned out the office was only five blocks away, which was strictly luck! Cute place the Viejo Cuba, staff was great. We stayed just the one night in #18, in the side court. Quiet except for a barking dog, he slept then we slept! We had no wash cloth and asked but they did not understand. We also asked for an extra pillow, which came quickly. We always pack an extra wash cloth except for this trip! All n all the value is good n safe to walk area, but lots of traffic as seems to be norm in Quito. We ate at Sebastian Hotel for dinner, four block walk. Nice place and reasonable, just looks expensive!! Careful walking sidewalks are a bit crooked, here n there.
This B&B has a very lovely breakfast and sitting area to enjoy too, even for wine in the evening. That you pay for. Enjoy your journey!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiznWon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 110 in Quito
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 110 in Quito
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#7 of 110 in Quito
1,165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#1 of 110 in Quito
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieja Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieja Cuba

Property: Vieja Cuba
Address: Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#19 Family Hotel in Quito
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieja Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable Vieja Cuba ideally located in Quito in the La Mariscal district, the elegant Hotel Vieja Cuba is a lovely 3-star hotel in the heart of Quito's tourist area, bustling with lively cafes and restaurants, only 6 km/3.72 miles from Mariscal Sucre International Airport. A majestic carefully renovated colonial house, the Hotel Vieja Cuba features 26 rooms with all the services that modern life requires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vieja Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieja Cuba Hotel Quito
Vieja Cuba Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing