We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming respite in Quito”
Review of Vieja Cuba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vieja Cuba
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here in for one night on our way to Cuenca and found it to be a lovely interlude in our travels. The rooms are small but more than adequate, clean, with good wifi. The breakfast was great with eggs to order, fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice-tree tomato or kiwi, and excellent strong coffee.

The building is three stories with many fascinating nooks and kranies. We didn't stay for dinner but the restuarant looks inviting.

Transfer from the downtown Quito airport was $12.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W4558SWchristopherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Vieja Cuba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 450 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Expect nothing fancy but a very cozy mountain colonial little gem in the middle of the city. Small rooms and bathrooms, but very clean and impeccable. Since is a small hotel, the service is extremely nice and attentive to anything you need. Breakfast incredibly good, and the coffee is addictive. Maybe the kitchen hours is an inconvenience for most travelers, but since everything else is so nice, well, really don't mind to go out for lunch or dinner. Wifi great! Definitely coming back! Well, I still have 2 more nights to enjoy!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Alcazareo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Vieja Cuba was our second hostal to stay in at Quito. The rooms are very nicely appointed with a clean modern bathroom. We did not experience what I'd call good service here, but it was adequate. They advertise a pizza restaurant for dinner however when we went there we were advised they had no pizzas! We got the feeling that the restaurant was or had failed, and as there are many restaurants around the hostal we could see why. Their internet had a good signal and we always seemed to find it available when we needed it. The property is easy walking distance from the main shopping areas and there is a fantastic steak restaurant just down the road about 3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Difficult to rate this hotel as we stayed here twice - one night each, before we went to the Galapagos and when we got back. Two very different room experiences.

First room - #7 - Tiny room with a double bed and a bunk bed that was obviously a big after thought. (We only needed a double bed for the two of us). Bunk bed was too high for the light fixture which it knocked out of the way, and it cut off half of a painting hanging on the wall. The shower curtain had mold on it.

Room #2 - I think #11. Top floor. What a difference! They gave us a very big duplex room with beautiful wrought iron staircase leading up to the loft/bedroom. Bottom level had a couch, chairs, etc. No mold anywhere in bathroom.

The amazing thing is that we paid exactly the same for both these rooms. (about $65).

Breakfast was good and the women who carried our luggage up to the top floor were amazingly strong.

So, which room you could get definitely determine how you feel about your stay. We don't really understand why we were given such different quality rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DianeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Vieja Cuba for 3 nights in July on our first trip to Ecuador. It is located in a nice, quiet, clean and safe area in Quito. We made reservations through the phone and were guaranteed a room without need of a credit card. Pick up from the airport, which was arranged by the hotel, cost us $20. We were greeted by our driver at the arrival area and he helped us with our luggages. He drove a mini van and the drive from the airport to the hotel at night took about 15 minutes and cash payment was given directly to our driver. While killing time at the airport, we learned from speaking with locals that the most a taxi ride would cost is $6 even at night, but since it was our first time in Quito, for safety's sake and given our arrival time was 730 PM (plus 2 hours wait at immigration line meant we left the airport at 930 PM), we shrugged off the $20 price we were quoted in advance by the hotel. Of course, we wised up the early morning we left Quito and asked the hotel staff to call a taxi for us and paid $8 from hotel to the airport. Note that some hotels we contacted in the area will charge only $10 or arrange free airport transfers, so the choice is ultimately up to you. My husband, daughter and I stayed in Room #17, ground floor, which had a double bed and twin bed. The room had hardwood floors and was very clean. Our mattress was too firm and not as comfortable as we would have wanted it and the pillows were too soft (lacked stuffing), but the clean sheets and blankets made up for it. The twin mattress our daughter was using was hard and felt like a table rather than a bed and didn't have even one pillow (she had to use the neck pillow we brought as her head pillow and gave her one of our pillows, too). Arriving that late at night, we were too exhausted to leave the room and request a pillow. The bathroom was kept clean daily and had a small sink, good-working toilet and hot water for showering. We wished their towels were thicker or longer. We wished they also supplied us with three towels. I think a good hotel should always keep in mind the number of guests in each room (e.g. 3 guests=3 towels, not 2 small towels!). Also, on our last night, we did finally get 3 towels, but the third towel looked like a used rag. We noticed that the towel was similar to the foot towel on the floor, but even if it was placed by mistake, it had brown stains that grossed us out. We got home late at night from our tours that we were too tired to even bring up the issue with the manager (We do have pictures to prove it, however). When we traveled in mid July, the outside temperature was in the 60s/70s, so the room temperature felt cool and comfortable and air conditioning is not necessary. There is a small, portable heater provided in the room, if needed. Also included is free internet, TV and a small sized safe. One thing that is special about this hotel is its restaurant staff who were pleasant, courteous and friendly. Every morning, we were greeted with a happy face by more than one staff member and the conversations and laughter we heard among them as they worked gave us a light and warm feeling start to our day. Breakfast was simple, but enjoyable. American breakfast consisted of: 2 eggs (cooked according to your preference), ham and cheese, fresh yogurt and granola (delicious), fresh fruit juice and fruits, coffee/tea, and toasted bread/butter. The dining area is spacious and nicely decorated. Taxi from hotel to the areas around town cost $2. There is a grocery store and pharmacy at walking distance. Check out was easy and we used a credit card for payment. I am rating this hotel 3 out of 5 because of its uncomfortable beds, lack of good pillows, pricey airport transfer and the one stained bath towel on our last night (how I wish this never occurred). Nevertheless, Vieja Cuba also deserves to be complimented for its hospitable staff, delicious food, clean surroundings and safety.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lovelyjuly97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Vieja Cuba for one night before and one night after my eight day cruise to the Galapagos. It is an old house which is now run as a hotel and has very charming details and a good location. .The staff was very friendly. The breakfast both days was wonderful. The second night we stayed in room 11 which was large (two levels) bright and had a lovely balcony. I really liked this hotel and would recommend it for anyone visiting Quito.

Room Tip: Room 11 was amazing with a loft for a bedroom and a small balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGuyBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Vieja Cuba. It is a very charming hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We also had a wonderful breakfast every morning. We liked the hotel very much. We recommed this hotel for your stay in Quito.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#9 of 112 in Quito
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 112 in Quito
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
2.5 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 112 in Quito
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vieja Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vieja Cuba

Address: Diego de Almagro 1212 and La Nina Quito | New Town, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#19 Family Hotel in Quito
#28 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $58 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vieja Cuba 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable Vieja Cuba ideally located in Quito in the La Mariscal district, the elegant Hotel Vieja Cuba is a lovely 3-star hotel in the heart of Quito's tourist area, bustling with lively cafes and restaurants, only 6 km/3.72 miles from Mariscal Sucre International Airport. A majestic carefully renovated colonial house, the Hotel Vieja Cuba features 26 rooms with all the services that modern life requires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vieja Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vieja Cuba Hotel Quito
Vieja Cuba Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing