We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good economical stay”
Review of Hotel Barnard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Barnard
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hotel because it was comfortable and a very reasonable price. The only problem is noise if you have a room facing the street, so ask for one not facing the street. The food was good too and the staff was friendly and helpful, although not all could speak English.

Room Tip: Get room away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WFrank60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barnard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 107 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel was fine but the location was terrible. To much traffic and no where for a taxi to pull over and pick you up. The room was nice and the breakfast was free and very good. Staff could not speak English very well!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Barnard Hotel- what can i say. It was not terrible, but it was definitely not a place I would return to stay. I stayed in this hotel for ten days with my family and wanted to change after 2 days.

CONS:
- next to a busy road. You literally step out of the hotel into smog and honking.
- on one side of the hotel, there is loud construction work, on the other side, is the noisy road. Lose- lose situation (though it was noted the staff was super nice in changing rooms..)
- our first hotel room had a blocked drain. imagine a small hotel room with the scent of poop...
- we asked for a wake up call for 7am ..no call.
- the staff does not speak any english (though my family could speak spanish, i couldn't).
- we booked a city tour, paid, only to turn up and have no reservations. we managed to call the hotel and complain and got on the tour but it was really painful.
- staff- there were two restaurant staff who were terrible. In the morning, the breakfast buffets would often be empty, with no food, the tables were not set, you had to shout and wave for coffee.
- fresh towels only come at 2pm!if you return to your room before then, too bad!
- the hot water took a long time (think 15 minutes) to heat up in the first room.

PROS:
- the other half of the staff were super friendly and helpful- booking taxis, suggesting places to go, at the restaurant.
- the restaurant was flexible and would add or cook something when requested.
- the location was good enough for sight seeing.

SO-SO:
the price. I am sure if the family wasn't so rushed, we could have done better. the price was roughly $100 a night.

All in all. Before you book this hotel. Seriously. Hunt around more. I did read reviews of this hotel before we booked (thinking it would be ok), but i think the reviews were accurate but super generous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InternationalPillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Barnard for 10 days in May and found it to be comfortable, safe, and close to the restaurants in the Mariscal. Rooms are large, many with bathtubs. Hot water not a problem. Ask for the buffet breakfast which offers fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, a breakfast meat, 2 juices, breads, coffee, and tea. If you are an American they may offer you the American breakfast but the buffet provides more options. Service was always excellent with concerns being dealt with immediately. It is on a busy street so request a room away from the street. I'll be returning to Quito next spring and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The service was very pleasant and the room was extremely clean. The room was larger than most hotel rooms, the beds were comfortable and it was an overall great place. The traffic outside during the day is heavy but quiet at night and we heard no sirens during the time we were there.

Room Tip: It is only a few blocks from Parque El Ejido and close enough by taxi to Mariscal where the clubs ar...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimjam61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I arranged a nights stay in the Barnard Hotel for my daughter after 5 weeks travelling around Ecuador. This was by a long way the very worst experience of her trip, with the $3 a night hostels she stayed in on occasion coming out better.

When she arrived, the receptionist denied she had a reservation, even when she presented the confirmation. They refused to let her call the reservations office for over an hour before conceding. Upon finally realising that she did indeed have a reservation, she was put in a standard room, not the superior room I paid for. No apology. She was told they did not do airport transfers, even though it is on their website (one of the reasons I chose this hotel).

She ordered a wake up call and a taxi, and arranged for a packed breakfast, as she was departing before standard service started. No wake up call, no breakfast, the taxi cost 300% over what she was told.

We tried to call her room to ensure she was up and the reception just put the phone down (6 times).

And as for the way they looked at her because she carried a backpack, think of Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman on Beverley Hills Boulevard.

Absolutely the pits.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayleb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel is great however it is right across the street from a major hospital. The sirens were a definite sleep killer. Excellent food, service, staff and room. If the noise isn't a concern it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revisioncc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 112 in Quito
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inca Imperial
Hotel Inca Imperial
#70 of 112 in Quito
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 112 in Quito
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tambo Real Hotel
Tambo Real Hotel
#57 of 112 in Quito
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#63 of 112 in Quito
93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#36 of 112 in Quito
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barnard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barnard

Address: Queseras Del Medio E11-205 | (Frente al Hospital Militar), Quito 170525, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Price Range: $63 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Barnard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the northern center of Quito, just 5 minutes from the "Casa de la Cultura Benjamin Carrion", a few steps from the Coliseum "General Ruminahui" Catholic University and National Polytechnic School and 15 minutes from the Convention Center "Eugenio Espejo", "Crystal Palace - Itchimbia" and "Plaza Foch". Barnard Hotel is located 40 km away from the new airport Mariscal Sucre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Barnard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing