We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Patio Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Pros: Very friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. They're absolutely fantastic. Location - two blocks from Plaza Grande and all the old town sites. Beautiful common areas, lots of places to sit and relax. Large, clean room with no noise from street whatsoever. Free wifi for internet. Great breakfast - fresh local fruit, cereal, eggs made however you want them. Dinner was moderately priced, tasty, and with a menu including many favorite local dishes. Despite specific quips in my cons section below I wholeheartedly recommend this place. I would gladly stay here again should I visit Quito once more.

Cons: Limited counter space in the bathroom - impossible to fit extra towels, glasses and our toiletries on it. Can hear water - toilet flushing or tub draining - from room above. Also sound issues with doors and windows facing the interior patio area. Easy to hear various nocturnal happenings, so to speak, when walking by. Bar closed and no alcohol served on Sundays. Recorded owl, songbird, and frog calls from lower level in evenings cheapen the atmosphere ... but that's just IMO.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillStickers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    370
    66
    22
    8
See reviews for
248
513
76
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

Gorgeous hotel steeped in history, including staff dressed in period clothing. Courteous and helpful staff, delicious food, large comfortable rooms, tons of atmosphere. Restaurant is excellent. First night in room 301 was outstanding. Next stay in room 223 was a little stuffy. Easy and safe walking to tourist destinations, presidential palace, ancient churches and basilica. Friendly residents. Bar made delicious fresh drinks. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamHartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the Old City of Quito. Interesting colonial courtyard building but avoid the front rooms, which are gloomy and have a spiral staircase up to the bed which is not good if you are at all disabled (or just older and unsteady on your feet). Loose rugs don't help, either. The back rooms are fine, although there were strange noises in the night, the source of which which we couldn't trace. The service was very friendly but slightly erratic - you didn't often get what you asked for in the bar or the restaurant! Interesting. Exceptionally clean. Restaurant food excellent quality and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

No elevator but no problem. Beautifully polished wooden floors and stairs make this charming hotel warm and cozy. Our room #209 had a second story with a beautiful staircase. The wood was so polished they were actually a little dangerous. The furniture, oriental rugs and linens all added to the charm and elegance. Our biggest disappointment was the wireless. It was available but we were unable to connect in our room. We were able to connect in the common areas. The main square was 2 blocks away. La Ronda was only a few blocks away as well. The airport was about 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0ingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hotel, staff and food were all wonderful. Great central/Old Town location. In house restaurant was fantastic. Room was gorgeous, and building has amazing character and history. Would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diverman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We wanted to stay in the historic centre of Quito for ease of access to the sights, and the ambience, and, having looked at the various options, this hotel was really our only candidate. We were delighted with it, though: it's full of charm, fantastically close to the centre (c 100 metres from the Plaza Grande), and offers great service. The staff are very friendly and helpful (although occasionally Reception can be smile-free), and it has everything you need during your stay, including wifi throughout, or a PC and printer in a quiet area in case of need, and a good restaurant serving substantial breakfasts and good Ecuadorian dinners if you're nervous about heading into the centre after dark or just fancy a night in.

We stayed in two different rooms, at the beginning and end of our Galapagos trip: 107 (a standard room), which had no external window but lots of light from the second of the hotel's courtyards, and 204 (a suite), which had a lounge downstairs, and a bedroom and bathroom in a mezzanine above. On balance, we preferred room 107, as it had more circulation space where it mattered, and the bed was very comfortable (and wide - it was made up with three pillows in a row...); the bed in room 204 was atrocious (very creaky and unsteady).

Each room has a safe, and there's a good laundry service. You can leave bags with the hotel between stays, and there's always someone around to assist with taxis, early check-outs, etc.

We had to run some errands in the Mariscal district during our stay, and that just reinforced that we'd made the right decision staying in the older part of the city. We found the historic centre to be safe, attractive, and full of things to do/places to eat. A great trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snappers_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the Patio Andaluz on a tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos with Furlongs Travel in October. Richard & Dawn Furlong do their researche carefully before selecting a hotel, and the Patio Andaluz exceeded our expectations. The hotel is charming, in an old colonial buiding full of character, with many interesting corners and features, including a well-stocked library and an indoor terrace with hammocks and loungers. The rooms are huge - ours was on 2 levels, with a spiral staircase leading to a second sleeping area and the en-suite bathroom upstairs. It was well equipped, with a safe, TV, etc, but we were so busy on the tour we didn't spend a great deal of time in it. (One work of warning - the wooden floors are polished like glass , so don't try walking around in socks, especially up the stairs!)

The hotel staff were charming. We had 2 minor maintenance problems while we were there, both of which were attended to within minutes of our reporting them. The food is good and varied, though the restaurant service, especially at breakfast, can be a little erratic. The staff on the front desk are charming and very helpful, and the little gift shop has some exquisite (if rather expensive) gifts.

The hotel is a great place from which to explore the interesting colonial city of Quito on foot. You can walk to the main square in about two minutes, and from there, the old city spreads in every direction. There are also some interesting narrow streets around the hotel itself, but watch out for the traffic!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and had a number of excursions from the city. We went up in the cablecar, but unfortunately the clouds had rolled in and we saw little, so don't go up on a cloudy day. The Theatrum restaurant was also a fabulous place to eat - another of Richard's finds.

If you are thinking of travelling to Ecuador and the Galapgos, I would highly recommend having a chat with the Furlongs. They are a charming couple, and provided us with some of the best travel experiences we have ever had in over 30 years of globetrotting. They are not the cheapest, but they do provide outstanding value for money, and travelling to this fascinating area of the World with them is hugely rewarding.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Property: Hotel Patio Andaluz
Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing