We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Nearby Hotels
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$81
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reina Isabel(Quito)
$72
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieja Cuba(Quito)
$67
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveler rating
761
429
76
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
429
76
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townbathroom upstairsthe main squarespiral staircasetwo storybeautiful hotelceiling fanopen courtyardpresidential palacecentral courtyardindependence squarecolonial styletwo floorsgrand plazahistoric quitoold world charmwelcome drink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,064 - 1,069 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the Old City of Quito. Interesting colonial courtyard building but avoid the front rooms, which are gloomy and have a spiral staircase up to the bed which is not good if you are at all disabled (or just older and unsteady on your feet). Loose rugs don't help, either. The back rooms are fine, although there were strange noises in the night, the source of which which we couldn't trace. The service was very friendly but slightly erratic - you didn't often get what you asked for in the bar or the restaurant! Interesting. Exceptionally clean. Restaurant food excellent quality and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

No elevator but no problem. Beautifully polished wooden floors and stairs make this charming hotel warm and cozy. Our room #209 had a second story with a beautiful staircase. The wood was so polished they were actually a little dangerous. The furniture, oriental rugs and linens all added to the charm and elegance. Our biggest disappointment was the wireless. It was available but we were unable to connect in our room. We were able to connect in the common areas. The main square was 2 blocks away. La Ronda was only a few blocks away as well. The airport was about 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G0ingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hotel, staff and food were all wonderful. Great central/Old Town location. In house restaurant was fantastic. Room was gorgeous, and building has amazing character and history. Would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We wanted to stay in the historic centre of Quito for ease of access to the sights, and the ambience, and, having looked at the various options, this hotel was really our only candidate. We were delighted with it, though: it's full of charm, fantastically close to the centre (c 100 metres from the Plaza Grande), and offers great service. The staff are very friendly and helpful (although occasionally Reception can be smile-free), and it has everything you need during your stay, including wifi throughout, or a PC and printer in a quiet area in case of need, and a good restaurant serving substantial breakfasts and good Ecuadorian dinners if you're nervous about heading into the centre after dark or just fancy a night in.

We stayed in two different rooms, at the beginning and end of our Galapagos trip: 107 (a standard room), which had no external window but lots of light from the second of the hotel's courtyards, and 204 (a suite), which had a lounge downstairs, and a bedroom and bathroom in a mezzanine above. On balance, we preferred room 107, as it had more circulation space where it mattered, and the bed was very comfortable (and wide - it was made up with three pillows in a row...); the bed in room 204 was atrocious (very creaky and unsteady).

Each room has a safe, and there's a good laundry service. You can leave bags with the hotel between stays, and there's always someone around to assist with taxis, early check-outs, etc.

We had to run some errands in the Mariscal district during our stay, and that just reinforced that we'd made the right decision staying in the older part of the city. We found the historic centre to be safe, attractive, and full of things to do/places to eat. A great trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snappers_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at the Patio Andaluz on a tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos with Furlongs Travel in October. Richard & Dawn Furlong do their researche carefully before selecting a hotel, and the Patio Andaluz exceeded our expectations. The hotel is charming, in an old colonial buiding full of character, with many interesting corners and features, including a well-stocked library and an indoor terrace with hammocks and loungers. The rooms are huge - ours was on 2 levels, with a spiral staircase leading to a second sleeping area and the en-suite bathroom upstairs. It was well equipped, with a safe, TV, etc, but we were so busy on the tour we didn't spend a great deal of time in it. (One work of warning - the wooden floors are polished like glass , so don't try walking around in socks, especially up the stairs!)

The hotel staff were charming. We had 2 minor maintenance problems while we were there, both of which were attended to within minutes of our reporting them. The food is good and varied, though the restaurant service, especially at breakfast, can be a little erratic. The staff on the front desk are charming and very helpful, and the little gift shop has some exquisite (if rather expensive) gifts.

The hotel is a great place from which to explore the interesting colonial city of Quito on foot. You can walk to the main square in about two minutes, and from there, the old city spreads in every direction. There are also some interesting narrow streets around the hotel itself, but watch out for the traffic!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and had a number of excursions from the city. We went up in the cablecar, but unfortunately the clouds had rolled in and we saw little, so don't go up on a cloudy day. The Theatrum restaurant was also a fabulous place to eat - another of Richard's finds.

If you are thinking of travelling to Ecuador and the Galapgos, I would highly recommend having a chat with the Furlongs. They are a charming couple, and provided us with some of the best travel experiences we have ever had in over 30 years of globetrotting. They are not the cheapest, but they do provide outstanding value for money, and travelling to this fascinating area of the World with them is hugely rewarding.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews