We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel in Old Town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Hotel Patio Andaluz is a decent hotel. It's located conveniently for exploring Old Town. The room we had was a bit gloomy, but we didn't mind because we were only going to be there two days and we spent most of that time outside. The layout of our room was loft style with a sitting area downstairs. The bed area and bathroom were located up spiral staircase.

Our room had windows facing outside. The traffic can be a bit noisy early in the morning, so bring ear plugs.

The hotel food was 'okay'. Nothing too special. A grocery store is located right next door, so it's easy to shop for snacks.

The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke English. Check in was a breeze even with us arriving at 11pm at night. They also helped us book a tour of Old Town and a tram ride up into the Andes to get a city view.

Old Town itself and the surrounding area can be a bit intimidating at night without a guide. No one lives in Old Town so once the businesses close for the evening it looks like a unsafe ghost town. Just make sure you have a guide with you while walking around - especially for the night tours.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2010

Only stay here if you are sure of getting a room with an external window. The rooms that face into the internal (covered) courtyard are dark, stuffy and sometimes hot beyond belief. Noisy too, either from the diners/entertainment or from the rattling bathroom fans.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank portinfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We have just returned from a total of 8 nights in this lovely hotel in the centre of the old city.The hotel is quiet and is built around a central courtyard which is the dining area. Tea ,coffee plus the internet are available at no extra charge.The rooms are large and comfortably furnished. We had booked a standard room but were given superior ones on two of our return visits.The staff are polite and accommodating. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to those not wanting an exciting and noisey nightlife!
Mamma Clorinda's restaurant in the new part of Quito is well worth a visit for genuine Ecuadorian food

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a good choice for those who want to stay in the old quarter of Quito. You’re paying for the location here – the rooms aren’t particularly high standard, but they’re ok. Some of the rooms only have internal windows though so if booking try to get an external window room. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was good. If you want to stay in a mid range hotel in the old quarter this is a good option.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyD74NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Patio Andaluz in the Old Historic Centre of Quito. Being the fourth hotel and coming at the end of a month-long trip it had a lot to live up to. Unfortunately, it didn’t.

The location could not be improved on - easy walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were courteous and helpful. Unfortunately, the restaurant was mediocre at best and the service slow.

The rooms were not up to mark. They opened on to the internal courtyard but the windows are sealed shut. You must keep your curtains drawn at all times as there is no privacy from people walking past. As the rooms are not air conditioned, it was very warm and we had to ask for a fan - which was quickly delivered to our room but was not much help - and we ended up leaving our door open at night. I know there are better rooms in this hotel, and we asked to move (we didn’t mind paying more) but this was not possible while we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ysenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

A quite lovely hotel near the main square. Beautiful room, and we were well looked after. The food was excellent and the whole aspect of the hotel was charming and felt real ... very historic. My absolute joy was hearing Trio Santino ... and, if I am right about the name, especially listening to Juan Carlos Sarango play lead or first guitar ... he was brilliant!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnjomckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Patio Andaluz is a great hotel. It is located in the heart of the old colonial part of the city, which is where all the best sights are and much more interesting than the horrible new town.

The hotel is based around 2 inner courtyards, 1 of which is the restaurant where excellent food is served throughout the day.

I've heard that there are rooms without windows so we specifically asked for one with windows and we got a fantastic room with a double aspect with one side looking straight at the gothic style basilica.

The decor is wonderful with wooden furnishings throughout. The bathroom had a funky shower cubicle with lots of buttons which we weren't entirely sure how to operate. Bathroom is on the small side, but it has everything you need.

The entire hotel is spotless and as we were on the top floor we had less road noise - which is almost unavoidable in Quito.

The service was very good from start to finish. Courteous and extremely willing to help. I would definitely stay here again if I ever went back to Quito.

Finally, they serve the best Aji in Ecuador!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving all the time our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.2 mi away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
289 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#8 of 113 in Quito
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $172 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing