We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Colonial Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Our last night in Ecuador, I wanted a fabulous place to retreat to, and this was it! The history of the building is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, and afford a ceiling fan for ventilation as at least ours did not have a window which opened. The bathroom was very clean, and for once a hotel in Ecuador had the promised "agua caliente."

The common areas of the hotel are beautifully appointed and one can find a quiet spot to read a book, play chess and otherwise relax, while awaiting a late plane home.

The buffet breakfast had quite a variety (though was quite pricey) but very filling.

I would highly recommend this hotel to retreat from the chaos of noise on the streets of Quito.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor room was great but appeared a bit more dated than the lower level rooms, but we liked...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravlJini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Many thanks for your review of Hotel Patio Andaluz following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read about your experience.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,182)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Patio Andaluz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is a little different but has a ton of character, Our room had three levels with an outside private patio the first level is the bedroom second living room and bathroom and a step up to the patio. The staff all spoke English and were very friendly and helpful. The only bad thing I could say is that breakfast was $15 which we didn't buy because there are so many great cheap places to eat breakfast close by. We were charged for coffee in the mornings some time and not others but hey I still loved the place. Its about a 5 minute walk to the old town square and close to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stukiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel Patio Andaluz. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

lovely place, spacious rooms in the suites. Excellent selection of food and excellent service. 24hour doormen. Choice of shared rooms to explore, and a nice shop. All attendents spoke English. Phone service. The Internet was slow and difficult on the public computers but fine on personal devices. It's an hour or so from the airport but taxis are readily available except at rush hour. I would recommend this to anyone who can afford old town and go to Patio Andaluz again next time I am in Ecuador.

Room Tip: Ask for 204 and 205 if you don't mind an upstairs bath and bedroom.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marysam365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Patio andaluz. We thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our team is always striving towards excellence. Such feedback will motivate us further.

We have changed our internet provider stating March of this year.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

At first sight on the street there is nothing special about this place, especially if you arrive after all the area shops have closed. But as soon as you walk into the lobby you are taken into "your special place". The hotel is lovely and bright with a very open, relaxed feel.
We traveled with friends and found many places within the hotel to sit as a group and visit - and even sit down at the chess tables to play. A lovely library had lots of information about the city and county, including the Galapagos.
It is in the heart of old Quito so we could walk nearly anywhere we wanted and were very safe. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and there was always someone available for questions or assistance.
The hotel is 500 years old so one must recognize some limitations. in this case it was the wound of the water pipes, but it is still worth staying here,

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel Patio Andaluz. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Everything was good at this hotel. We stayed two nights. I really like the layout and the restoration of this building. The hotel fits very well with the rest of Old Quito. From this location it is a short walk to see and experience a lot of the history and architecture of Quito.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Patio andaluz. We thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our team is always striving towards excellence. Such feedback will motivate us further.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

A very charming hotel, well located at the old town, and indeed very quiet. The staff are very good, helpful, breakfast is also good with variety of local fruits which we very much enjoyed. The internet worked from time to time..The only issue we had was the windows cannot be opened, and our room was like a fish bowl, we have window glasses surrounding the room, and anyone passing by the corridor can see the room if curtains are not closed. We requested another room were we can open the windows, but was told that all their rooms are the same! Otherwise, we survived but the issue of windows was never mentioned by anyone in their comments..another things which we find a bit sad, there is no elevator, we have to climb the stairs which is ok without any luggage, but the poor porters I really feel so bad for them! I do hope management will take this issue, if they cannot install an elevator, they can do a ramp to make it easier for the porters.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelaida Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,
Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I only stayed for one night in this hotel, but I had great service, the staff was superb. It is a very different city compared to coastal cities, Quito is in height. The traveler has to have the body ready for weather changes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marvin--P000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience at Hotel Patio Andaluz. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and you come back soon,

Sincerely,

Francisco Baca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 112 in Quito
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 112 in Quito
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $141 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing