We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your room out first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had 2 stays at this hotel a few days apart which were very different experiences .When we first arrived very tired after London-Madrid-Quito flight and long airport transfer we were very tired .We were given room 217 ( I think ) .It was up a spiral staircase was very small but worst of all it didn't have an external window .It had a curtained window in to the upstairs inner lobby area and we found it very claustrophobic .The next morning there was no hot water so i ended uo shaving in cold water-not a pleasant experience !
On our return I complained about the first room and to be fair to the hotel they showed me 2 alternative rooms .One room was on 2 levels with a double bed downstairs and one upstairs .The other one we took was a large double room which again had an internal window in to the internal atrium area but at least it wasn't as gloomy as the room on our first visit .
We only had breakfast in the hotel which was perfectly adequate .The staff all seemed friendly and helpful

Room Tip: try to insist on looking at the room first
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director Comercial at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Patio Andaluz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed total of 3 nights first night just overnight and then 2 nights on return. Lovely room on the front with an upstairs bedroom and ensuite. Breakfast quite good but the high altitude doesn't help you eating habits, can't blame hotel for that. Dinner was also very good but there are plenty of eating places close by. Staff very helpful, we had a problem with our taxi pick ups from the airport and hotel but they sorted out for us. Close to old town centre and the churches museums etc, basilica can be seen from outside front door approx 20 minutes walk. In all highly recommended

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NottinghamshireDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director Comercial at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We walked by this beautiful space while wandering in the Old Section & decided to eat because it looked so great. Unfortunately, the food was bland & nothing special. The real kicker came at the end when we asked to split the meal straight down the middle with another couple. Surely, this can't be an unusual request & yet it threw our waitress and later the front desk into a tizzy. The confusion on the part of the staff caused us to miss an appointment. I can't comment on the lodgings but cannot recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director Comercial at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 4 nights (3 separate visits). It was right in the centre - 2 minutes walk to the main square - the staff were really good - great laundry service and the food good - althought lots of great eating places nearby. Rooms large and spacious BUT we were in 220 which seems to adjoin a local laundry - lots of noise and a smell of tobacco smoke all night. We asked for a change and next 2 visits we were allocated 209 which was great - more a suite than a room. The staff seemed aware of the problem of 220/221. All I can advise is that the hotel is great - simply avoid rooms on the same wall as 220

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director Comercial at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here twice in February 2013, for a couple of days before our Galapagos tour and then for a couple of days more after. The location cannot be beat. It is only a couple of blocks from the main square in the historic area of Quito.
When we stayed here the first time we had a very nice room on the main floor. The breakfast was OK. We later found that they will cook eggs upon request but they don't seem to let anyone know. We had dinner there and that was fine too. The water is safe to drink which was good news.
When we returned the second time we were "upgraded" to a suite. We were very unhappy with this room. The bedroom was on a lower floor and the bathroom and livingroom were upstairs.
You had to climb a fairly steep curved staircase and the really bad part was if you had to use the washroom during the night the light over the stairs was connected to the overhead bedroom light.
Without the light it was difficult to see and if you turned it on the other person in the bed was definitely disturbed. We were very unhappy with the room and the "kids" on the desk told us basically "too bad. It is the only room available".
We ordered some ice and waited over an hour and it still had not arrived. When we called the desk the young girl basically yelled at us and said "It is not my fault", as though we cared if it was her fault or the kitchen's. We just wanted ice.
The last night we were there was Sunday and as many restaurants were closed we ended up eating in their restaurant again. No problem with the food and the prices were reasonable and the service was good.
When we checked out the next morning after a night of practically crawling up and down the stairs in the dark, I made a point of mentioning the issues with the room again and that the light should be changed. I also filled in the feedback card. The young girl on the desk basically shrugged, as though flirting with the young porters had more interest in her than my feedback. There was no box for the card and so I don't know if management ever got to see it. She said she would look after it.
The attitude of the front desk personnel was terrible.
Would I stay in this hotel again if I returned to Quito? Very possibly because of the fantastic location.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a suite with the bedroom downstairs and bath upstairs. Room 207 was our...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director Comercial at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel is the oldest house in Quito, from the 1500s. That means you are living and breathing history, a privilege. Personnel is super helpful. Amazing restaurant in a beautiful patio. Best of all is its location, 2 blocks from the Presidential Palace (that guarantees safety as well, the whole area is constantly patrolled by friendly policemen).
Now, this is not a chain hotel, you won't find a fitness center or a pool and the rooms are a bit noisy in the evening until dinner is over as most of them overlook the central patio. But to me it's worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank design_and_comfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel is in the heart of the Old Town, which means that you can get around very easily on foot to a lot of the main sites, and get reasonably priced taxi's for further afield. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The restaurant was great. Rooms were just lovely. And all the little nooks and crannies in the hotel made this a wonderful place to stay - lots of areas of reading in quiet, or having a drink etc.
We staid for business, and wifi worked a dream. Would definitely come back here for a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director Comercial at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3.2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#7 of 112 in Quito
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 112 in Quito
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N 6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $140 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing