We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conveniently located and outstanding tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Patio Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Conveniently located and outstanding tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent four nights here before travelling to the coast. The hotel was built in the 1500's and is lovely. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located around the corner from Independence Plaza and is perfectly situated for walking in old town. All the rooms have windows into the courtyard, there are no windows to the outside. The food is very reasonably priced and the tapas are the best we've ever had, especially if you like garlic. If/when we return to Quito we will stay here.
Note that alcohol is not available for sale on Sundays in Quito, this includes all restaurants and grocery stores.

Room Tip: We would request a room on the second floor. This trip we were located on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPOPOTOMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    370
    66
    22
    8
See reviews for
248
513
76
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Patio Andaluz,it really felt like we were staying in someone's grand haicenda. The food was authentic Ecuadorian. the staff were helpful and pleasant. No alcohol available anywhere in Quito on a Sunday not just the hotel. We left our bags here when we went to Galapagos , they were safe and sound on our return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank you for your visit at Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.
Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed for one night before a Galapagos cruise, but enjoyed this charming hotel. It is within walking distance of all the sights in old town and had a very pretty interior courtyard. Only thing to know is that the rooms that are two stories have the bathroom upstairs. Also, they open directly onto the interior courtyard so privacy is slightly less. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkoz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel personnel were welcoming and pleasant. We stayed for 3 nights, then returned for 1 night after a week in Galapagos, different rooms but both spacious and pleasant. Breakfast was good (one instance of cold coffee and buffet food, but that was soon rectified).
No air con but a ceiling fan kept air circulation going and was fine if a little warm. We didn't take all our luggage to Galapagos, and all was safe and well on our return.
Only issue we had was that the hotel does not serve alcohol on Sundays so be warned if like us you enjoy wine with a meal!
We had no issues with noise, there was free wifi available. We enjoyed the experience. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fur_and_feathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Well, after reading review's I decided to book this hotel for an overnight.

We booked it for 115 usd - which, for equador standards, is a lot of money. After being given welcome drink vouchers my heart jumped up of happiness - a quick tour at the bar revealed that the welcome drink was only for non-alcoholic beverages, ara juices. If you travel to Quito in September it is quite cold and the hotel can not keep up with the heating of the common places like the bar (couldn't stay there to drink my welcome drink as the cold was climbing up my legs). The room's heating was ok, but not the best. The rooms' isolation to noises, etc. was not given as it was directly over the main hall we were listening to loud music until 12 am at night. That might not be late but for us it was as we had to get up at 4am to catch our flight.

I was looking forward our 4am coffee at the coffee - tea bar that the hotel provides pass the lobby. Nice idea so. The reality was that 1. there were no spoons available to stir the coffee - 2. when I poured the milk into my nes-coffee I realized the milk had turned bad and hadn' t been replaced.

We left for the airport with a very bad taste in our mouth which was topped by our checking out procedure in a totally smoky reception area. I was travelling with infant and was not amused by that fact.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NycElodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the entire staff we appreciate your feedback, we are making the respective improvements and changes to delight guests and make them feel at home, could you please tell me what was the room number you stayed in?
We appreciate your efforts to bring this matter to our attention and thank you for preferring the Patio Andaluz Quito; we hope to continue being your choice of service in the future.

Sincerely
Juan Francisco Alvarez
Sales Manager
Patio Andaluz Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Patio Andaluz is located in an old colonial style building around two inner courtyards and has a lot of ambience. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are large, although a bit dark due to the courtyard light limitations, wooden floors can get a bit noisy but what do you want ambience or 5 star monolith (you pays your money and takes your choice).
The breakfasts were excellent and dinner in the courtyard with Enrique playing Andean music was delightful (his CD's are only $5 each hence great value). Dinner was very good and a 5percent discount was offered on the bill to which tax 18 plus service 10 Percent respectively were added.
Somehow when we settled up on leaving the 5percent discount did not come off the bill but haggling for $15 seemed a bit too much effort when late at night.
Excellent location only 2 blocks from Plaza De Armas.
The only negative thing to say about this hotel was related to some other guests who arrived late and allowed their children to run around squealing late one night SOME PEOPLE!!!
The colonial style dress of the staff added to the ambience.
WiFi a bit slow.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem to you, bring earplugs, ditto for any where actually. All rooms looked good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Patio Andaluz on our second trip to Quito. First time around, we were with a NatGeo/Lindblad group and the Hilton was part of the per-Galapagos package. That was okay but we could have been staying in any large city. It was a Hilton - aging, but a Hilton. This time we opted for the Patio Andaluz and we are so glad we did. We wanted more local flavor and we got it. We were so close to the hustle and bustle of the Old Town yet were never bothered by the noise of the city. We were lucky. We had a great room that overlooked the city but several rooms had windows opening to the inside areas. Luck of the draw, I guess. Breakfast was fine. Selection was good but the service could have been friendlier. There was one lonely waitress at breakfast and she seemed to be on duty until the place closed down after dinner. If I worked that long, I wouldn't be friendly either!!! We checked out the bar-maybe we were there on an off night. We were the only people there. We didn't try the restaurant for anything other than breakfast but it appeared to draw quite a few locals.

We arranged for a car and driver on separate days to Otavalo and Mitad del Mundo. We had different drivers each time but both were great and very reasonably priced.

Overall, it was a great experience and I would not hesitate to recommend Patio Andaluz.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2TOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Property: Hotel Patio Andaluz
Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing