We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quito-Old style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Westfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quito-Old style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This grand old hotel is located in Old Quito, just two blocks from the historic Plaza Grande and many historical buildings and museums. Since it is in Old Town, it takes longer to get to the airport and some of the "cosmopolitan" aspects of North Quito must be accessed cab or other transportation.

The hotel it self has a beautiful design. It is centered around two courtyards that are covered by skylights. The first courtyard is the restaurant on the first floor. The second is where the bar and garden is located on the ground floor. We stayed over two different periods and had two different style rooms. Our First stay was a one room bedroom, with a very large bed and some chairs and furniture, done is a marvelous old Spanish/Ecuadorian theme. The amenities were typical (shampoo, rinse, hand cream, soap; two bottles of water which could be refilled at a purified water station). The second time we stayed, we stayed in a two level room with a sitting room downstairs and a loft with a kingbed and bathroom above. Again, beautifully appointed.

Breakfast came with the meal was generous in fruit and fruit juices, toasts, cereals, yogurts and other staples, but no bacon, hash run etc. Eggs were available on request. The hotel had two computers and a printer, plus a "living room" with coffee and tea available 24 hrs, plus books etc.

The bar ion tr ground floor was nice, equipped with large screen TV (which we never saw on) and a well-stocked bar with rinks at reasonable prices.

Service was attentive , the hotel wasbery clean and well kept. Since we went to the Galapagos from there and then returned to this hotel, we stored gas with them for a week at no charge.

This was a very good stay and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get the two story suite- you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, Director of Sales at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for your visit to Patio Andaluz Hotel . It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
I hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at Patio Andaluz Hotel.

Best Regards,

Juan Francisco Alvarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    378
    66
    22
    8
See reviews for
256
526
79
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I (mature couple) booked this hotel via tour agency as a part of our trip to Galapagos. We have spent there two nights in a standard double room. We arrived at about 11 pm on Sunday. The restaurant was closed and they do not have room service. We were advised by the reception personnel that there is no one open eatery in the area: no dinner after 6 hour flight from Houston. The hotel had no elevator, but a nice young gentleman helped us with the luggage. Room was clean and quiet with windows facing inner court (patio). Air conditioner/heater was very loud and literally blew the blankets away, so we abandoned it. Shower in the morning was cold and slow. The restaurant is nice, but, again, slow and empty. The food was mediocre (we have had breakfast, lunch and dinner there). I would give this place no more than 3 stars, even taking into account that there is only a fistful of international hotels in the old town of Quito. the price was adequate for the service: $180 per night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving always our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilwern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights in November. On arrival we were struck by the interior elegance and the period costumes worn by all staff.
My wife's suitcase had been torn badly during our flight from Lima so we asked if it was possible to buy tape to repair it. The receptionist and porter examined it and told us not to worry - just bring the case back down to reception.
Our room - 222 - was on the second floor overlooking the courtyard restaurant. Despite some horrible reviews of rooms, we loved it. We had 3 windows. Admittedly they didn't open, but there was plenty of light and a large ceiling fan was OK.
The bed was huge - and extremely comfortable. Bathroom was up to the standard of other hotels we've stayed in - mostly 4 or 5 star.
Someone has siad that Wi-Fi didn't work, but we had no problem at all.
Sound does carry from the restaurant area when staff are setting up or clearing away. Since this never goes on after 22.30 and doesn't start until 6 a.m. earliest (when I'm fast asleep) it's quite manageable.
The building itself is stunning. Loads of period features and antiques.
The location is hard to find fault with. Even those awarding the Patio Andaluz a low grading acknowledge this.
As for the danger - Quito has really cleaned up its act. Police presence is considerable and we felt very safe during the day. A taxi arranged by the hotel to get to other loactions at night is still advisable though.
Food in the restaurant was varied and delicious, with little amuse bouches to start. At least the chef knows how to perfectly cook a steak medium-rare.
Our waitress on the first night - Jessica - was delightful, helpful and friendly.
We had a problem with our agancy who changed the time of our pick up without telling us this was because the flight to the Galapagos was now later. Phoning the local office was no good as no-one spoke a word of English, but the hotel receptionist took over, made two phone calls and explained everything to us.
As for my wife's case - this was repaired to such a standard that we believe it is now stronger than it was originally.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - and its staff - as long as you get a good room. Friends who stayed at the same time as us had a room half way between the restaurant and bar areas. They found it very noisy.

Room Tip: 2 storey rooms have a small balcony overlooking the courtyard, but the iar up there is very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbergavennyPaulb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving always our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Excellent location in old town but longer to get to from airport compared with the more modern hotels. Surrounding traffic congestion but you dont hear it. Stayed 3 nights. Our accommodation on 2 floors, bedroom & bathroom upstairs,sitting room downstairs! Other rooms different & on one level. Saw one & would have preferred one larger room. However large comfortable bed. Superbly situated eating area. Ecuadorian cuisine. Able to walk to many of local attractions. Good restaurants nearby as alternative to hotel cuisine. No complaints about service. Everyone welcoming which seems to be the case Quito.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 to 205 are on 2 floors at front of hotel. If the concept not to your liking avoid, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving always our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great room with a wonderfully large bed, set in an intriguing building on several levels that combined Spanish and local influences. Just stayed here a day and would happily return to explore Quito further. Very nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myself2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving always our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

old town hotel with a class of the colonial times. Decent rooms. The only drawback is that they all are near the corridors so you can hear things from outside. Ambience A++. Great location and not that expensive. Ideal for travellers spending a short time there. Its in the herat of old town and a 5 min walk to the square. Service is excellent and impromptu. Free wi-fi available when asked for at reception.

We had a flight to the Galapagos islands at 6 and they served us breakfast at 4am. I've travelled to quite a few placed but no other hotel has been able to serve me that early. Impressive!!!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms that i noticed were all surrounding the courtyard. They could be the same. But gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purav00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving always our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here for a total of three nights during our Ecuador trip, on two occasions so experiencing two different rooms. The best thing about the hotel is its location which is just a couple of minutes from the main Plaza Independencia. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped with huge beds. They are located around an internal plaza where meals are taken so there can be some noise especially early morning when people are having breakfast for early departures. We had a little food on our first evening but didn't find it particularly appealing, maybe because we were tired from our journey but didn't try eating there again. Breakfast was good though and staff very pleasant.There is a separate bar and sitting room and it is all very well appointed though the bar is souless.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPatioAndaluz, General Manager at Hotel Patio Andaluz, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Greetings from Hotel Patio Andaluz.

It's been some time since you visited the historic center of Quito and stayed at our hotel.

If you are considering re-visit Quito, we hope you take the Patio Andaluz Hotel as your hotel during your visit.

We have been improving always our infrastructure as our service to keep the Hotel Patio Andaluz as the best choice of the historic center of Quito hotels'.

We look forward to serving you again.

Regards,

Francisco Baca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patio Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patio Andaluz

Property: Hotel Patio Andaluz
Address: Calle Garcia Moreno N6-52 | Entre Mejía y Olmedo, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#9 Business Hotel in Quito
#10 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patio Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, Comfort and nice Atmosphere in the center of the Colonial Quito Hotel Patio Andaluz Quito, elegant Boutique hotel located to only 150 meters (490 ft.) of the Main Square also known as the Independence Plaza, Located in a colonial style house of the end of the XVI Century, this hotel that displays great arcs and inner Patios lies at only 7 minutes walk of the recognized Church and Square of San Francisco; at 5 minutes walk of the famous “La Compañia;” at 6 minutes walk to the “Theater Sucre”, stage of important events; among other places of great interest within the Colonial Quito such as museums, churches and historical sites. Its spacious restaurant “El Rincón de Cantuña”, inside its main Patio offers excellent options of Ecuadorian and Spanish flavors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Patio Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patio Andaluz Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing