We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Cafecito Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Cafecito Hostel
Ranked #55 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Bogota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Not great, very expensive for what you get. Food is very pricey and uninspiring, room was ok but again more expensive than it should be in Ecuador. We also ate at their sister hostel in Cuenca and this was one of the worst decisions we have made in 4 months of traveling, expensive and rubbish, almost $10 for a sandwich! Ridiculous. Go next door to La Cigale, much much better and cheaper

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
2
15
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Whe arrived after quite a long bus ride and took the recomadation from LP to stay here. We got a double room with a private bathroom for 25$ The room was a small and dark cubicle with a horrible matrass. It felt more like a jail cell than a hostal room. The next day we went out for about an hour shopping around for a new place to stay. When we came back our bag with our important stuff was open and the money we had in there was taken! Stay clear of this place if you don't want to get robbed!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnThatRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

I'm surprised by the other reviews of this hostel. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the operations manager, Tony, spent an hour with us helping us to plan our trip to Columbia.

We didn't have any problems with theft, I left my iPod in the safe and it was fine. We stayed in both a dorm and a private double room, both rooms were bright and clean. No kitchen or common room but the bar downstairs is lively and the restaurant serves great food; breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall, we really liked this hostal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

I stayed two nights at El Cafecito based on recommendations from the Moon book. The restaurnat downstairs is funky and has excellent food. The dorm style room was very damp and cold, with mold on the ceilings and holes in the bed covers but I guess for $7.00 in Quito what can you expect. Two of the girls, one from Texas, USA, that work there were very friendly and very helpful the rest were not so friendly. It was the worst hostel I stayed at during my 3 week trip in Ecudor.

  • Liked — Restuarant and some of the staff were excellent
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantalbernard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

Here's yet another account of theft by the employees from El Cafecito...

I felt obliged to post about an experience that I had while staying at El Cafecito, in Quito, Ecuador this past spring that can serve as a warning to other travelers that might consider staying here. My friend and I were placed in a dorm-style room, and decided to lock up our valuables with the hostel, as we were going out that evening. After securely placing everything of value in a small backpack, we gave it to a young female hostel employee who assured us it would be safe in the locked closet that held many other traveler's possessions. At that time, we also needed to give her a deposit for the towels and she noted where my friend had a large chunk of money hidden in the backpack. We assumed everything would be safe there and as the hostel is highly recommended, didn't worry about it. However, after we left the following morning and check our bags, we found that $220 in cash had been stolen, my friend's digital camera and her cell phone. It would have been impossible that this was stolen anywhere else in the hostal or in the street, as we checked before placing our items in the safe and the following morning, took a taxi to our next destination.

El Cafecito's management was rude and discriminatory when we contacted them about the robbery, claiming a variety of lies that made them appear exempt and defended their employees, who are the only ones with access to the locked closet. We even filed a claim with the police department, but couldn't do much about recovering our lost items and money, which in total valued more than $500, as the police system here is not as effective in these matters. Unfortunately, the most we can do is spread the word that they are not a trustworthy establishment for travelers (who are their main clientele) and hope that other travelers get the message.

Also, after the robbing incident, another friend of mine informed me that she had made a reservation there which they did not keep, but then once she arrived, they informed her they could hold onto her bags while another room potentially opened up. She left her bags with them and a $5 deposit for the room reservation, however upon returning later that day, they told her there was no room and refused to give her her deposit back. She insisted on getting her deposit back, and only upon making a scene did they give it back to her.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rastafafala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

El Cafecito, seems to be a nice place to stay. However, I have a couple of friends processing a legal complaint for theft of belongings inside the hostal from the staff working there. I was told to not trust in the receptionist that keep your things in the safe place, and don't ever let them see where you have your money on your backpack nor your electronic devices.

Obviously the hostal is denying it all and saying the opposite such as the customer didn't want to put their things in the right place etc, etc..

Anyway it's not in my options anymore, it is better to prevent than to regret.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the risk of theft
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Cayman Hotel
Cayman Hotel
#38 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#39 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#31 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cafecito Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cafecito Hostel

Property: El Cafecito Hostel
Address: Luis Cordero y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Cafecito Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing