We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, hip, friendly, but full of damn dirty hippies”
Review of The Secret Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Secret Garden
Ranked #16 of 256 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm, hip, friendly, but full of damn dirty hippies”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed here due to its high acclaim on multiple websites. We found the atmosphere to be friendly, the food awesome, the services fine, and the location great. The room itself was not particularly clean and the noise caused by people coming and going was a negative. The hot water was inconsistent and be aware that they charge for all (delicious) meals. Really good for single travelers since the roof top deck lends itself to meeting people. The staff all spoke English and we felt secure. If you don't like hippies, this not the place for you.

  • Liked — the atmosphere, views, and food
  • Disliked — the hippies
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nuclear_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    146
    92
    49
    29
See reviews for
18
149
105
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I went to the Secret Garden because of the positive review in Lonely Planet. It certainly was a quaint hostel, and the prices were very reasonable. The place does seem to operate on the verge of chaos at times. It appeared it was mostly run by volunteers which is a neat model, but I often had difficulty determining what the status of my reservation was from day to day. Everyone was very nice, and the communal meals were a great place to meet people. Due to all the concrete in the building, it could be very loud at times, and I feel like it is mainly designed for young backpackers.

  • Liked — Lots of Interesting People
  • Disliked — I had a very hard time sleeping due to all the noise.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank claydn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

It is a fun place to be, beautiful view from the roof. Food is great but expensive compared to other restaurants in the neighborhood. People are nice and enthusiastic.
The hostel is very noisy especially at night. The music played on the roof (until 11 p.m..) can be heard through the whole hostel. After closing, the staff cleans up till 12 p.m. and prepares to go party some more and comes back after the partying, between 3 a.m. and 6 a.m. This means, shouting and doors slamming all night long. The most quiet period is from 6 a.m. till 7.30 am.
When you have to get up early you have a problem, if noise bothers you.

  • Liked — The view, meeting people
  • Disliked — extremely noisy
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Down2easy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

New York, USA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

The rooftop public space is awesome, very easy to meet other travelers.

room was private - but we had to walk through another sleeping room to get to the shared bathroom.

things were clean and bare - but excepted no less with price.

our room was noisy - as it overlooked the rooftop public space. earplugs saved us.

location was good for the old town - road a little quiet at night.

management was mixed - spoke to the manager himself and he was super nice, quick to share a drink and experience. another (who might have been someone who stayed there for a long time and just began managing - this is my guest) was a little off putting. she told us misinformation about laundry facilities and was kind of rude about the entire thing. nothing that should stop anyone from going here.

  • Liked — the view from the balcony
  • Disliked — our room faced the public space and was very noisy
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Okay, so the spanish staff seemed great, but the surly bunch of spoiled english speakers they had on staff were less than plesant to interact with. They acted that I was beating their dog every time I asked a question, such as, may I pay? Also, they insisted on drinking, screaming and playing loud music until about 1am, which was in conflict with the posted quiet hours of the hostel.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kate008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dawlish
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2008

The secret garden was our first stop in quito and it was a bit of home from home, everyone was very friendly and the food was great. Only problem we found was the noise, which was very loud until 11.30ish every night so not ideal if you like an early night! (noise starts again at about 7am)

generally would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a accomodation in quito, generally i would recommend to younger travellers to to the party atmosphere!

Rooms are usually very clean but the quilts covers were not changed in a week, so unsure if they were changed prior to or after our visit!!!!!

staff all friendly, relaxed amosphere sometimes a litle too relaxed!!

  • Liked — view/location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rucksack_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

This isn´t a bad hostel, just average I would say. The views from the restaurant are amazing - which is its best feature. As the owners have now moved and opened up a new hostel in the mountains, the place is run by volunteers with varying degrees of knowledge and friendliness. Cleanliness is also average. How often do those duvets get washed??...certainly not for each new guest as the turnover of people is so constant.
Its not a quiet hostel either, but then again it is in a perfect downtown location in old Quito.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The noise from the hammering next door at 6.45am on a Sunday morning!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_Girl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Minka Hostel
Minka Hostel
#3 of 256 in Quito
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Revolution
Hostel Revolution
#9 of 256 in Quito
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huasi Lodge - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden

Property: The Secret Garden
Address: Calle Antepara E 4-60 los Rios | Sector San Blas, Quito, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 256 Specialty Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Secret Garden Quito is a friendly Australian/Ecuadorian/French family run hostel conveniently located in a quiet, authentic cobble-stone street in central Quito. Our 'barrio', or neighbourhood, is one of the few remaining Colonial districts and even our building is protected by a United Nations World Heritage listing. With a big improvement in security in the Old Town in recent years, plus 24 hour police patrols, our neighbourhood now enjoys a level of safety and security equal to (or often better than!!) most international capital cities.But there's more!!Our beautifully restored colonial building features a rooftop terrace/restaurant/bar with breathtaking views of the historical Old Town. Feel free to browse our hostal book exchange, chat with our friendly Ecuadorian and foreign staff, check your email (free use of computer and free Wifi), or just relax listening to any of our wide selection of music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Secret Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Secret Garden Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing